We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a review of the restaurant - a mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just a review of the restaurant - a mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice staff, good bar, and a very attractive spot - almost like a little Parisian oasis in the middle of Exeter. BUT then my risotto arrived. Oh dear - I've never had cooked carrot placed on a rissotto as a garnish before - not nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    64
    31
    18
    18
See reviews for
28
82
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

As a regular guest over 10 years what a shame to see it crumble physically and in service.
What happened? Where has the service gone? on arrival yesterday for 2 rooms, and for supper in the bar area we asked to order food at the desk at 8.45pm as there was nobody else to ask, only to be told "kitchens shut" (very embarrassing hosting a colleague) I explained we were hotel guests, Chef said NO was the reply. So still smarting we reluctantly walked down the road and found The White Hart Hotel 2 minutes away and what a surprise, we were welcomed, enjoyed a good pub meal, (they serve food to 10pm) and no, I am not promoting this business, but if you find yourself turned away from what is now behaving as a B&B for food you could do a lot worse.
Come on St . Olaves sort it out or advertise you don't serve food in the evening. You have lost us.

Room Tip: Choose low room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11SemperViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Upon driving through the archway into the hotel grounds I was pleasantly surprised.... Couldn't believe I was in the centre of Exeter, it was so quiet and private.
The hotel itself is quite old I believe with full of character and a touch of elegance.
I found the staff very receptive and polite.
The location is excellent, just 3 minutes walk from Exeter Cathedral with all the restaurants, bars and shops.
The room itself was very clean and comforable, with a style of it's own.
Breakfast was superb (I'd have liked a larger portion, but have a large appetite being 6'3" and.19 stone) can't. Complain though with a varied choice available.
All in all I'd give it a 9/10 :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank paulthechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Following refurbishment, this hotel offers fantastic Value for Money. We stayed in a superior double room, which was really a suite - with spacious and comfortable sitting area, fabulous King size bed, and lovely bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with terrific choice. Brilliant l,ocation, just 5 minute stroll to the Cathedral. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. And all for less than £50 pppn!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend for one night. We both said we would definitely return. The location is central without being noisy, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable. My only criticism really is that it was all a bit brown. Whoever was in charge of the interior decor obviously likes the colour - not my favourite. However, that was the only negative thing I could come up with, and for £95 per night B&B I thought this was great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolMum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at St Olaves for 1 night in the mint building adjacent to the main hotel. It was a dreadful experience - damp, no hot water and generally poorly maintained - only one working light bulb!
The main hotel looked much nicer and the breakfast was good or I would have rated it even lower

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperOneNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

As a lone female in a strange city, my choice of hotel was based on one that had central location, on-site parking and a restaurant available. I specifically asked for a reservation when I booked - however, I was told on arrival when I enquired about my booking that the restaurant was closed! The hotel has my mobile number,but did not inform me in advance.
The room did not have an appropriate place to work at a laptop - ended up using it on my lap sitting on the sofa. There was an ugly water stain on ceiling above bed - that I noticed had been mentioned by a previous guest.
The staff were helpful and polite face to face - a shame they were not more diligent in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#22 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Property: St. Olaves Court
Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing