We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by lack of attention to details”
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Situated very close to the centre of the city, the hotel is very convenient, for non-drivers and drivers alike. But management does need to smarten up its act a bit. The rather grubby carpet in my bedroom should have been properly cleaned (what looked like spray marks from opening a can of drink, plus extensive black marks as if someone had tried polishing their shoes on the carpet) and the torn curtain either repaired or replaced. A 15-minute wait at breakfast time in a half-empty room before being asked what I would like to drink and eat is too long. As for improvements, it's nice to have an iron and ironing board with usual tea/coffee facilities, but a hairdryer would be welcome.

As

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urban_Myth_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here over the weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Convient parking in a central location, welcoming reception, and recently redecorated bedroom. One of them was on the roadside which we'd typically avoid but given we had (well behaved) dogs with us we weren't too bothered. What was a lovely surprise was the hotel restaurant. The chef had worked at Gidleigh Park and it showed. A short, seasonal menu, was excellent with the only request being to have one pure vegetarian main option. However, they did their best to accommodate us by making the starters as mains. The breakfast the following day was lovely too. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of December and found the hotel to be very well located for all the local Exeter attractions. The hotel bedrooms were well appointed but I would advise staying at the back of the hotel and not at the front near the main road. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the morning breakfast was excellent.
I would have no problem staying at this hotel again and would add that I thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

our room was well appointed and comfortable but there was a heavy smell of shake n vac or air freshener. we needed to leave the windows open to reduce it which magnified the noise from outside. we had friends in the hotel who were also kept awake by the noise. give the restaurant a swerve also, very bland.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Had a great stay at St Olaves 'beautiful' hotel back in May, The rooms were clean, tidy, warm and i just loved the home-made treats. Had a great nights sleep and to top it off had a very tastie breakfast in the morning. All the team at the hotel are absolutely brilliant, they are all soo helpfull and friendly. Could not fault my stay. The 24 hr secure parking was great too, as we were soo close to the shops it meant we could leave our car at the hotel go and do a bit of shopping (and take a few pictures of the Cathedral). We will be back again, thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnieme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Slightly faded charm, but attentive service, flexible, welcoming, and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I just can't quite understand the management here. There must be a reason why they do not advertise their "annexe". Adjoining the hotel grounds they have a townhouse in a private square which they let out. It has three bedrooms (it would be four, but the staircase is too steep, the door too low for the health and safety police and the room is now used as a junk room) a living room with a tiny TV, a dining room and a kitchen (albeit with a hob but no oven) which is absolutely perfect if you want to hire a three bedroomed townhouse in the center of town for your family and friends. Surely there must be more people like us that want to hire a whole house in a strange city and make our own breakfast, rolling around in dressing gowns. The single thing that would have perfected our stay would have been the capacity for a log fire, but never mind. The rooms are furnished with style and the internal architecture encompasses at least a couple of centuries if not more.
We have stayed in the main hotel and eaten in the restaurant which was well priced but we would rather wait until we have enough people to take over the annexe and just have a mad time without worrying about any of the usual hotel rules about breakfast timings, lockout timings and the like.
And obviously the fact that it is only minutes away from the cathedral and the town centre is a huge plus point. The personable staff allowed us to continue parking in their courtyard even after we had checked out.
Highly recommended, especially for groups.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobstermadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing