We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay again!”
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stay at St Olaves Hotel every time we visit Exeter. We couldn’t ask for more. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable (it is worth paying the upgrade price to get the larger rooms.)
The hotel is ideal for exploring Exeter as you are in the city centre. There can be a little noise from the pubs and clubs at night but you are in the middle of a City!
Breakfast is great and nice to have a hotel which still includes this in the price.
Thank you to all the staff who look after us so well. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for St. Olaves Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and were happy to over look the fact that our double room was provided with towels for only one person but when it came to breakfast thing turned very sour. We were told on check in that breakfast was 8:00 to 10:00 (it was a Saturday). On coming down to breakfast at 9:50 we were told that breakfast finished at 9:30. Annoyed we had to go out and find ourselves some breakfast in Exeter. On returning to the hotel we saw in the information that breakfast was indeed 8:00 to 10:00 on a Saturday. We complained and were told that we had arrived fir breakfast at 10:10 and they denied that they told me breakfast finished at 9:30. At this point the manger(?) became very rude and officious saying there was no reason for her to disbeliever her staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

For a hotel that charges a good price for its service and accomodation i was more than a little disappointed.

Rooms - spacious and stylish but the decor was tired (needs refreshing, not changing) and the "emperor" sized bed was two singles pushed together.

Shower - just abysmal

Service - no bar facilites after midnight

Location - on a Saturday night surrounded by bars and nightclubs.

Room heating - excesively hot so with windows open on a Saturday night........

Breakfast - spot on

In Summary - not the best nights stay and for the price - i'd say average to poor value for money

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntystellaplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

It is interesting reading some of the other reviews: we seem to have suffered the same 'grumpy lady' that others have mentioned. I am afraid that if we are paying what is (to us and, I think, for Exeter) quite a lot of money, we expected a friendlier reception upon arrival. However, the other staff were very nice except a lady who watched all of us come down the stairs in the morning, walk into the dining room for breakfast and then demanded to know in a rather abrupt manner whether we were staying in the hotel! Well, er, yes... We stayed here for a friend's wedding at the cathedral and the location was ideal, I expected it to be noisy as, when we walked back at 1am after the wedding reception, we noticed two clubs on the street but because of the courtyard and the fact that it is set back from the road behind wrought-iron gates and a high wall, it seems sheltered from exterior noise. The rooms themselves were very comfortable, much more spacious than I expected for such an old building, lovely bathrooms, very clean etc. A full-length mirror and iron were welcome when getting ready for the wedding. Just a few things: we had two rooms at the same price, although one was significantly bigger than the other with a seperate sofa area and a full-size bath rather than just a shower. I would ask for this room if you can. Also, as others have noted, the rooms on the first floor do suffer from the noise from reception so possibly the higher rooms are quieter. The other slightly strange thing is: there is a note in every room stating that the hotel is locked at night (after 12.30am, I think) and you have to ring the hotel reception and the night porter will come and let you in. This would've been fine if it was mentioned on check-in but it wasn't to us or obviously to other guests judging by the number shouting loudly at 3am to be let in. Perhaps they could inform each guest on arrival of the procedure, add the phone number to the note in the room (!) or install an exterior doorbell that rang somewhere the night porter could hear it but where it wouldn't disturb other guests - not impossible surely?

Anyway, great location, lovely, well-appointed rooms, shame about the attitude of some of the staff and the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatCatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I had the pleasure of helping organise and attend my sisters wedding earlier this month at this gorgeous city hotel. My sister only wanted a small and intimate affair where the guests could have everything they wanted. What can I say, the food was spot on, the service staff were attentive and the rooms were gorgeous and all so indivudual (i did try to steal the furniture!). The home made cookies in the cute jars in the rooms really were the cherry on the cake. Nothing was too much trouble, the price was suprisingly reasonable and they really do go the extra mile (cheese and biscuits for all at midnight enough proof!?). The new function area for the disco and the mint building for the ceremony offered a range of spaces for us which was a nice alternative to being in one area the whole day. Brides want everything to be perfect right? My sister and new hubby actually said they wouldnt have changed a thing. Would highly recommend this hotel for all - especially weddings.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We arrived for a meal only, but were looking for a friendly hotel/restaurant for a party later in the year, expecting to spend in excess of £1k, We had trouble finding the restaurant entrance which is not signed. Asking at the reception I was told that it was to the left, I called my wife and we were then directed to an empty and dark bar area. Seated, we were asked for a drink order which we declined saying we only wanted a table for two for lunch and the look of annoyance and disgust was unexpected. Waiting for, albiet a short while, we decided to leave and interupted the waitress discussing other matters at the reception and not seaching for the aforementioned menus. We said our goodbyes to most strange looks from the staff. I shall not be returning to be treated as an interuption to the workplace.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ollybret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

You cannot fault the location of this hotel, nor the fact that you can park in its own car park, without incurring an additional fee (Mercure Southgate chrage £8 per day to park). The food is FANTASTIC-both the dinner on the first night and the breakfasts on both mornings of our stay were completely superb.

However, we had a room which was practically above the reception area, and as such were disturbed by the constant ringing of the telephone, and check in discussions between guests and staff. I would have asked for another room, but I had already done this once already, and this was the last room available, apparently.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and overlooked the car park, and the local nightclub, whose music kept us awake until gone 2am-then we had revellers eating their chips right under our window. Great.

The bed was very comfortable, but the bathroom (shower room, in fact) was exremely dated and really awful. The other thing to note, was that when we first arrived and were shown our original room (whose shower room was even more dated and tired than the one we were moved to), the lady who I take to be the owner, openly sneered her complete contempt at me for deigning to be such a nuisance, I suppse. The poor girl who was on the desk moved us and was terrifically helpful-but it was clear The Boss ruled with a rod of iron. Perhaps she should remember who pays her mortgage. We shan't be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMJCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £84 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing