We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and friendly”
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed for a night here. I rather liked it. The setting is very 'eek', between car parks and bingo halls etc, but it doesn't pretend to be somewhere luxurious. Lovely courtyard setting once you're in, friendly staff, comfy bed, good cooked breakfast...and the room at the back was nice and quiet. (I asked for this and it was no trouble for them to find one). I'd say for the convenience of being that close to the centre of Exeter, it's great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just got back from 2 nights at the St. Olaves Court and after having to move rooms, because of a wasps nest, on the first night which we felt was handeled very well by the staff, we felt we were going to have a nice stay, but unfortunatly it was not to be, we have come away feeling we have not had the kind of experiance that we feel we should have got from a small, privatly run hotel, there is a lack of proffesionalisam amongst the staff and they are a little unfrendly although not rude.
We found it odd that you have to ask for toast in the mornnings and then on the first mornning we only got 3 half slices between the 2 of us, also there were only ever 2 butter pats on our table. There was not a very large chioce of cerials ether. The other thing that seems a bit unfare is that they charge £5 per night for parking if you are staying at the hotel, but if you are just having a meal there then you get free parking, so if you spend £50 or £60 on a meal free parking but we spent £79 per night but did not eat in the resturant and had to pay for parking. We felt that the managment were beeing a bit and peney pinching. Its a shame because after many visits to Exeter this is the first hotel that has not come up to standerd.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

You walk down an alley and are transported into a wonderful peaceful courtyard with a large Georgian house down one side. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our bedroom was appropriately furnished, the bed was comfortable, an added bonus and the bathroom just added to our delight.
The highlight for us was our evening meal, the chef,trained under Michael Caines, produced some excellent food, the waiter was friendly, we will definitely be back.
Having read some of the reviews all I can say is was it the same place?

Room Tip: Only been once so cannot comment on whole place but I do recommend going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Where do I start... The hotel room had half a curtain, the bed was awful and sloped down one side! The hotel is next to a nightclub that plays music until 2am and to helps matters the window didnt shut properly! The service at breakfast was the worst I've ever experienced. The waiter actually put his hand up to my face and said wait when I asked for some salt! He then proceeded to do this action to all the guests in the hotel, which wound everyone up! Dont ever stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed here for the first time last night (22/07/12) after a night out at Mama stones. For a Georgian listed building the bedrooms are fab! I've read a lot of poor reviews about this place and they are not deserved. Granted, the walls in my room (2) could do with a touch up but if this hotel is busy all the time, how are staff supposed to do that? I chose to stay here as was within stones throw of where I was partying and had a very peaceful night's sleep even with the window open!

The bed was very comfy and haven't had that good a night's sleep in a hotel ever! The bathroom was big enough and nice too. I didn't have breakfast here as the price really put me off but that's the only real downside. Deffo will stay here again in future.

And the lovely staff here couldn't be more welcoming!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenix_rollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A large number of families were staying here this week for their children's Graduation. Hence why we all turned up for breakfast at 7am with a dire need to leave asap to get to the ceremony on time. Breakfast took 45 minutes with a stressed, slightly abrasive Maitre D' and when it did arrive, the scrambled eggs on a slice of cheap thin soggy toast was a massive disappointment - especially at £10.95!

Hotel has to go up a gear during Grad Week as time is really of the essence for those having to be seated at the venue by 8,30. Perhaps bring in extra kitchen staff and offer breakfast from 06.30am?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at St Olaves and on both occasions have had no complaints. The hotel is in a lovely Georgian building VERY close to the city centre, literally a short walk from the cathedral. Our room was clean with a lovely comfy bed, the ensuite large with generously sized bath. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking is a bonus. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £65 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing