We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting close to city centre and Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Fowey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting close to city centre and Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our reason for staying was a brief spell in the hospital for my husband. It is however,
a wonderful situation to explore the Exeter environs. Out of awful city centre traffic. Really easy to get to the hospital by car, and an even easier bus trip into the city.

The hotel is situated in a quiet location and is surrounded by the most lovely gardens with fabulous ancient trees. The rooms are pleasant but rather overheated. No problem as the next morning we change rooms to a much airier one. The garden full of lively squirrels was wonderful.

As a single woman I felt quite at ease having a very enjoyable bar meal. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful - barr one young person, who needs to improve their interpersonal skills. I did not eat in the restaurant but the lounge bar food was very acceptable. Restaurant breakfast was delicious.

We had one real complaint. In a four star hotel, why do the bathrooms not have extractor fans? I do hope the owners read this and pay attention. Also, please employ a new interior (bedrooms) decorator. Brown, beige, bricks - what happened to colour design?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeagullFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    211
    127
    62
    27
See reviews for
90
270
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was the 3rd time I have stayed here on business, the last being more than 10 years ago. It was just as good as I remembered it.
The location is fine but if you want to eat somewhere other than the hotel you face a drive or a long walk. The plus side of being out of the city centre is more space. ample car parking on the flat and a very nice ambiance. The old parts of the lodge are lovely.
The room was spotlessly clean and had everything I needed. My only complaint (a minor one at that)was that the room was a little too warm and I couldn't cool it down. It did not stop me getting a good nights sleep though.
I only had a bar snack not a full meal so I can't comment on the restaurant. My bar snack was very nice and well presented.

Breakfast was the traditional english but done very well. Mine set me up for the day.

All of the staff that I encountered were cheerful and helpful. I will stay there again if I return to Exeter.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

No negatives, everything was very pleasant and agree with all the positives in other reviews. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was a very nice hotel ,from the warm greeting on arrival, much appreciated after a long drive to get here, to getting into a truly lovely room. A nice big bed, and enormous bathroom with a larger than normal bath, great shower,and all beautifully clean. We were eating out so can't review the restaurant, but breakfast in the morning was good. They have lots of choice, both continental and full English. I have no hesitation in recommending this as a good place to stay for Exeter. The only negative would be their location is a bit from the centre so you'd need a car / Taxi to get into the centre comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
We were very pleased to read that you enjioyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Tony Cannon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Buckerell Lodge is set on a very busy road which is used by commuters. However, this does not impact on the comfort of the hotel. It is very quiet once inside, but even sitting in the garden , the traffic does not cause a noise nuisance. The room we stayed in was 37 and it was situated to the side of the hotel, just to the side of the kitchen. That said, we never had ANY noise from the kitchen and there were absolutely NO ominous smells coming from it. It overlooks the back garden and those of the residential area, although it is quite private as there is a high wall and fruit trees.
The room cleanliness was excellent, cannot fault housekeeping at all. Hospitality tray was refilled daily and there is a safe in the rooms with a plug inside it to recharge appliances like laptops and mobile phones. Towels are fresh every day and the bathroom is of very high spec. chrome and tiles and very good products to use.
The food is very nice, a little on the high side with sandwiches in the bar staring at £6 and main meals in the region of £12 upwards, but it was easier for us to go into town and eat cheaper in the evenings. There is also a Beefeater at the end of the road. Bar prices are pretty much the norm. Staff very nice and attentive, a mix of British and foreign national (they all speak good english). Yes there are noisy wedding parties held as this hotel caters for weddings and conferences, but usually the weddings are only on Saturday nights. The bar at this time gets very crowded, so it would have been a better idea for the hotel to have had a bar specially for it's function room, maybe something for hotel owners to consider for the future?? The noise of the wedding revellers do not impact the bedrooms of the hotel. And we had a very peaceful sleep every night. I would recommend this hotel for a nice break-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMorticia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to com[plete a review about the hotel and thank you for your positive comments. With regard to menu prices, we will be introducing a new all-day menu which I hope everyone will find dishes to suit their particular requirements.
Whilst we do not have any firm plans to introduce a separate Bar for private functions, we will certainly consider your comments when we are next looking at plans for the ground floor.
Tony Cannon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here on business for a night in early July. My colleague found the room on laterooms and liked the look of it. It was lovely, couldn’t fault it. Also, much nicer looking and original than the Holiday Inn and Mercure chain hotels I had previously seen on the internet. It is set in lovely gardens, and the room was perfect. Lovely toiletries in the rooms, plenty of them, good shower, thick white towels, and a lovely comfy bed. The rooms were nice and cool too, not a stuffy hot room you often get in hotels. The service from all staff was very efficient and friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant and had a lovely 3 course dinner, with some good wine. It was then just about warm enough to sit in the garden with a drink. Front desk staff extremely helpful. Breakfast also excellent, loads of food and choice. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for finding time to write a review about the Buckerell Lodge Hotel and we were all delighted to read your comments.
Tony Cannon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed for two nights in July 2011.

There was a wedding at the hotel but the staff allocated us to a room away from the event. The only problem was that the hotel bar was very busy.

The room was clean and the hotel was well maintained. However, I did not feel that the price represented good value for money.

When a fellow guest made noise in their room late on a Sunday night the hotel resolved the issue promptly and effectively.

I would only stay at Buckerell Lodge if I could get another online deal - the standard room rate is too high given that the hotel does not have leisure facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRPHILLLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send in a report following your stay with us. Whilst we do not have leisure facilities ourselves, we do now have an arrangement with Exeter Golf & Country Club which is close by and has a variety of leisure activities available including a gym and swimming pool.
I do hope you will visit us on a future occasion.
Tony Cannon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,038 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing