We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This charming hotel is perfectly positioned for any visit to Exeter. It is less than five minutes walk to the cathedral, city centre and very close to the quay too. Free car parking is hard to find in Exeter, so this was a real plus point. We have frequented the bar here on many previous visits to the city and the chance to stay here was something we were keen to do. We were not disappointed. Our bedroom and bathroom were quiet, clean, warm and spacious. The full English breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hensrus303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The perfect place to switch off, relax and enjoy good food in Exeter. Beautifully looked after Olde Worlde Hotel less than 5 minutes walk to city centre. Staff all excellent and the food was outstanding not just in quality but in price too. Although very cold and wet outside the hotel was warm and snug throughout.

Room Tip: No point in arriving early thinking your room may be ready as they have a VERY STRICT no check-in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is situated less than 5 minutes walk from the city centre. There is a large (free!) car park on site. We arrived at around 5.30pm and was greeted by a fabulously helpful receptionist. She was chatty, helpful and informative. She even allowed us 2 days worth of parking although we were only staying one night so that we could leave our car on the Saturday whilst we went shopping. 10 out of 10 for customer service!
We stayed in the original part of the hotel. Our room was on the small side but comfortable enough. We had a four poster bed! The bathroom was large and immaculately clean. There were bottles of water on the bedside table and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits provided.
The hotel was amazing. It's old but well looked after - and warm! Lots of nooks and crannies to hide away and sup your drinks. Friendly bar staff and customers.
Breakfast was included and my goodness - what a breakfast it was! Big buffet selection of fruit, yogurts, toast, cereal, fruit juice, tea and coffee. More friendly waiters and waitresses made sure we had everything we needed (full fry up x 2!) and the food was delicious.
Overall - not luxury accommodation but the hotel was warm, pleasant and the staff were a delight. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Fronted by a beautiful old pub with courtyard gardens and adjacent car park this is the perfect place to stay for a visit to Exeter. Everything is walkable , Shops,Harbour,Stations & Cathedral.
Hotel itself is a rambling mix of olde worlde and blandly modern . The rooms perfectly clean and functional with excellent Bathrooms and modern comforts.
Breakfast is extensive and served by pleasant staff with adequate ingredients. (barely mediocre sausages I'm afraid)
We'd definitely stay again and heartily recommend to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Firstly, I have to say that the hotel was very welcoming and parking was very convenient right outside the hotel entrance. The room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and flat screen tv etc. The bathroom was sparkling and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was generous. I'd recommend the full English !!! The pub adjacent to the hotel really had an old world charm. Their white wine by the glass was a delightful New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, which can't be bad. Exeter shops and the Christmas market were minutes away. The only negative was their INSISTENCE that our rooms would only available from 2pm. This was said on the phone and reiterated when we arrived....apparently, the rooms were still being cleaned. Now, had we turned up at 10.30 in the morning, I would had little argument but we arrived after 1pm and it just would have been nice to throw our cases and so on in the room, settle in for 10 minutes and then venture out but I got the impression that this 2pm rule was "rules is rules" that had to be adhered to at all cost !!! Look it's not a big deal but not what I've experienced at other hotels. Interestingly, we had cleaner knocking on our door art about 10ish in the morning which would "suggest" that the room was available earlier than 2pm. To be fair the staff readily offered to look after our bags but we preferred to leave them in the car...never mind....we'd still stay at the hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_the_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at the White Hart Inn as my girlfriend was on a conference in Exeter. The hotel is very centrally located (you can walk to the Cathedral in less than 5 minutes) with a decent sized free car park out the back. The room we stayed in on the 4th floor was clean and comfortable - with fast free wifi - and the hot power shower was excellent. For the price we paid (£71 inc. breakfast) for the hotel the quality is just about spot on - however, had you paid any more you may be a little disappointed as it's far from luxurious. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - help yourself to tea/coffee, cerial, yoghurts, fruit and three types of fruit juice and you also get a cooked option - but as we ate so heartily in the restaurant the evening before (see separate review) we weren't hungry enough to take full advantage! That being said I still tucked into some excellent poached eggs. If you're looking for an above average hotel centrally located then this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: The higher up the hotel you are the further you are away from kitchen/bar & street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_benj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at the White Hart in Exeter for just one night while on a business trip to the University. I thought the price I paid (£76.60 via laterooms) was very reasonable indeed given that my room was spacious, comfortable, clean and tidy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was a little on the small side but very comfy and I had a great night's sleep.

The bathroom was spotless, although we did ask someone at reception if they could refill the empty wall-mounted bottles of soap/shower gel, and they did not. A minor quibble and not enough to leave a bad review but still it was a good thing I had brought my own shampoo!

Ate my evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was fairly standard pub grub but very nice - huge portions! I didn't have much room for a full fry-up breakfast the next morning (but my toasted sausage sandwich was nice)!! Tip: At the moment, if you sign up for their newsletter online you can get a free drink at the bar.

Other plus points about this hotel are its central location, free parking and free Wifi which is always a bonus when travelling for business.

This was my first time visiting Exeter and it's a shame I was there for work as it looks really lovely and it would've been nice to do a bit more exploring. I did have time to enjoy a drink at the very festive Christmas market which has definitely put me in the mood for Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. (THE HOTEL CARPARK DOES NOT EXCEPT LWB Vans, Large vehicles, Campers & large commercial vehicles. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing