We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very odd; tries to be "posh" but too frequently misses the point” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very odd; tries to be "posh" but too frequently misses the point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hmm, how to sum it up? This place is an odd mixture. The staff are very polite and seem keen to help. (eg we stayed when it was hot, and at 10.30pm the staff in the reception gave us their own electric fan for our room as we couldn't sleep - no air con).
The family room was a good size, with a large area with a double bed, table, chairs, TV and wardrobe, and a separate section with a desk area, and another separate area containing two single beds for the kids. However, it seems as though the hotel management haven't test-run the rooms themselves (they should). Some reasons why:
1: There are no accessible plug sockets at the desk - so if you've got a laptop and various technical bits, where do you plug them in?
2: The bath mixer tap were broken so we had to fill the bath using the shower attachment.
3: The bath and sink taps were chipped (it *is* possible to get a bath repaired...).
4: The shower curtain looked ancient and unclean (mouldy).
5: The window curtain linings were mouldy.
6: The bathroom decor needs refreshing. Although it must have looked luxurious in 1985, it really needs bringing into the 21st century to keep up with expectations. Botticelli's "Birth of Venus" tiled above the bath? Really?
7: We were given 3 towels for 4 people so had to share.
8: The hotel from the outside is quite unappealling when you approach it from the carpark - we nearly turned round as I'd promised the family what I thought was a country house.
9: The decor in the family block is really quite revolting: burgundy painted walls, manky carpet and wooden banisters and skirting that has really seen better days.

Did we complain? Other than telling the staff the bath taps were broken, no. If the staff can't see the mould and bad decor when they work there day in day out, tbh, I don't think it will make a different if someone tells them so.

In all: too expensive for the experience. The industry is far too competitive for them to ignore the details as people will go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Family rooms seem to all be in the separate coach-house rather than in the main hotel. I assume to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    136
    69
    28
    40
See reviews for
100
130
16
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked a Superior Room for 4 nights, left after 1, wardrobe collapsed when attempting to hang clothes in it. There was an illuminated Fire Exit sign in the room. You could hear everything that was going on in the room next door due to the single interconnecting door. If you opened the window for some air all you could hear was the traffic noise from the motorway. The four poster bed was most uncomfortable, mattress was rock hard and sagged in the middle. Bathroom had not been serviced properly. The only thing that was Superior about this room was the price!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed 1 night with 2 children. The rooms are Clean and spacious with good beds. Bathroom could use some restructuring because shower was quite ruined. Helpful and kind staff. Nice breakfast room,average breakfast .
Very close to motorway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsh baldon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

When we arrived with out family the buildings looked a bit dated but our stay was just lovely. We had a family room which was very spacious and clean and comfortable. The children used the wifi all week which was free. The food was great. We ate out for some meals and wished we stayed and ate in the hotel. The drinks were reasonably charged and good selection. The wine was particularly good. Great staff who were always attentive. Lots to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpeters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have just stayed at hotel for two weeks. Their greatest assert is the friendly and helpful staff who cannot do enough for you. The next is the quality and cleanliness of the rooms.however these both are dwarfed by the quality,quantity and value of the food at dinner especially the changing daily fish specials. I had an allowance of £25.00 per meal from work which with ordering three courses sometimes was not spent as the prices were so reasonable.
Having had time to sample the whole menu, nothing was disappointing. Although the rooms were hot with the weather I simply kept my windows open.
I stay quite a lot in hotels around the country including some five star in London. I would prefer to stay at Gipsy Hill any day and can't wait until I am back teaching again in Exeter!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked at the hotel for myself and my wife, our daughter and son-in-law and two granddaughters. Our double room overlooking the garden was very nice, and the family room for the next generations was well laid out, suffering only from the difficulty of getting fresh air circulating on a hot July evening.

The garden was perfect for littler ones to run/crawl off any fidgets after a flight TLS-BRI and the 75 minute drive each end. The staff were terrific, nothing was too much trouble, and high chairs were brought out for dinner on the lawn. Breakfast was equally good, with something for every taste and desire.

The only quirk was the rather counterintuitive access via an office park, otherwise this was a great find, and would be a good choice for anyone planning a visit to Exeter, or, like us, passing through to a South Devon destination

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Name_picked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel VERY last minute as my mum and I are travelling the uk. Didn't have super high expectations due to such a great price and last minute! All the staff were really lovely and genuine, which made us feel welcome! Got in to our room which was massive, clean and a nice ensuite and the beds were very comfortable. The room was still very dark in the morning which I like, especially good if you have time for a sleep in! Best part of our stay was the breakfast!! Choice of hot foods and a great selection of cereals, toast, pastries, yoghurt and fruit. Although it is a little bit out of town its in a nice quiet area with beautiful gardens and free parking!!! This hotel is great value for money And I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing