We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not again”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Willand, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not again”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked a table for 9 pre ordered meals for 7:30 pm when we arrived and seated, yet 8:15 we are served??? 2 sauces ordered not supplied, never offered condiments, food poor to average at best, typical pub chain opposed to independent when food quality, price and service invariably superior

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    380
    107
    32
    38
See reviews for
114
414
71
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

made a mistake in booking date for one night for my son and I when we arrived found that the booking made was for Mortonhamstead not Exeter the receptionist and duty manager could not have been more helpful arranged two single rooms for the rate I had originally booked for even though it was less than their normal rateand did not charge me for the missed booking I would recommend this hotel for friendly and helpful staff and a very good breakfast I would look no further on a trip to Exeter

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Although the location was pretty central and the reception staff pleasant, the food was inedible (how can you ruin toast?) and the housekeeping staff rude and slovenly. Granted, when I spoke to Reception about our unpleasant experience with Housekeeping, they were most pleasant and had already quite the dossier on her. She is, no doubt, due for the chop.
The food was dreadful both in the pub and the breakfast room.
We saw quite a nice hotel on the Cathedral Close and will book there next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glastonbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the Marston's chain of hotels so you sort of know what to expect.
Service was good. Originally we were given a room in the old part of the hotel which would have required us (over 65s) to carry our luggage up several flights of narrow twisting stairs. Upon request, the lady in reception happily gave us another room. This was in the 'new' building which has a lift (elevator).
The room size and amenities were fine - although I find hair dryers that require you to hold your finger on the switch all the time a royal pain.
The corridor outside the room looked like it had had a major problem with water as the wallpaper was hanging off the walls. The carpets were generally dingy.
The food was Marston's usual.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great for a short business trip to Exeter. Rooms are of a decent size and are clean and functional.

Very good value, with parking included.

Breakfast is functional but fine.

Right in the middle of the city, so plenty of choice for places to eat and drink (including the pub which is part of the hotel)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you need a place to stay in Exeter that gives you good value for money this is it.
£60 per night for two people including breakfast. Nice clean room, spacious, comfortable.
The staff are really friendly they can't do enough for you. The food menu is traditional and great value for money. If you want to alter something on the menu a little it's no trouble at all.
The pub downstairs is also very traditional and homely. Free Wifi as well.
As for the breakfast room it is situated on the 1st level of the Hotel and is very charming indeed.
Once again a nice homely feel to it, very relaxed. Cooked breakfast included and cooked just right. The staff where great and very attentive. Nothing ran out and always looking after you.

Business or pleasure this is great value for money and in the heart of Exeter City. Should you get time, there is a Chinese Restaurant just up the road heading into town called Tang Shian. They also have a great menu at affordable prices. www.tangshian.com

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely old inn and in the heart of Exeter. The room I ended up with (after a change from a less quiet one) was a good size and mostly clean (not well-hoovered). The shower had an air-lock and was strong but very noisy (don't book room 2 next door!) otherwise the room was very decent. Breakfast was ok - ordinary cereals, fruit yoghurt and tired fruit. Bread very good and cooked breakfast OK - though eggs not done as requested (and they don't do omelettes). Staff were usually friendly and as I was working very close, this was very convenient.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Singquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
600 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing