We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Recently stayed for 4 nights with a colleague. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. We ate a hearty breakfast each morning and ate good, home cooked food in the bar most evenings. The restaurant evening meals were well presented and very tasty.
Rooms are spacious, comfy and well equipped. Would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends and colleagues.
If forced to think of a negative comment would say that bar meals are a bit pricey but this is forgivable in view of the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathermay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here on a Daily Telegraph voucher short break, at a reduced rate.The hotel is conveniently situated for the bus into town, or a very pleasant riverside walk of half an hour, and there is a good, safe car park. Our room was warm, well equipped and cosy, if on the small side. It was good to have two arm chairs, and the free bathroom goodies smelt lovely. I agree the walls are probably thinnish, but we only heard talking through them once.Our ground floor room had a french window into the extensive gardens, which would have been lovely in summer. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel is a lovely little place, about 20 minutes from the airport. The reception desk seems to be permenantly manned by very helpful and friendly staff - they simply couldn't do enough for me during my stay.
The rooms are well furnished and comfortable, good tea and coffee making facilities, iron/board, free wi fi etc.
The bathrooms are in need of a little extra boost to give them a bit more luxury, but they are adequate and useable. The beds are large and comfortable with very nice linen.
The hotel and it's surroundings were quiet at the time I was there - it was very peaceful and the gardens are lovely to sit in for a spot of afternoon tea.
The bar is cosy and well stocked and a good alternative to the resturant for a meal.
The food was of a very good quality and I was very happy with every meal I had.
Overall I had a lovely, pleasant stay at this hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Exceptional value on our Autumn Break package. The staff were excellent and vert helpful, the food was very good with a varied choice and again excellent service. The location is very good with riverside walks nearby and a very good bus service in to Exeter centre where cars are a bit of a liability.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose to stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPChesterfielduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Slightly dated hotel, rooms clean and had a comfy bed. Bathroom very modern (only part). Resturant looks somewhat to that of the 70s, as does the bar area. If you look at the reception there is a list of the meeting rooms each dedicated to someone which I assume has now passed away.... cheery way to start your holiday. Staff are helpful and breakfast was top quality. Rooms have very thin walls, we could hear each person coming and going at all times of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel I felt I had to comment on the experience. From the moment we pulled onto the drive we felt that it was going to be a pleasurable experience and we were not dissapointed. The Hotel is a little tatty in places but the staff are very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated. We booked to eat in the restaurant on both nights and we were glad we did as the quality of the food and the service were excellent. We would have no hesitation staying again if we are in the area and would recommend the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briandalton_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my partner on the 4th of September as my friend was having their wedding reception there. Was very disappointed when i arrived and the upgrade to executive that i had paid for turned out to be 1 small bottle of mineral water for 2 people, 2 pairs of bathroom slippers of less quality than NHS slippers, and the "Kingsize" bed only turned out to 2 twin beds pushed together; including the fact that it was 2 seperate matresses and you could very prominently feel the ridge in the middle of the bed. I have to say that when i complained about this to the staff they were very apologetic and curtious so had no real issue with the quality of service that i received. The usual rate for the executive suite is £150 luckily i had only paid £76 through booking.com as i would have been severely disappointed if i had paid full price. The view from the room was also not very good as it was a view was not disimilar to that of being in a travelodge, the grounds that you could see was by no means cultivated.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpcrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £48 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter city centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing