We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisey”
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 28 November 2011

our room was well appointed and comfortable but there was a heavy smell of shake n vac or air freshener. we needed to leave the windows open to reduce it which magnified the noise from outside. we had friends in the hotel who were also kept awake by the noise. give the restaurant a swerve also, very bland.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

Had a great stay at St Olaves 'beautiful' hotel back in May, The rooms were clean, tidy, warm and i just loved the home-made treats. Had a great nights sleep and to top it off had a very tastie breakfast in the morning. All the team at the hotel are absolutely brilliant, they are all soo helpfull and friendly. Could not fault my stay. The 24 hr secure parking was great too, as we were soo close to the shops it meant we could leave our car at the hotel go and do a bit of shopping (and take a few pictures of the Cathedral). We will be back again, thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnieme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Slightly faded charm, but attentive service, flexible, welcoming, and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I just can't quite understand the management here. There must be a reason why they do not advertise their "annexe". Adjoining the hotel grounds they have a townhouse in a private square which they let out. It has three bedrooms (it would be four, but the staircase is too steep, the door too low for the health and safety police and the room is now used as a junk room) a living room with a tiny TV, a dining room and a kitchen (albeit with a hob but no oven) which is absolutely perfect if you want to hire a three bedroomed townhouse in the center of town for your family and friends. Surely there must be more people like us that want to hire a whole house in a strange city and make our own breakfast, rolling around in dressing gowns. The single thing that would have perfected our stay would have been the capacity for a log fire, but never mind. The rooms are furnished with style and the internal architecture encompasses at least a couple of centuries if not more.
We have stayed in the main hotel and eaten in the restaurant which was well priced but we would rather wait until we have enough people to take over the annexe and just have a mad time without worrying about any of the usual hotel rules about breakfast timings, lockout timings and the like.
And obviously the fact that it is only minutes away from the cathedral and the town centre is a huge plus point. The personable staff allowed us to continue parking in their courtyard even after we had checked out.
Highly recommended, especially for groups.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobstermadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were three adults so had booked two rooms, a double and a single and were accommodated on the same floor as we had requested. This was my second stay at St. Olaves and it confirmed my original impression of a friendly, elegant and well priced hotel.
the breakfasts were delicious; the rooms beautifully furnished and equipped (although the single room was a little small) and the staff as before extremely friendly and helpful. It's a shame about the parking charge but a small price to pay for a secure place to leave the car. One certainly doesn't need one in Exeter. I will certainly come back to St. Olave's on my next visit to Exeter.

Room Tip: First floor double room (Room1) has separate sitting room and overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfasuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at St Olaves as we were visiting family in Exeter who find it difficult to accomodate four people. When we phoned up we were offered the house in the grounds for an extra £10 vs. one room with all four of us. The coach house or town house (I forget the name) is located in the hotel grounds. It is a three story C18 house with three double bedrooms, living room, kitchen, pantry etc. It is a little rustic, but fabulous if you have a young family as you have room for them to run about and can prepare basic food. Plus as it is part of the hotel you pop over the court yard in the morning for your traditional hotel breakfast in the morning.

Parking was free (I would say for around 20ish cars) however you need to pick your time when you arrive as the restaurant is busy and lunchtime guests also use the carpark.

Room Tip: See if you can book the house in the grounds if travelling as family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreviousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Do you get what you have paid for - not always.A shame really, as it has potential- a great building let down by poor maintenance.It has style but shabby in many respects.So it was just 3 stars... obviously this has been recognized by others - but they charged 5 star prices.WiFi - yes but only downstairs.Breakfast included - but almost inedible.The most expensive we have stayed in so far and the most disappointing.Only thing going for it was the location.
Would not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
1,386 reviews
4.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing