We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant apart from the bed-” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Olaves Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Olaves Court
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“brilliant apart from the bed-”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

The location was brilliant, the staff polite, friendly, welcoming and efficient. We had a suite for a special weekend deal and it was lovely, with everything we needed although a little dark however sadly the bed was quite uncomfortable, sagged in the middle. We ate dinner one evening and were really surprised at the excellent standard. Free parking a great asset. A really wonderful weekend and would certainly stay again, if the bed was better we would have given it 100%

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBookham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    64
    31
    18
    18
See reviews for
28
82
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We held our wedding here and have to say that from the moment we started making arrangements, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were fantastic and tailored everything from the menu to the running order to our exact requirements.
The food on the day was wonderful as was the discreet but very efficient service provided by the incredibly courteous staff.
I can't praise the hotel highly enough for making the wedding such a wonderful and memorable day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Loved the old fashioned polite unobtrusive good service.

We were made really welcome by friendly reception staff. Our bags were carried to our room. Reception apologised that because it was graduation weekend there was a reduced menu and they would understand if we didn't want to dine at the hotel. They brought the menu to our room and it looked great so we stayed for dinner and were really glad. Maitre D was very knowledable and helpful - couldn't do enough for us.

Food was really delicious served in lovely dining room with excellent service.
We were very pleased we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank incontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Shying away from the faceless, multi roomed chain hotels in Exeter city centre, my partner and I opted to stay at the small, family owned St Olaves Hotel, nestling away in its own little sanctuary, only yards from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Here we found a delightful little hotel, with a dozen or so rooms, tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, and more than adequate in size for my partner and me.
From the moment we arrived, the service was first class. Our bags were taken to our room, the receptionist was more than accommodating, by providing us a map of the area and pointing out local sights, restaurants and shopping malls.
We had our evening meal in the restaurant, which was clean and contemporary in its design, the waiters were polite, helpful and extremely pleasant. The food was excellent, well-presented, good quality and I hasten to add that we were not the only ones to offer praise; another couple on an adjacent table also complemented the waiter on the food. We had the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package, which we found to be excellent value for money, we had booked for 3 nights, but enjoyed our stay so much, we extended for another night.
The hotel offers outstanding value for a small independent hotel. Food, service, cleanliness, location, ticks all the boxes. This hotel will never stand side by side with the multi national chain hotels; you won’t find acres of bedroom space, football pitch size beds, Jacuzzi’s, bellhops, valet parking. However, you will find, a warm welcome, helpful, pleasant staff, wonderful food, clean adequate bedrooms, in a cosy, relaxed little haven.
My partner and I intend to return next year and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, based on our very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Most impressed and we have seen plenty. Location very handy for city centre with own car park. Large well appointed room with well appointed en suite. Food first class cooking is seriously good book in for DB&B and it's good value . Helpful staff. Tip work out your route to the place in advance if coming by car and look out for the entrance tucked back off the road else the Exeter one way system is not grockle friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Its interesting that the first review I read just before my making own contribution mentions the 'grumpy lady' on reception! After a telephone conversation with her I decided not to confirm my reservation. Her manner was just horrible. There are far better located and valued hotels in Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I'm sorry to say this hotel was a total, absolute disappointment and completely misrepresented on their website. Having booked an en-suite deluxe room for a 3-day stay I left within an hour after complaining that the room allocated (you bumped into the bed as you opened the door) was far too small, a second room was offered which was larger but the intolerable smell of onions hit you as you opened the windows and they (two ladies) 'required' that I move again on the second day to another smaller room.
The decor was shabby, carpets needed cleaning (would be much better to replace them completely), bed linen style I don't think had been changed since 1980. Grumpy lady on reception who took exception to my comments on the standard of accommodation I expect. Location to city centre was fine. Way too expensive for the standards they keep.
Having read some of the other reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I can only assume we didn't stay at the same place.......?
Moved to Buckerell Lodge saved £100.00, great location, friendly staff, rooms were totally luxurious compared to St Olaves!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#22 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
The City Gate Hotel-TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Olaves Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Olaves Court

Property: St. Olaves Court
Address: Mary Arches Street, Exeter EX4 3AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Olaves Court 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Olaves Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Olaves Court Hotel Exeter
St. Olaves Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing