We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not quite right...”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Just not quite right...”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Not so many years ago, lots of perfectly good, traditional hotels decided that they would turn themselves into "boutique" hotels. In my opinion, in too many cases that meant stripping out all the character, fitting in lots of trendy-looking furniture, but not quite doing the job properly so that things don't work, or they break, or look tacky.
In my opinon, Abode Exeter is one such example. As a starting point, we were a tad surprised that our bedroom had no bath - just a shower. We asked to move to a room with a bath, and were told we'd need to pay to upgrade. Upgrade to get a bath??
We eventually overcame that problem and were moved to another room which did have a bath. But there were things which just weren't right. The view for example - was a view across some scaffolding and into windows on the other side of the alleyway outside. The aircon unit made a horrible rattling noise - so we turned it off - which then meant the room was stuffy. Fantastic looking trendy shower - but not enough water pressure to make it work well. Toilet plumbing cleverly hidden behind a panel on the wall - except the catch on the panel was broken so it hung open. Freeview box for television, but half the time it was only possible to get the sports channels. Room guide talked about how to work the Bose stereo - but there wasn't one. etc etc.
For such an historic city-centre hotel (overlooking the lovely Cathedral Green) you'd expect a nice lounge to catch up with the papers over coffee - but there wasn't one. You also might expect breakfast to be served in the main restaurant overlooking the Cathedral Green - but it was served in the Brasserie overlooking the same alleyway as our bedroom (although breakfast itself was very nice).
Two-course dinner was included in our package price (in the Brasserie) and was excellent - although portions a bit small for my liking.
An historic hotel in lovely city-centre location, but in my opinion spoiled by unsympathetic and not well conceived recent upgrades.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    413
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
182
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked a weekend special deal direct with the hotel - dinner bed and breakfast - and saved lots of money as we were out of season. Lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable, great staff, AMAZING food, altogether felt very spoilt and pampered here. We have booked to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Hall290111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

very expensive considering the facillities, restaurant over rated and too fussy. trying to be a premium hotel let down by too many faults. nice efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskzk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

They talk about comfortable beds but it just means very, very soft. Quite windy when we were there and as a result quite noisy. Great location but the bed gave us both bad nights sleep and bad backs.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Booked this hotel mainly as it had a gym and boasted about great food. I found the website held little detail and so I didn't realise there was no parking until I received my confirmation by email.
It took ages to find, even with a sat nav and I ended up phoning to save me driving round the one-way system all night.
Although you can park outside the hotel to unload and check in, the car park is a walk away through the town and I was worried about my car being so far away and safe over night. It also cost £9 to park. Other hotels I have stayed in, in town centre locations usually have a valet service but I was surprised this one didn't offer that. You then had to make the choice in the morning about whether you take luggage with you to the car, or go get car and then check out.
Room was extremely average. I could have been in a Holiday Inn or Premier Inn for all I knew and there were unsightly stains on the throw over the bed. When I lifted the covers, the sheet came up as well which gave me a glimpse of a yellowy mattress which obviously filled me with joy (not!). My view out the window was of a brick wall which as you can imagine was very inspiring.
The bathroom looked like it had seen better days and it had no where to really put your stuff as the sink was minature.
Anyway, I did use the gym which was extremely basic and it had T.V's which just seemed to come at you when running on the tread mill.
I'd booked the 'happy people' package which included dinner. When I checked in they informed me that this was in their cafe bar and not the main restaurant. On checking it out, it was a set menu that if you were to pay for would be under £10 so really the package was not worth it at all. Saying that the food, although limited choice and portion size, was very nice but I would have liked to have tried the restaurant.
The walls of the bedroom were paper thin and I could hear my neighbours whole conversation with his girlfriend (he had her on speakerphone) which was about midnight!
For me I wouldn't rate this hotel for a business trip, but if you were on holiday then it would be a central location. If you can find a good price then in that situation it may be worth it but I wouldn't pay the full amount they're asking for. I'd much rather find a hotel on the outskirts with free parking and then come in to the town to sight see.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bongo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piatra Neamt, Romania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We held our wedding breakfast with a small group of family and friends in the Cathederal Lounge in late November. Everything from the arrangement of the day (thanks Stef!) to the food and drinks service and the food itself was impecable. The staff were friendly, attentive yet unintrusive.
In the evening my Wife and I ate in Michael Caines and had the sample menu, again the experience was flawless.
Our particular thanks go to the staff who were a major factor in making our wedding day as special as it was and, like the couple we met in reception who were celebrating their anniversary ( they met in the Hotel a large number of years ago and come back every year) we shall endevour to do the same.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Very charming hotel in a great area of exeter with views of cathedral. The lobby and restraunt are very nice and the room was clean and tidy. However, someting was missing and did not feel we recieved the experience we expected. good stay, but lacked something?!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAM_SMITH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Property: ABode Exeter
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy.. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing