We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Braunston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Ended up running late, so we decided to stop in this hotel. The Room was clean, average in size and had all that we needed. The hotel has very friendly staff and the Breakfast was great. Some areas of the hotel look a little tired but this is reflected in the price and is defiantly good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    380
    108
    32
    38
See reviews for
114
415
71
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This ie is a very well located hotel with clean and comfortable rooms and great safft. You get a very good breakfast and plenty of it. Although the rooms have been upgraded the bars and public spaces are a bit tierd. This is our secound stay and are talking of going agin in the neer future.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying in the rooms in the back of the hotel as these are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Was booked into the White Hart by Late Rooms, a £6 taxi ride from St Davids station. A big old sprawling building with reception in the back. Booking in--you have been upgraded she said, I wonder why she added? You are in Room 402, take the lift.
Room 402 is shaped like a piece of pie, a wedge, and judging by the scrap marks on the walls many have been wedged in. The room is tiny, last time I slept in a room as small I was in a survival tent. The bed pushed up against the wall to allow for a bedside table, small dressing table by the open window, the net curtain was screwed up into the curtain rail and fixed by cross headed screw, it looked too dirty to move. Where could one sit, the awkward dressinf table seat, but could not see TV or sit on the bed resting ones back against the wall or the bars of the metal bedstead. The bed squeaked, worse when pulled away from wall (I was not in a cell). Towels were nice, shower control different from those seen elsewhere, but no instructions (do not wear glasses in shower). Mirror in bathroom nice but you need to lean up against the toilet bowl to see into it at the proper angle.
Breakfast good.
Bar in the evening was very slow.
Lift, not very good as there is only one and 4 floors. spent a long time waiting to go up.
Can understand that when booking out the staff did not enquire if I had enjoyed my stay, how could one in room 402.

Room Tip: Not room 402 it should be in Room 101 or used to store cleaning material
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJandJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This wasn't what I expected at all. Fantastic value for a hotel with this location. I got stuck in Exeter with car trouble so decided to stay overnight. Partly because of the free parking at the hotel and this is where I had been having a couple of interviews! Don't be put off by the olde worlde feel - it is perfectly in keeping and just a lovely hotel. Rooms are suprisingly spacious, good bar and breakfast was fine. Excellent value. I can only say sorry to them for taking up a parking space for so long!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The White Hart was indeed just right for what we wanted. A good central location for exploring the City with free parking - even on the day you check out. I was worried that an old 'character' hotel may be a bit dated and old fashioned inside. Not the case at all - our room was nice furnished with everything you would expect (and we did note the earplugs) from a modern hotel. The bed and furnishings were smart and modern and the bathroom very large with plentiful hot water. The ear plugs were not needed although it was noisy with the window wide open on the Monday morning as there was a new building going up opposite. We did not eat in the restaurant although the 20% discount was an attractive offer but enjoyed breakfast which was cooked to order. I would recommend the White Hart to anyone wanting to stay and explore the beautiful City of Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Excellent customer service from all the staff from the minute we walked in to the moment we left. Free parking was provided during our stay and we were also given free parking for the rest of the day on the day we checked out. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the car park at the rear of the hotel and had a very peaceful nights sleep, ear plugs are provided in the rooms but we didn't need to use them. Our room was tastefully decorated and high quality bed linen was used. The bathroom was large and we had use of a bath and shower, hot water was plentiful and the shower had good power. Liked the little extra's in the rooms, like the earplugs and bottled water, even had the central heating on (even in July) - if needed - we'd arrived on a wet, cold morning so was nice to be able to dry our clothes out on them and warm up before going out shopping in Exeter town centre. We had an approx 5 minute walk to the centre and there is the pub downstairs to have a drink and food if you don't feel like venturing far at night. The food was nice and wasn't expensive. Will definitely be staying again when we next stop in Exeter

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car park maybe quieter - having read other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at The White Hart whilst on business in the area...this place is full of character which I really like. It is very old with a few creeky floors and lots of original features. It is not a corporate faceless hotel...thank God!

We were checked in and out by Julie who was an absolute delight. Warm, friendly and very efficient. If every hotel had a "Julie" staying in hotels would be a far more enjoyable experience.

The room was warm and comfortable...not the biggest room in the world but this place was built in the 14th century and our room was in the oldest part of the building. The decor aws very cosy and it was spotlessly clean.

We had a couple of beers in the bar and got chatting to Loz behind the bar. Again, he too was so pleasant and informative about the Inn and the local area. He even too us down to the cellar to show us the old Roman city wall that now forms part of the cellar walls! That's what I call great customer engagement! The staff here are really something else!

Breakfast was exceptional and the staff here too were really friendly and a joy to be around.

I would definately stay again as the place has a lovely vibe, not just because of the cosy warm atmosphere but mainly due to the high calibre of the staff.

I think that Marstons are very lucky to have such people representing their brand! I do hope they are appreciated by them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
600 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing