We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the White Hart for 2 nights found it ideal tidy rooms good food free car parking and right in the centre of Exeter within the city walls.A quaint old inn lots of small rooms and plenty of atmosphere would stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Brenav,

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    355
    96
    27
    34
See reviews for
105
378
68
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

stayed here for one night Aug 2014 - new part of hotel. Room clean, nice bathroom and good beds. The pub itself is a fantastic old place, all nooks and crannies and divided by a central cobbled courtyard. Fascinating place that has not been modernised to death. Good range of beers and food adequate ( made more attractive by 20% off if you have a room).Short walk of few minutes to charming cathedral square and only a few more minutes to the old docks in midst of regeneration to café society. breakfast was good. parking a doddle as on site at rear. all round we were very glad to have stayed here, a place with character rather than an anodyne premiere travel splodge. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Keith,

Thank you for taking time to review us. The White Hart is a very old building and most is listed. It has plenty of character and is a very big sprawling building. The White Hart is not a new modern hotel and neither should it be. Steeped in history with lots of stories to tell!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely old coaching inn very close to the cathedral in Exeter. The food is very nicely presented and also tastes good which is a good plus point. (You also get 10% off food if you stay at the hotel.). I wouldn't bother with the upgraded room as the standard rooms are off a decent enough quality to not warrant the extra price for the four poster room although that is a nice room in itself (just need a spruce or two).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Kelvin,

Thankyou for your positive review. We do offer a fantastic location at a great Value price.The offer of 20% off of our main food menu is a great value offer we are pleased you used.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've been staying here with years, the first time with family and then in later years with friends or even alone. It's great value for money, free parking and atmosphere oozing out of the walls. The rooms in the new block are a bit dull but I ask for, and so far have always got, a room in the old part. It can be noisy but the atmosphere of an old coaching inn is worth it in my opinion. Only a short walk from Exeter City centre with it's restaurants, bars & shops it's a great place for a weekend away.

Room Tip: If you want atmosphere ask for the old part, if you want peace ask for a high floor in the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Jane,

First and foremost its fantastic that you are a regular guest. Value for money is our goal. We are very different from the other City Centre hotels and we believe the whole offer of parking and breakfast included in an unbeatable price is what sets us apart.

Our rooms are all very different due to the nature of the building and we are glad to see you book direct with us, giving us the opportunity to help you book what is right for you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks.
Carl Pearcey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip: we had a four poster room which was nice - old beams on ceiling etc. - but really could have done with a little more attention by the housekeeping staff. The bathroom wasn't the standard you'd expect adjoining a four poster room, and the windows were filthy. When we arrived we found the door to our room propped open with the dirty linen that had just been changed, as the cleaner had apparently wandered off and forgotten to finish what they were doing. This stayed in the corridor and wasn't collected until we alerted someone on reception.

The staff in general, though, were brilliant - very friendly and keen to help, right from the reception staff to the bar staff. We ate in the inn one night and, although the menu looks like your average standard pub fare, the food was good. Really lovely inn to sit in for a drink of an evening, and quiet (though we were there mid-week). Would be perfect with a little more attention to detail regarding room cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello there,

I am thrilled to hear that the staff looked after you so well during your recent visit to the White Hart Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that the Reception Team rectified the Housekeeping oversight straight away. We appreciate all feedback that is given and take everything on board. Without this, we cannot improve the service we offer our guests.

I am also glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar area and enjoyed your meal. The character of the building is truly an asset.

We hope to welcome you back to the White Hart Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights because it was the cheapest place in striking distance of Sidmouth, for the folk festival there.

So we weren't looking for much - but we got a hotel with very friendly staff, comfortable, good-sized rooms, reasonable speed free wifi, free parking, and a good breakfast included in the price. We also found that it was very central, close to the cathedral and shops.

A happy finding for us!

Room Tip: Ermm... Our room was at the back, possibly quieter - especially as there's no air conditioning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermbenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello there!

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit to the White Hart Hotel. I am pleased that you found the room comfortable, the staff friendly and the facilities convenient.

I hope you enjoyed the Folk Festival! It's always a great event to attend!

We hope to see you again for next years festival!

Kindest Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is located close to the cathedral and Quay ares of Eexter and the location is one of its trong points, it remains a proper Inn style hotel with a quality pub style atmosphere to the bars and a maze to find your way back to you room. All the dark oak and woodchip walls can make it feel a bit dated but then it's history is part of the charm.

Choose it if you want a bit of character rather than an out of the box style flat pack standard big chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3mins-at-5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello there,

Many thanks for your lovely review on the hotel. The location really is ideal if it's a city break you are looking for. The free parking for hotel guests makes it even more convenient.

The original parts of the hotel date back to the late 14th early 15th Century and I am delighted that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of the White Hart Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best Regards
Paula Taylor
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing