We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Winter Treat”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 1 January 2010

I celebrated a special birthday at this hotel with my husband. I booked 2 consecutive nights, using the winter shopping offer. This deal included a full English breakfast (freshly cooked) each day and a meal, with a bottle of wine, from the set menu in the cafe restaurant each evening.

The hotel is in a lovely green space in the centre of the city, right next to the cathedral. Concessionary rates are offered at a nearby car park - very reasonable.

We had a very enjoyable first evening in the cafe restaurant. The food was good and the staff couldn't have been more friendly.

On the second evening, we ate in the fine dining restaurant , as it was my birthday. From our glasses of champagne in the champagne bar until the complimentary birthday puddings, it was superb. Earlier in the day, homemade sweets and a birthday card from the staff had been left in my room.

This is a lovely hotel in which to celebrate a special occasion. It has a warm, friendly feel and excellent food. Our room was, as advertised, a comfortable room. Grander rooms are available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeliaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

Good bits
- The view from the front of the hotel is lovely
- The location is great, right in the centre and ideal for walking
- Breakfast comes as part of the package (always a plus point nowadays)
- Price is reasonable

Bad bits
- The mattress wasn't very comfortable and sagged in the middle.
- The room we were in, had one very small window high up near the ceiling, it was so high up, we couldn't even see out of it. Which gave the room the impression of being underground.
- There is no parking at the hotel. You are directed to a local car-park, where you have to pay to park your car.

i think if I stayed here again I'd probs ask to see the room first but overall i would return if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Ive stayed here on a number of occasions and have enjoyed the location, put have paid for the convenience of a town centre hotel. Firstly the hotel does not offer parking, this is located in a local public car park 5 - 10 minute walk away, also enjoying a location overlooking the cathedral brings with it a lot of noise which starts very early in the morning due to deliveries and goes on quite late at night. Despite the negatives the hotel is very nice and offers a very good standard of room (getting your head around the naming convention of the numerous room types does take some time though) stocked with nice quality toiletries and a dvd player. The hotel restaurant is of exceptional quality and the café bar is also very good where breakfast is served. The small hotel bar is cosy but very expensive. I would recommend a stay here but when adding the car parking and price of the breakfast to the room rate it can be quite an expensive stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_Woodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed on the 'indulgence' package which includes dinner and a pre-dinner cocktail,flowers and breakfast.(with partner and 2 year old)
Room was very nice lush large bed and in a quiet part of hotel- However it was a bit weirdly laid out the large'feature' bath in our actual room felt badly placed and lacked the luxurious feel it was supposed to give-also only a mirror in bathroom and inside wardrobe which when I came to dry hair had no plug near them!!- Room was on the third floor which was fine when the old fashioned lift was working, although not very buggy friendly and could only just fit 2 adults and a small buggy in, but on the day of check out it wasn't so had three floors to manage all luggage down.
Staff very friendly but felt hotel wasn't that secure as you could easily access it from the Micheal Caines restuarant next door without main reception noticing. Also parking is arranged,at a discounted rate, as none on site but the charge should be included in the room rate.
Fantastic meal and cocktails in the evening but don't like the way they automatically add a 'discretionary' service charge on your bill which we had removed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed for one night in this hotel due to its location and the Michael Caine restaurant, where we had a fantastic evening spent eating delicious food, drinking fantastic wine and with a view of the cathedral, you couldn't beat it.

However, our night's stay in the hotel was most definitely NOT up to the same standard. The basic room is incredibly over-priced for what it is - estate agents would describe it as 'compact'. But the most disappointing thing about the whole experience, was the worst night's sleep of my life. All because of the mattress. You sink in when you sit on it and by the time you're under the duvet for the night you're practically on the floor. Horrible Horrible Horrible.

We both woke up angry and that is very rare. When we mentioned it to the staff upon check out they just laughed and said that half the people that stayed didn't like the mattresses as they're extremely soft. If at least half of your potential customers don't like something, you would think you would change it, or at least offer firmer mattresses in half of the rooms. We won't be going back any time soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkesandgamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

There are plenty of good points to this hotel but on the basic requirement of a good nights sleep it failed....I think I had my worst nights sleep for a long time....our room was connected to another room by a paper thin connecting door and we were able to hear word for word every conversation from the connected room....thankfully they were talkative rather than amorous. It just annoys me that a hotel can provide a room that is so basically flawed...not a lot better than turning up and being told that we would be sharing with another couple. I did complain but really, apart from a shrug of the shoulders, there was no real response.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitymetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Booked an attractive looking "All Inclusive" package of Diner at Michael Caine's restaurant + bed / breakfast - First disappointment: size of room (No. 118). Approx. 10 ft x 10ft with 2 single-beds for a double. Adding the side-table + free-standing bath (bottom of bed) left no space to walk around bed! Also impressed by mirror being 6ft from socket, & a 3ft hair-dryer chord (you couldn't make it up!). Second disappointment: room directly above the "Functions" room hosting a VERY loud 21st b'day - decibel level within our room MUST have been into 3 figures, but no warning from front-desk. Third disappointment: Michael Caine may well have Michelin stars, but not at this restaurant (despite the "Michelin star" prices) - WHAT a dissapointment. Starter not consistently heated through, main meal (beef) thoroughly over cooked - we cut our losses & decided against a dessert! Final disappointment - The Hotel Bill ... charged an additional £40 as main courses had strayed from set-menu (despite instruction from Maitre D'hotel to do so!!!) and the checking-out bill, an addition of 4 numbers, was incorrectly totalled (in the hotels favour) - Overall, a premium rate for an extremely average experience, & definitely not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tauntot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing