We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREADFUL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Awful staff! Manager very rude and seems to think its appropriate to shout at customers! Obviously doesnt know how to do her job! This venue seems to think that double booking their rooms is appropriate! Will never stay again even if this would be a last resort!! AWFUL!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expecations. I have taken your comments on board and will review our procedures accordingly for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We found the service and friendliness of the staff here exceptional. All made for a really enjoyable experience. Food was great and attention to detail was wonderful. Erika should be commended for her outstanding achievements and also Donna for her care and high degree of professionalism. What a wonderful weekend. HOWEVER - the standard of efficiency and professionalism from two members of staff was abysmal. A booking was said to be not existent and then found having caused upset. Communication skills were at a downright low level here. Another member of staff went on about the lack safety for items placed in reception despite arrangements being made prior to this with the manager. She also broke a expensive item of equipment without an apology. What a shame these two people put a black mark on a wonderful weekend. Did ask to see the manager before writing this, but this failed to materialise. It's a good thing there are so many good people and good things to balance the bad. I would get rid of the bad elements to make Buckerell Lodge Hotel brilliant again. Would welcome a response from the manager after sending such a large amount of money.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quite an expensive hotel compared to others in the area but lacking the service and facilities to warrant the price. Our room was horribly hot and noisy when other guests were coming and going during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H01lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm really sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. I only wish you had brought your comments to the attention of a member of my team, as I know they would have done everything they could to try and make your stay more comfortable.

Again please accept my apology.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We paid 72.50 for the room (standard double room) and 20.00 for breakfast. Looking for a nice 4 star hotel to stay in Exeter, we ended up in the Buckerell lodge. Very nice hotel from the outise, plenty of parking space and a very friendly receptionist on check in. When we got to our room (53) it was very small but looking at the age of the building this I understand. That does unfortunately not explain the amount of dust and spider webs, they were everywere! There was 3 dirty marks on the bedding but the bed was comfortable and big enough. When leaving around half 11 to have a few drinks in exeter and explore the area we asked the night manager (who was dressed in a shirt and sportswear) if there was ment to be any complimentary water in our room. He asked me what room we were in and then smirked and told me "no, not in that room". We were then told that we could not charge anything to the room (even tho the receptionist told us on check in that we could) and had to pay directly with the correct change. After paying 3.20 for a bottle of water i asked him if i could have a number for a taxi. In a 4 star hotel, you do not have to ring your own taxi do you? In this one you do! Breakfast the next day we were asked "how many of you" and were given a table. So if you want a free breakfast, just walk in and wait to be seated. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked to order but this was quickly wiped out by the sauceboat of tomato sauce we had to share with the whole of the restaurant. At last I stupidly left my jumper in the room and of course only realised this once we had left. I rang up and asked if they had found it. The lady on the phone strait away offered to send it to me and had to pay for p&p (fair enough). Not the most expensive place around but you do not get much in return. Would we return? No 

Room Tip: Avoid room 53!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niels118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Situated away from main road in gardens the location is easy to get to and quiet, but the room was a bit dark and dreary (big external wall but with only a small window in it) with very poor sound proofing. Saying that I slept very well (fortunately no late-nighters in nearby rooms) and it was clean and tidy décor. Could do with more generous in-room tea/coffee/milk.

Good parking facility, free wi-fi and hot breakfast was freshly cooked to order. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hinesadapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have taken your comments on board and will take action to improve.

Thank you again.

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We paid £84 for the room plus £20 for breakfast so £104 in total. The hotel is ideally placed for nearby barracks. The hotel looked lovely and there was a large wedding in some of the grounds but still lots of quite garden to sit in. The reception and corridors are quite shabby (£104!) but the room looked nicely decorated if small (£104!) the bathroom had obviously had a refit and was lovely bright white with a very powerful shower (this really swamped the whole bathroom in water), no where to put a wash bag let alone toiletries. Only one towel, no robes!!! Strangely the bedroom window was totally covered by a large tree no natural light - why on earth wasn't it trimmed away? So room was small and dark.
Breakfast was ok but felt sparse with everything running out and little choice.
Overall not good value - Premier Inn standard without lower cost.

Room Tip: Avoid small dark room 53
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiaStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

On a short trip down to Exeter for the first time we looked forward to a pleasant break in this 4star property. Location was great; easy to find and very accessible for getting to town by bus. Lovely big garden to sit out in since we chose one of the hottest weekends of the year.
Then we move on to the not so good bits (a bit picky but some want to hear those details): Not enough towels in the room(for 2 of us! only 1 was there). One thing which was very off-putting was that there was dirty underwear left behind the door in the bathroom (later removed by staff when informed of it). While waited to speak to receptionist 3 ladies arrived with rather large suitcases. They were given no help whatsoever to get the very heavy cases up the stairs, and struggled to say the least! I would have been quite annoyed if it had been me. The funny thing was, when we arrived there, about 15 minutes previously, the same receptionist asked us if we needed help, when we had the smallest of bags!!
And finally. We had a full cooked breakfast which we both enjoyed but had to pick bits out of the milk jug which had 'floaters' in it and there was no waitress around to ask. So sloppy! We also felt that, on asking for the sauces, it was unsuitable that the waitress had to go retrieve it from another table and then had it whisked away from us, to give to yet another customer!! Only one jug for the whole restaurant? And a messy one at that! Surely individual ramekins would have been more appropriate!
So, on the whole it was disappointing and we won't be back. We did get a 'discount' which took the price down from supposedly over £200. Do people actually pay that much for a hotel like this? Oh, by the way, we had to pay extra for our breakfast, having booked only a bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank depsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Buckerell Lodge, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. Due to our fantastic location only a mile from the centre of Exeter we do attract a large number of business travellers who tend to be single occupancy. For this reason we place one set of towels in the bathroom and another in a plastic bag in the wardrobe. I'm sorry if this was not your experience. I'm confident that once this was brought to our attention a fresh set of towels were brought to your room to avoid any inconvenience. I can only apologise about your milk and sauce I will bring your comments to the attention of the Restaurant Manager. I cannot comment on another guest as everyone has their own needs.
Again thank you

Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing