We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a best western hotel”
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No longer a best western hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our boys and my husband and I stayed for two night at Gipsy hill towards the end of August. They were one of the very few places I could find a family room or accommodation at short notice; many other places were booked or didn’t want to give us two nights.
This hotel is very near the Honiton Park and ride just off of the business park and about 10 mins drive from the airport. The motorway is near by and when you are outside you can hear it HOWEVER we couldn’t hear it in our room with the windows closed. They were very effective.
The room was surprisingly large and the children’s beds were though an archway away from the double bed. There was a seating area with an LCD TV which had SKY/Free view and there was WIFI or though a little temperamental so you could hire cables if you had an issue. There was refreshment facilities provided and the room was clean. The décor here is more unusual than other hotels but to be honest I thought it was ok. The curtains were patterned but blocked the light well and were clean and in good order. The bathroom was old fashioned tiles which had been refinished and if the grout was coloured to match the tiles that are coloured I think they would be more pleasing to the eye. It was quite nice to see that they hadn’t modernised the rooms to make them characterless. The main issue here was that the maid needs to take her metal bracelets off as she is damaging the finish on the ceramic! The rooms are a little tired and there are areas for improvement but you can see that the owners are working on it. The bedding is new white heavy cotton sheets, we always strip our beds when we leave… the duvets mattress protectors and pillows were all brand new.
The beds are older but ours was comfortable in fact we all slept better than in some of the posh hotels we use. The carpet was marked but this was obviously caused by guests spilling drinks and the hotel had done what they can to cover them with rugs.
The main hotel has a slightly old fashioned look about it but I think too many old buildings have been over modernised and the owners are working on improving the hotel… but you have to take the money to make the changes. Unfair comments and reviews will prevent this and the hotel is a rare thing… a private hotel not held by a chain so please remember this before casting harsh words and comments.
The food was price was not very different the barn owl pub down the road. The quality was reasonable, possibly needs more seasoning and was a little less hot than I prefer but the choices were varied, though more vegetarian options would be an advantage. The bar prices seems quite good for a hotel the staff were friendly and helpful, but could be seen as slightly inexperienced and informal. I think this is more due to the relaxed nature of the county rather than any impertinence. One guest did become very offended when asked to move forward his sitting a few inches and left but I felt this was an over reaction. With a bit more time, care and experience I think the hotel will be very well appointed. The Garden was very nice to look at and we had a little walk through it, there was a BBQ function on the second evening for a private function but they managed to cater for both situation.

Room Tip: be fair to the price paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank battybats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    143
    73
    29
    40
See reviews for
102
143
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My friend and I had a nice few days in this hotel, the rooms were homely and had comfortable beds, they also had a nice sofa in the room which was a bonus although the decor was a little strange, Not luxurious but a nice place to stay for a few days, location rather strange up a narrow windy hill through a business park, car essential. Very friendly helpful staff and good wholesome food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden not the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay recently. I was impressed with our room, lovely bathroom and excellent breakfast. One down side was that we were asked if we wanted our rooms cleaned as it was a busy weekend which made us feel obliged to say no. We therefore had no clean towels or tea and coffee the next day. The staff are clearly overworked but are extremely friendly and cheerful which was very refreshing

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillsarahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Gipsy Hill Hotel, Gipsy Hill, Exeter was one of the nicest hotels we have been to. It was close to junction 29 of the M5, in a quiet location and with a “Park & Ride” only ½ mile away. We stayed in all for six nights and had a mixture of local and touring days. See http://www.gipsyhillhotel.co.uk. Parking was easy, with plenty of space. The grounds were large and well kept and very pretty. Inside, it was very clean and above all it was welcoming. Young Robert on Reception was very helpful and very pleasant. We went to our room and found it was large, facing over the gardens and it had a “four poster bed” – what a surprise. This was not the only room with this feature some of the other 48 had one too. The room was clean, well equipped although the bed was a little hard and lumpy. The en suite was also large and well equipped. The room had a trouser press, iron and ironing board, large wardrobe, several drawers and of course a TV. The floor was carpeted and the room had a large bay window. The sun shone into this room about 5am which got the day off to a good start. At breakfast, the cereals/fruit was available and then the main meal was ordered from the waitress. All food at the hotel was of the best standard as were the many beers etc available. We met almost all the staff and they were exceptional. It was a very friendly, warm hotel with excellent staff. We would certainly go back there without question. Well done Gipsy Hill Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one overlookling the gardens - ours was no., 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good location for Exeter airport (although a devil to find first of all, you access it through the new business park off the A30 and then it's down a really narrow lane). We didn't expect too much having read the Tripadvisor reviews in advance, and they're about right mostly. The money that should have been spent on an ongoing basis over the last thirty years clearly hasn't been, and when you've got that long-term underlying neglect a lick of paint doesn't do it really. Big bucks need to be spent here to keep pace with modern expectations. If management are reading this my first and most basic piece of advice would be to deal with the HORRENDOUS scuffs at the top of the stairs, they are unforgivable.

For all that, it IS convenient for the airport if you need an early start.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank booksearch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 1 night on 5th June and overall it was value for money. The only problem was that there was only a trickle of hot water and not enough pressure for the shower.
When we returned home we read on trip advisor that a previous visitor had exactly the same problem. We both stayed in room 21.
The hotel did make a reduction in the charge but as the fault had been previously reported I feel disappointed that this fault had not corrected.
I hope this will be fixed for future visitors

Charles Thomson

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

polite people and really good value for money,wonderfull gardens around the hotel,the room number 29 we stayed in was a cosey room,but what really let it down was things like,the wallpaper border going around the room had just been painted over,rather than stripped and left a line right around the room,the ceiling in the bathroom looked rather shabby,but the bathroom was very nice other than that, and the light above the bed looked as if it had been ripped of abit.,it was only little things like that what let the room down.The breakfast in the morning was spectacular and the guy who was bringing the food out should be praised for his politness,quikness and how efficiant he was. On a whole the stay me and my partner had was brilliant,and we would go there again,shame we couldnt of stayed longer !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,594 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
3.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing