We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great time we had at the the white hart the moment we came to reception we were welcomed as if we were there before,(it was our first time there).I love the place it's very quirky! the rooms are very clean and bright,housekeepers are so friendly a nice good morning,asking if we were ok with our room and if we needed anything else.There was a few of my friends staying here we had a girlies get together,we were going into town for something to eat but we decided to eat in the restaurant,as we expected staff so friendly it's been a great time here I would like to thank everyone and will definitely be back also tell all my friends and family what a great time we all had.Thank you everyone at the white hart for a great time and making us feel very welcoming.x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Skin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello there,

I am thrilled to hear that everyone looked after you so well during your recent visit to the White Hart Hotel. I shall be more than happy to pass on your wonderful comments to the team!

Many thanks for your lovely review!

Kindest Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have known this hotel since 1962,the hotel is based around an old coaching inn and has spade loads of history,we have stayed here about four times in the last six or seven years.
Last weekend we treated ourselves and stayed in the Cromwell Suite,a fantastic room with fourposter bed easy chairs and settee,the bathroom with its twin wash basins walk in shower and seperate Bidet and loo had a huge rool top bath .(the bathroom is bigger than our bedroom at home).
But beware it is right in the top of the old inn and a long climb,if your legs are not tip top or you are in indifferent health you could find it a problem,that aside it is weel worth the climb.
The staff as ever are a happy bunch and the manager is a hands on sort of guy,nothing is too much trouble and they are to be commended on the happy can do attitude.
Food is great value and despite being flat out on Friday and Saturday evening service was tip top,look foreward to our next visit.
Well done such a nice gang.

Room Tip: If you dont want lots of stairs stay in the new block which is serviced with a lift,but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit to the White Hart Hotel. I am also delighted to hear that you have returned time and time again. I agree that the Cromwell Suite is a beautiful room and is worth the climb! We pride ourselves on our good value meals and friendly team.

Many thanks for a wonderful review and we hope to welcome you again to the White Hart very soon.

Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What alovely old fashioned Inn, great room, clean and lovely pub type food and service in the bar, quirky lay out but really interesting, If you want modern and all the trappings, then not for you.freidnly relaxed and informal staff-just our style

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the White Hart Hotel. We pride ourselves on our relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Some of the original parts of the building date back to the late 14th, early 15th Century, so there are certainly plenty of quirky rooms and corridors around the hotel.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely spacious room at rear of hotel, great spot, would definitely stay again. Friendly staff with a superb new Manager, Carl. Only stayed on b+b basis, as we ate out in the city centre. Nice to stay in old English Inn with history.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part overlooking the car park, but the old part overlooks the front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buxhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I shall be thrilled to forward on your comments to Carl.

With Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked a party of 13 and were very happy to have the 2 for £10 deal. Very happy with the quality of the food and very good service. One waiter was very helpful and suggested we order an extra meal and then contribute less than 50p each, to share. Kai was also very helpful. Loved the fact we had an area reserved all to ourselves. We can be quite noisy as we do not meet up very often.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Serendipity10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi there,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal at the White Hart Hotel. The 2 for £10 menu is certainly fantastic value and is available all day Monday to Saturday. We don't mind noisy gatherings, it's the sign of a good night out, but I'm glad that you liked the area that we had laid out for you. I will be thrilled to tell Kai that he has been mentioned on Trip Advisor!

We hope to see you again very soon.
Kindest Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel and very quirky given its 700 year old building. If you are into your Uber Cool hotel setting then this is not for you. We had 3 rooms and all were very different. Like previous reviews there is an older block which is quite difficult if you are older as there are lots of steps. The newer block is more modern with lifts.
The whole building is steeped in history and most is listed and apparently has a resident ghost! Most of the building creeks as you walk along.But we were fascinated by the history. The receptionist was very passionate about the building giving us lots of stories.
The rooms are very modern but again very different and location cannot be beaten as right in the city center. One of our rooms was unfortunately facing the high street which can get load but was moved on the second night. Next time we will request quiet. This is a budget hotel though and prices are very reasonable and on the night was the cheapest hotel in the center.
The pub next door didn't let us down as it is very Olde Worlde. Feeling like a good old fashioned Devon Pub selling some lovelly Real Ales and traditional pub grub. We were pleasantly suprised to get 20% off of our food in the pub if your staying in the Inn, Great! Nothing protentiuous or cool about this place, exactly why we love it. A building full of character.
Julie on reception was very nice and helped us with no trouble.
We will return for our family gathering next year!

Room Tip: Choose the newer section for an easier to get too room. The older rooms are fantastic but a lot of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantonap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had two nights at the White Hart in April 2014 with partner - but was very disappointed with the room. We were at the front of the hotel which was not at all peaceful - woken each morning by street cleaner. The room was airless, hot and stuffy: and not clean either.
On the positive side the location was good and breakfast excellent but would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £58 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. (THE HOTEL CARPARK DOES NOT EXCEPT LWB Vans, Large vehicles, Campers & large commercial vehicles. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing