We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passable city centre crash pad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
244 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Passable city centre crash pad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

As a previous Exeter resident returning for a wedding, I was looking for a reasonably priced crash pad for a Saturday night. The White Hart's main positives are its city centre location (all sights within easy walking distance) and the fact that the building compromises a charming old pub.

The room itself was dated, with peeling wallpaper and an old carpet. Our room was in a separate building from the old pub, and this area is showing its age. Tatty and in need of a refit. The room was reasonably clean though and the bathroom of an ok standard. Breakfast was average but worth having as it is included in the price.

I would say this place offers reasonable value for an overnight stay but don't expect a modern hotel. If I was staying in Exeter for a weekend or longer I would choose alternative accommodation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitten_by_the_bug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We have discussed your review and we are disappointed we didn't get the opportunity to rectify any problems you had with your room. All rooms were new 3 years ago and are constantly maintained with reported errors rectified immediately.
Our hotel is charming and old and most is listed. It certainly isn't modern (Except for the bedrooms) and we are part of 'historical places of interest' and World Heritage.
With that said we have often the best priced rooms in the City Centre and we are looking to offer our guests a great value stay.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    362
    100
    27
    37
See reviews for
108
393
68
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Can't really fault this hotel nice comfy rooms ,very good staff and the breakfast was excellent ,free large car park for residents .really hot in rooms but the staff soon rallied round and got us a fan,also free wifi . Nice bar (was a bit expensive )but guest do get 20%off food bills !I would stay here again as reasonably priced Central location and friendly staff

Room Tip: My husband started off in single room then I joined him later in week and transferred to double ,bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Debby,

Thank you for your feedback. We have the majority of the time the best priced hotel rooms in the City Centre. Which we believe is great value. Its good to see you used our great 20% off of the pub menu.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed for weekend social event recently. Location just perfect..... just few minutes walk one way down to Quay and canal path, few minutes other way into Cathedral Yard and Town Centre. Allowed parking concession adjacent to hotel, which is great.

Wonderful olde worlde atmosphere with bars serving real ales and decent food menu, also old courtyard and secret garden. My room (single) was great, overlooked bar garden outside, and again full of character.
Weather was unbearably hot at night and didn't sleep well, but not the hotel's fault! All staff very attentive and to be congratulated on customer service/attitude. Breakfast good.

Do feel whole accommodation bit is in need of upgrade though, things like aircon and new fittings/fixtures would add so much to this place. The breakfast room in particular was very dated, and room plumbing made some interesting noises when using shower!

Room Tip: Probably best not to overlook bar garden in hot weather, as had to have windows wide open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenbouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Steven,

Thankyou for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Yes we are very central just a few minutes walk to the Quay, Cathedral, City shopping, Museum and of course nightlife. The building is mostly 14th Century so is very quirky and the Food areas are still in the traditional 'Ale & Porthouse' format. So all very old and full of character. The breakfast room as noted is very dated (100yrs) but is very popular with our Heritage Guests as we are classed as a 'Historical Place of Interest' and all areas tell a story!

The rooms themselves were refurbished 3 years ago. Unfortunately maintenance is constant due to age of building but we fix anything immediately reported.

Thankyou for your kind comments about the team and hope that you visit us again in the future.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We - like thousands of others - attended our daughter's graduation at Exeter University. It started at 9 am so we chose to stay overnight, at the White Hart.

Great welcome from the receptionist. The room on the top guest floor was a little tired and had no air conditioning. One of the problems with hotels in England is that the cost of installing air conditioning often outweighs the perceived need. On a hot night like ours there is a definite need! It turned out that the receptionist should have told us about the fan in the wardrobe! The bathroom was fine with a powerful shower over the bath.

There are lots of places to eat in Exeter and we left before breakfast so we can't comment on the food in the hotel.

The White Hart is in a good location for the centre of the city - just a couple of minutes walk to the Cathedral and all the shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wichenford V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Wichenford V,

Thankyou for taking time to give us feedback. The team and I pride ourselves on our guests enjoying there stay.
Graduation week is a big week in Exeter and this year with a heatwave. We hope you enjoyed your time. I am sorry you felt so hot but as pointed out Air Con is not very common due to the very brief period needed and costs involved. The only rooms in Exeter with Air Con are At least double our rates. We do keep extra fans though and give out if asked or the manager would resolve.
We are sorry you didn't get time to try our very reasonable menus or fine real Ales. But we hope you will use us again when in Exeter and perhaps will be cooler.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on a sunday evening in preparation for a ballet exam the following morning. I found this hotel by "googling" the street we had to get to for the exam and this hotel was the nearest. On arrival we were welcomed by a fantastic lady on reception who gave us a map and explained exactly where we needed to go. Our room was lovely and clean with tea making facilities, comfy bed, TV and spotlessly clean bathroom. Free wi-fi. We went downstairs for our evening meal and had a lovely meal in the old bar area. Breakfast was in a small dining room where cooked food was made to order. Cold buffet also set out. I left my car in the car par from sunday afternoon to monday afternoon free of charge while I shopped in the main shopping area which was one street away from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again when we come to this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWilliams951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello there,

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at the White Hart Hotel. I am glad you found the bedroom to be clean and comfortable and that the Receptionist was so helpful.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the bar and at breakfast.

The location is certainly perfect for those who wish to do a spot of shopping and the free use of the car park means that you don't have to rush off in the morning.

We hope you can come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel in Exeter twice while touring the Devon and Cornwall area. The hotel is very comfortable. Average size rooms at a very reasonable price. The main item that interested me was their restaurant and pub. The pub is very traditional and has a wonderful outside "Secret Garden". The food in the restaurant is good, especially their breakfast. The staff is very attentive and have a great sense of humor. If you are looking for a stopover for a night or two, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the parking lot, not the side street. We had both. The room facing the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am so pleased to hear that your recent stay at the White Hart was enjoyable. The Secret Garden is a little gem in the Summer. A real suntrap and perfect for a quiet drink!

I shall certainly pass on your lovely review to the staff. They are always a cheery bunch!

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent Three Nights at the White Hart Hotel for our Wedding Anniversary Celebrations and what a Cracking All Rounder. Location, Food - Breakfast and Restaurant - Service, Room and Parking were all excellent. Everything you could wish for and a little bit more. If you are looking for a traditional stay in a Hotel that has History and a Quaint Feel as well as the above then this one ticks all the boxes and the Cost is great Value For Money to top it off.

Room Tip: Old Part of the Hotel is Quaint with the History whilst the Newer Addition is more functional and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianngog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello there,

I am delighted to hear that your recent visit to the White Hart Hotel was an enjoyable one. I am pleased to hear that the location, staff, food and room were all to your liking.

Many congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing