We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gipsy Hill - Traveller in Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gipsy Hill - Traveller in Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Visited March 2012

Stayed in a lot of Best Westerns over the years and this one by far was like travelling back in time. The decor and furnishings are tired and dated as is the general overview of the buildings......right that's the negatives out of the way please stay with me on this it gets better.
The staff.......very, very friendly, couldn't do enough for us, very attentative to our needs and ensured our stay was a pleasant one. Although breakfast room service was not available when I asked for my wife and I; the waitress ensured that our order was taken the night before and it was delivered exactly on time the next morning freshly prepared and cooked.
We ate in the small dining room in the evening, the menu selection was good and the food was presented and tasted great, good quality however it doesn't come cheap.
The bar area was comfortable, plenty of areas to sit whether you want to be surrounded by people or would like some quiet time.
The grounds are idylic, we had a window seat for our meal and watched rabbits playing while we ate and the local fox wandering round the garden.
The motorway is close by so if road noise bothers you then this might not be the place for you, however it was a hot day when we stayed and the windows facing the motorway were open during the night and I slept like a baby.
The bedding was clean and the bed was very firm and comfortable, although on the high side.

Overall; if you can forgive the decor and furnishings then this is not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden are idylic but can be noisy from motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solomon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    138
    70
    29
    40
See reviews for
100
135
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of March. I used to live in Exeter and knew the hotel well in the early 1980s. Stepping through the front door it seemed as though nothing had changed since then. The décor and furnishings are very dated and in some parts tacky. However the warmth of the welcome from the receptionist was so good that we could overlook the décor. We had booked a superior room which overlooked the garden. The room was large with a very comfortable, if rather high, four poster bed. The furniture was eclectic and all of it had seen better days. It was very clean and the duvet and pillows spotless and comfortable. The lighting was very dim but let’s call it romantic! The bathroom was adequate, probably 1970s vintage. A big improvement would have been to have bigger, fluffy and softer towels. All this sounds a bit negative and I confess there was a moment when my husband suggested going somewhere else when we were sorely tempted to pack our bags. We decided to stay and we are both very glad that we did. What the hotel lacked in style was more than made up for by the staff, they were all delightful. Sue our waitress was so efficient and friendly she made our stay special. We had a good meal in the restaurant area; good quality home cooked dishes and served with a smile. The bar was comfortable, if old fashioned and the prices were very reasonable. We had a good nights sleep in the four poster bed. Breakfast was served in a different room from dinner and we had a table in the window overlooking the garden. Again Sue was on duty and she looked after us very well. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and there was a good choice. So overall I would recommend this hotel if you are prepared to overlook the rather tired décor and furniture. Everywhere was very clean and the staff are wonderful. One final point, this hotel is not a Best Western Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had to stay at the sister venue Courtlands House due to a mix up with the hotel booking but had a wonerful stay rooms very comfortable & baathrooms clean bath towels could do with being a little bigger.Food was wonderful & staff very friendly would stay again

Room Tip: Had a wonderful weekend even though we had been doubled booked & had to stay at their sister ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Me & my husband held our wedding reception here on the 7th may 11! We booked our reception quite far in advance and somehow during a change of staff they lost our booking! We had block booked 20 rooms all of which had been let out to another booking they had taken, which left us with only 7! It took a while to get everything organised and almost felt like booking somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed one night in a twin room with my son, on 13th Jan 2012. We found all the staff very friendly from arrival, through the evening meal, breakfast and checkout. The room was great; warm, very homely with a comfy sofa, nice TV and the bathroom looked new. Everything worked, nice shower gel and shampoo was provided and - I can't believe I'm going to say this - quality toilet paper! The evening meal was reasonably priced and the main course and sweets were very tasty. Breakfast was just what we wanted and piping hot. We'd stay again and can recommend it as a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickimunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We first visited the Gipsy Hill Hotel in December1971 for our wedding reception. We revisited 15 years ago for our Silver Wedding and this time for our 40th Anniversary.
Three of our guests stayed in the hotel and were very satisfied with the standard of accommodation and the service they received.
We hosted a Sunday lunch for 30 people, the food and the service was faultless. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient, we certainly hope to celebrate there again in another 10 years!
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful time.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonvisitor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Only a one night stay, but my single room had recently refurbished and had everything you could want.
Good size desk and chair, trouser press, luggage stand, FREE WIFI at a good speed.
Good food at reasonable prices, friendly and helpful staff.
I will certainly be coming back if I have to come to Exeter again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klassifiedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing