We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel venue itself is wonderful. However the service of the staff is diabolical, The resturant located on the ground floor has the worst service i have ever expeierienced in a resturant. Not only did the bar staff seem blunt and unhappy, they also didnt bring out the food at the correct time. Further to that the under cooked burger led me to have food posioning for the rest of my stay. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear ‘Yasmin B’

Thank you for your review, I’m so sorry to hear there were aspects of your stay that you felt fell short.
I can not comment on your claim as this was not raised at any point during your stay, we take our responsibility of management of food very seriously and conduct daily, weekly checks to ensure best practice is followed at all times and with out a full investigation it would be impossible to tell if this was or wasn’t the case.

It is disappointing to hear you felt the service fell short, this is highly unusual as you can see from other reviews and one that the team will feel disappointed with.

If you would like to discuss the matter please feel free to contact me direct.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    412
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
182
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was my third overnight visit & was treated to a complimentary upgrade to a suite.
What can I say? It was stunning, huge room & bathroom, beautiful view of the cathedral.
Once again every single member of staff was so friendly (especially the girls on Reception).
I love this hotel & can't wait to come back, thank you Abode.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear ‘Emma J’

Thank you for your review, where possible we do try to upgrade and I’m pleased we could offer you this room for your third visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice location (a bit difficult to find if you are driving), avoid the rooms facing the cathedral, far too small for a couple and a bit noise during the weekends. The room at the back are more spacious and are fantastic and are equipped with bath in the bedroom. Friendly staff and the super king size beds made our stay special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear ‘MailtonP’

Thank you for your review following your recent stay, I’m pleased you enjoyed all aspects and hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Firstly, this hotel is lovely, with the hotel overlooking the Cathedral of Exeter and in close proximity to the main shopping area of Exeter. However, the most frustrating and annoying task was to try and get to the hotel as the postcode provided will place you squarely outside the Cathedral with no access to the road that lies outside the hotel. To be fair to the hotel staff they gave me excellent instructions as the website instructions were not as clear and I eventually got there. I was then to find that the hotel had parking facilities with a local car park complex.... I was staying for a wedding held nearby and when I arrived back in the early hours I was greeted with numerous drunks and clubgoers as the area where the car park is located is next to Exeter's bar and club district.. not very safe for most people and I certainly didn't want my car left there so I parked on the road near the Cathedral and walked round. Overall not impressed.

The hotel itself was a maze I got confused twice trying to navigate the hotel as its a bit of a jigsaw. Nevertheless, the rooms were comfortable, the beds were fantastic and the shower was powerful. So I did enjoy staying here I just think they could work on a better parking solution and have a mini-bar in the rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear ‘James S’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay and am pleased the aspects that we can impact were of a high standard.

Sadly our location next to the Cathedral does not allow for closer parking and I can assure should the opportunity come about to purchase space closer buy the owner would look at this. Mary Arches car park is manned with security and the internal area locked at midnight.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel used to be caled the Royal Clarence and is one of the oldest in Exeter (1750s?).

my parent stayed here in the 80s when i was at uni in exeter so i returned knowing it had a great location opposite the cathederal but little else.

i was very pleasantly surprised. the new owners have renovated without removing character. our room was magnificent with a three window view of the cathederal across the green.

the style is definitely "boutique" but it is high quality and well done. the age of the hotel shows in the creeky lift but to my mind that adds character.

we didnt use the restaurant but it looked good.

staff were friendly and efficient. whats not to like? well one quibble might be u cant actually book a room with a cathederal view, you take pot luck when u arrive. it worked out for us. it could be the oth rooms are just as nice, but all the same sems a bit of an omission.

all in all a great place to stay. one of the best provincial hotels ive had the pleasure of staying in in the UK and certainly the best value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear SingBob’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Hotel was built around 1770 by William Mackworth Praed a partner in the adjacent Exeter Bank, the oldest banking house in the city. The Hotel was we believe the first Hotel in England and was originally called ‘The Hotel’.

I will as with all reviews share your positive review with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with lots of character. Standard room was spot on. Very relaxed & comfortable. Staff are a credit to the hotel & bar tenders very knowledgable & attentive. Great location - in the heart of it. Would definitely recommend :-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stilon4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear ‘Stilon4me’

Thank you for your review, we are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The team work hard and it nice to hear such positive feedback.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Let's start by saying this is an old building, lovingly restored, in a town centre with no on site parking. Floors are not level, there's lots of stairs, nooks and crannies and the lift is an original from the turn of the last century but for all of that its quirkiness makes it unique and in these days of homogenisation, that's a joy. The staff are delightful, educated, informed and smart. The breakfast is to die for, I haven't had Eggs Benedict like that since a recent trip to the Waldorf (NY). Deals are available if you book in advance and the benefit of booking a DBB deal is you get to eat in Michael Caine's Restaurant, exquisite food & service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front low down are a bit noisy during the summer evenings. The hotel has a deal with M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear ‘Janie 50_10’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay.

As you say we are a little quirky, which comes from a building that has seen many different owners over the last 200+ years and pleased you like it. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it is nice to hear this was of a high standard.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Property: ABode Exeter
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing