We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & friendly excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We received a warm & friendly welcome. All the staff were helpful & friendly throughout the our 2 night stay. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. This is an excellent place for exploring Exeter and the surrounding area. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foggy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

We were so pleased to read that found the team helpful and friendly and that you had such a warm welcome.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Buckerell Lodge Hotel in the future.
Tony Cannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

had a winter deal,after staying last year,we thought the evening meal was beautifully cooked and served and overall the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpfull.Also well located for city centre

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on the Buckerell Lodge Hotel and we were very pleased that you had particularly enjoyed the food and found the staff exceptionally friendly.
I do hope that the next time you visit Exeter, you will stay with us
Tony Cannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Just spent two days here and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel is outside the city centre and is around 20 to 30 minutes walk away, though there is a good bus service. There is a sizeable car park, which is important as it is in regular use with conferences we found. There isn't a gym or fitness centre.

We found the staff to be friendly and courteous - as we checked in we were asked if we minded if they answered the phone. We had a clean and tidy room which was in a good state of repair. We ate dinner in the hotel on our first night which was very enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fruit, cereals, cheeses and breads plus a variety of cooked meals.

The hotel is just off a main road but we thought it was quiet, being a residential area. It is also close to the river and just a short walk down to the path which takes you to the Quayside.

All in all, we had a thoroughly good time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Thank you for your recommendations and I was particularly pleased to read your kind comments about our food, staff and bedrooms.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Tony Cannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with husband. Hotel was very welcoming and very clean and well run. The superior room was lovely and well heated. Breakfasts are very good with such a wide choice. The Restaurant manager Nick, should be praised as he is polite, organised and made all guests feel special. We ate in main restuarant on our first night and couldnt fault the menu, I had the veg option which was just as delicious. The second night Nick recommended a fantastic fish restuuarant in Topsham, called the Galley Restuarant (well worth a visit) which was spot on and some of the best seafood I have had for a long time, even booked the table and organised a taxi. Would definately recommend a stay in this hotel and would return as a good base for Exeter and the lovely Quay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmychoobristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony020, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us and I was very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay. It is always good to receive positive comments and I will ensure that your remarks are passed on to all the team, especially Nick. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Tony Cannon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Recently stayed for 4 nights with a colleague. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. We ate a hearty breakfast each morning and ate good, home cooked food in the bar most evenings. The restaurant evening meals were well presented and very tasty.
Rooms are spacious, comfy and well equipped. Would definately stay here again and would recommend to friends and colleagues.
If forced to think of a negative comment would say that bar meals are a bit pricey but this is forgivable in view of the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathermay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here on a Daily Telegraph voucher short break, at a reduced rate.The hotel is conveniently situated for the bus into town, or a very pleasant riverside walk of half an hour, and there is a good, safe car park. Our room was warm, well equipped and cosy, if on the small side. It was good to have two arm chairs, and the free bathroom goodies smelt lovely. I agree the walls are probably thinnish, but we only heard talking through them once.Our ground floor room had a french window into the extensive gardens, which would have been lovely in summer. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel is a lovely little place, about 20 minutes from the airport. The reception desk seems to be permenantly manned by very helpful and friendly staff - they simply couldn't do enough for me during my stay.
The rooms are well furnished and comfortable, good tea and coffee making facilities, iron/board, free wi fi etc.
The bathrooms are in need of a little extra boost to give them a bit more luxury, but they are adequate and useable. The beds are large and comfortable with very nice linen.
The hotel and it's surroundings were quiet at the time I was there - it was very peaceful and the gardens are lovely to sit in for a spot of afternoon tea.
The bar is cosy and well stocked and a good alternative to the resturant for a meal.
The food was of a very good quality and I was very happy with every meal I had.
Overall I had a lovely, pleasant stay at this hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £51 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing