We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My mom and I stayed here while on Insight Vacation's Britain and Ireland Discovery 26-day tour. We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was #30 and it was very quiet and clean. There was free wifi that was okay. Breakfast both days was good. Our celebration dinner was okay....we had the same dinner in all of the hotels, which became rather mundane....Insight problem though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medicalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    198
    115
    54
    24
See reviews for
81
248
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very unfriendly,unprofessional staff. Our stay was just a disaster with 4 star price. Location excellent,near to the bus stop to take you to different hotels. Advice to all who would like to stay -double check,triple check and even go and check in person if your rooms are really booked !!!!
In a double room you have to share one towel. Will not recommend !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I am addressing your points with the relevant departments in the hotel to ensure there are no repetitions for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Awful staff! Manager very rude and seems to think its appropriate to shout at customers! Obviously doesnt know how to do her job! This venue seems to think that double booking their rooms is appropriate! Will never stay again even if this would be a last resort!! AWFUL!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expecations. I have taken your comments on board and will review our procedures accordingly for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We found the service and friendliness of the staff here exceptional. All made for a really enjoyable experience. Food was great and attention to detail was wonderful. Erika should be commended for her outstanding achievements and also Donna for her care and high degree of professionalism. What a wonderful weekend. HOWEVER - the standard of efficiency and professionalism from two members of staff was abysmal. A booking was said to be not existent and then found having caused upset. Communication skills were at a downright low level here. Another member of staff went on about the lack safety for items placed in reception despite arrangements being made prior to this with the manager. She also broke a expensive item of equipment without an apology. What a shame these two people put a black mark on a wonderful weekend. Did ask to see the manager before writing this, but this failed to materialise. It's a good thing there are so many good people and good things to balance the bad. I would get rid of the bad elements to make Buckerell Lodge Hotel brilliant again. Would welcome a response from the manager after sending such a large amount of money.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quite an expensive hotel compared to others in the area but lacking the service and facilities to warrant the price. Our room was horribly hot and noisy when other guests were coming and going during the night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H01lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm really sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. I only wish you had brought your comments to the attention of a member of my team, as I know they would have done everything they could to try and make your stay more comfortable.

Again please accept my apology.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We paid 72.50 for the room (standard double room) and 20.00 for breakfast. Looking for a nice 4 star hotel to stay in Exeter, we ended up in the Buckerell lodge. Very nice hotel from the outise, plenty of parking space and a very friendly receptionist on check in. When we got to our room (53) it was very small but looking at the age of the building this I understand. That does unfortunately not explain the amount of dust and spider webs, they were everywere! There was 3 dirty marks on the bedding but the bed was comfortable and big enough. When leaving around half 11 to have a few drinks in exeter and explore the area we asked the night manager (who was dressed in a shirt and sportswear) if there was ment to be any complimentary water in our room. He asked me what room we were in and then smirked and told me "no, not in that room". We were then told that we could not charge anything to the room (even tho the receptionist told us on check in that we could) and had to pay directly with the correct change. After paying 3.20 for a bottle of water i asked him if i could have a number for a taxi. In a 4 star hotel, you do not have to ring your own taxi do you? In this one you do! Breakfast the next day we were asked "how many of you" and were given a table. So if you want a free breakfast, just walk in and wait to be seated. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked to order but this was quickly wiped out by the sauceboat of tomato sauce we had to share with the whole of the restaurant. At last I stupidly left my jumper in the room and of course only realised this once we had left. I rang up and asked if they had found it. The lady on the phone strait away offered to send it to me and had to pay for p&p (fair enough). Not the most expensive place around but you do not get much in return. Would we return? No 

Room Tip: Avoid room 53!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niels118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Situated away from main road in gardens the location is easy to get to and quiet, but the room was a bit dark and dreary (big external wall but with only a small window in it) with very poor sound proofing. Saying that I slept very well (fortunately no late-nighters in nearby rooms) and it was clean and tidy décor. Could do with more generous in-room tea/coffee/milk.

Good parking facility, free wi-fi and hot breakfast was freshly cooked to order. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinesadapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have taken your comments on board and will take action to improve.

Thank you again.

Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing