We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT BASE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“GREAT BASE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Enjoyed a 2 night break here that we used as a cycling base and exploration of Exeter. Nice spacious and clean room, good breakfast albeit the dinner was overpriced - the duck, pArticularly, was fatty and undercooked. But generally good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Neil,
thanks for the great review.
It is so nice to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to se you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    200
    115
    54
    24
See reviews for
82
249
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The location is very good just a short distance from the city centre and the Quay. Nice spacious rooms and excellent food. Top class service at reasonable price. Decent breakfast spread and good conference facilities. What more can you want.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank udaypilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Mr& Mrs Pilani,
thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I will, of course, pass on your comments to the team and hope we will all see you again in the very near future.
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was part of an Insight Tour in 2013 staying here for 2 nights. My room had mildew on the wall in the single room under the air conditioner. The room stank of damp and mould. When I went and complained to the reception, they couldn't have cared less. My whole tour inc the tour director saw it. I took photos of it. They wouldn't move me even though I knew there was another empty room. Also service for both breakfasts over the 2 days appalling service, delayed our departure both days and very limited selections. They must be giving a Insight a really cheap rate to get the business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Kerrie K,
I see your visit was a year ago,...
I'm sorry you were disappointed; however, I took over as GM last September and I can assure you that you would not find anything similar if you were to revisit us now.
We have had even more Insight tours this year and, as far as I am aware, all were very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I'm writing this on behalf of myself and my dad. We stayed in Exeter in July for a funeral. I personally had to stay at another hotel because the hotel was fully booked. As a family we booked one of the rooms for the wake. The bar staff and facilities were faultless. My dad tells me that the rooms were also great. We were all pleased about this aspect of the hotel.

However, we booked a table for dinner, as did other members of our family. The food was excellent and was served quickly. The waitresses were nice when they brought our food over. However, we were mainly served by the manager of the restaurant. This is where it started to fall apart. He was very rude and behaved like we were putting him out when we ordered something or asked for anything. You would expect more from a person who claims to be in charge of a restaurant. He completely let his team down. It was such a shame because the rest of the staff were so lovely and made what is usually a stressful and upsetting event into something relaxed and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jennifer,
thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am so pleased that everything was to your dad's liking and will pass on your comments to the team.
Where the restaurant manager is concerned; I offer my apologies for his behaviour and assure you that this matter will be dealt with accordingly.
I hope the attitude of one member of my team will not deter you from visiting us again when next in the area.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here several times and the rib eye steak was so good I had it nearly every night, superb. Hotel was good, parking could be a little temperamental and tight depending on what functions were on, but made very welcome, felt very homely whilst away on business which was nice. Good location for centre of town and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 'Cooperman',
thanks for your great review.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the rib-eye steak!
Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room was pretty good and afforded a decent night's sleep. The layout was much like that of a Premier Inn (I don't mean that derogatively) with an open wardrobe, desk with chair, separate lounge chair and small table - basically, all a business traveller needs for a night or two. Free WiFi.

The bathroom was plain but nicely decorated, though the shower was very low power (had to huddle down the end, in order to get wet) and so not particularly relaxing. On the positive side, the bathroom fan was quiet (i.e. didn't keep you awake).

Breakfast was very disappointing, I didn't try the fry-up, but the porridge was a massive let-down (almost the consistancy of water and very bland with no sign of the promised honey - even jam couldn't liven it up). Also had dinner from the bar menu which was ok, but nothing special.

Despite the above, I would stay here again; however, purely for business and only at the corporate rate. I'd probably look elsewhere first though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rousers,
thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I'm pleased that you had a good nights sleep and the room was to your liking.
I will take your comments on board regarding the porridge and ensure it is better next time.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely put together. The curtains were good and thick and didn't let any light in. So I had a good nights sleep.

The room I stayed in had 3 single beds. 2 tea cups. 8 milk cartons. And 1 packet of 3 biscuits. All of which seemed a bit of an odd number combination.

Breakfast was table served, rather than a buffet. The service was a bit slow but it tasted fine to me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneInBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jane,
thanks for your review.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good nights sleep.
Thanks once again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
2.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing