We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with character”
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hotel with character”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

So nice to stay at a hotel with character. If you want a change from the usual chain hotel where each room is the same and the staff are scripted, then try this hotel. My room was lovely and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfast were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 840Bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear 840bertie
Thank you for such a glowing review. It's nice to hear from someone who enjoys an independently run hotel. Our staff are encouraged to show off their individual personalities and make the guests stay unique, and this obviously came across. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    138
    71
    29
    40
See reviews for
101
139
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I can imagine this was once a stunning place, but it needs some cash spending. Maybe if they didn't have the heating on full when it's 18 degs outside there would be money to replace the dripping tap shower and the bed that felt like a deflated bouncy castle! The age of the place means that doors bang and the place is creaky.
I can't fault the service, and the food on the 2nd night was great. The gardens were also lovely, but
Unfortunately I won't be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeckyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Beckyholiday
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find the room up to scratch and having read your comments I will be meeting with the maintenance department to get the tap fixed. I'm glad that the service and food was good. We are always doing some form of refurbishment but being an old building this is constant and does take time. Hopefully in the future you will reconsider and give us another chance.
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is in an ideal position . It is up a Devon lane but only minutes from the motorway.The service is excellent, nothing is too much trouble. I would definately stay there again.We had my Mums 80th birthday there and everyone thought the food and service was excellent. Well done to the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: This a convenient hotel rural but near the motorways.. It does not have a pool and other amneties b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Karjt
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your lunch here and celebrating your mums 80th. We look forward to seeing you again.
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Used to stay here 7 - 8 years ago on business when it was a Best Western hotel - at least once a month for 6 months. Enjoyed it then but it has even more charm now that it is independently run. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly - particularly Thierry who chatted to me about all things football, rugby and French whilst sorting out a delicious hot chocolate for my daughter late at night.
Love the room we stayed in - family room - which was very spacious and clean. Daughter loved the big screen telly for TV in the evening. Was looking for local fish 'n chip shop and man on front desk went out of his way to print out some directions and details especially helpful considering it was Easter Friday and not much was open!
All in all the hotel exceeded the expectations which my rose-tinted glasses had created.

Room Tip: Family rooms are well worth the little bit extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear NickA
Thank you for your review. Being a family run hotel our biggest asset is our staff and it's great that the teams dedication to great customer service came across. Now you've been back, hopefully it won't be another 7 years till we see you again.
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel and I would thoroughly recommend a visit. I hope to go back in the summer. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and made you feel at home. The food was very good and the cappuccino was excellent. Best weekend away for a long time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brghtbll50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Brghtbll50
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Gipsy Hill Hotel. This hotel is really a little gem. Not a big corporate affair, where a loyalty number gets you a bottle of mineral water on the bedside table. Gipsy Hill offers so much more, a warm genuine smile when you arrive and staff who really want you to enjoy your stay.

We have stayed in different rooms on each of our visits and enjoyed the different decoration and styles of all of them. All have been clean with very comfortable beds with good quality bedding. As others have said you can hear some road noise but we quickly get used to it and it's not too intrusive at night.

Quality of food in the restaurant is excellent, a good selection at breakfast. The dinner menu has something for everyone, and is very good value. On a personal note I would like to see them put the lasagne back on the menu!

The bar is very welcoming especially when Sue is working. She really is an asset to Gipsy Hill.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Pinkbelle
Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great getting people coming back time and time again. We are working on a new menu so will mention to chef about the lasagna to see if we can put it back on.
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel had lovely grounds, and our bedroom had windows in two walls which gave us a panoramic view of the area as it was on the first floor. The bed was very comfortable, room warm and the bathroom was nice although the shower was not so good as the water kept going from hot to cold. Before our arrival we had trouble finding the location as the local council has removed a road and it was not signposted to find the hotel. The breakfast was nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Lyn0607
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had problems finding the hotel. We are currently in talks with the local council to see if we can get brown tourists signs which will make it easier to find us in the future. I'm glad that once you got here you enjoyed your stay.
Claire Bennett, Reception Manager, Gipsy Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Property: Gipsy Hill Hotel
Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing