We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW for fish dishes”
Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Ranked #125 of 524 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Halfway Inn, runs a tradition pub lunch menu, with a Gastro A La Carte menu for evenings, both menus specialize in Seafood with fresh daily deliveries, all our desserts are home made, even the ice cream.You will be sure to receive a warm welcome, with every member of staff ready to make your experience comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons.Thank you for taking the time to visit or write a review on Trip Advisor.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW for fish dishes”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Called in on the way home from Donkey Sanctuary,our first visit her but not last.
At first glance it seems pricey but the standard of the food justifys the price.
I had Skate wing in lemon caper butter & my sister had trio of seafood both off the specials board. Both these dishes were beautifully cooked & presented & the flavours all blended nicely.Mum had steak & ale pie with mash, she was more than happy with it especially the mash. The staff were friendly & attentative.
Desserts good although the icecream was a slight let down.
Will be going again thats for sure.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanval100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    100
    47
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

when we fist sat down and looked at the menu we thought it was a bit pricey. however when the food arrived you knew why. it was cooked to perfection and there was more than enough to eat even for my son- in-law who has a bottomless pit for a stomach. i have never had meat in a pub before that hasn't been overcooked but here it was cooked to just the point where every flavour is just right. the staff were superb. they were friendly and so helpful. they made us feel we were their most important customers. we came three times in one week because we knew we would be eating real food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“two poor experiences”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our first visit, the meat dishes were undercooked (the pork dangerously so) and were served less than warm. The manager rebated the cost of the pork dishes and gave us a £20 voucher. On our next visit, the waitress (who was either overworked or a dreamer) forgot to pass our order to the kitchen and we eventually ate almost an hour after ordering. The manager gave us a 20% discount off the food. Some credit has to be given for dealing with the complaints (although some complimentary snack should have been given once he knew we were hungry/unhappy and still had 20 or more minutes to wait). They should have noticed much sooner that all was not well. There won't be a third visit!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JsidJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Well this is the place to go!
Not only friendly staff - the food was absolutely delicious :)
Make sure you book the seat by the window into the kitchen where you can see all of the chefs cooking. The mash potato was so creamy and had a great taste. I have to mention the CHUNKY CHIPS, unique and tasty.
So overall this is a fabulous restaurant and ignore the bad reviews because they are mostly fussy eaters!
Quick tip, if you are fussy then do not go there..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyLouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A nice change from usual pub grub”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Halfway Inn is a pub which has a slightly forbidding, greyish exterior but inside it's cosy and warm - well, we were seated close to the fire which suited me as the weather was particularly chilly for July. The beers were well kept and the staff efficient and friendly. As a confirmed piscivore (that's fish to you) I was pleased to find John Dory on the menu, a local favourite which doesn't get up into the culinary desert that is west Bedfordshire where I live. It was the whole fish on the bone, simply pan fried and delicious, though dorys have a huge head which might be a bit off-putting for the uninitiated. At around £17 for a main course and £6 for puds it falls into my reasonable, rather than terrific value for money bracket but after teas, coffees and liqueur we left in considerably better form than we arrived. Portions were fine for us and nothing went back to the kitchen. Not a really a gastropub but competant and a cut above the average.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Falconette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing