We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of two meals taken at the Halfway Inn Exeter”
Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Ranked #107 of 536 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Halfway Inn, runs a tradition pub lunch menu, with a Gastro A La Carte menu for evenings, both menus specialize in Seafood with fresh daily deliveries, all our desserts are home made, even the ice cream.You will be sure to receive a warm welcome, with every member of staff ready to make your experience comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons.Thank you for taking the time to visit or write a review on Trip Advisor.
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Regular visitors to the region which is not renowned for good eating experiences we were attracted by an advert in the local paper and thought we would give the restaurant a try with a view to adding it to our approved venues.
Day one ( Aug 2nd ) was a lunchtime visit and we chose scallops and the Rossini Steak. The Scallops were first class but the Steak was cooked to our requirements but quite tasteless and it was not helped by the tasteless bread and pate foundation.Whilst we were disappointed we thought that we would give the restaurant a second chance and booked Dinner for the 12th August. We both had the Whitebait as a starter and found that tasteless and not in fact crispy as advertised. For the main meal I tried the Mussels which were very tasty although seven would not open and were discarded ( why did the chef not reject them?) The meal was somewhat spoilt by presentation I was given a tiny dish to take the discarded shells a very tiny finger bowl and a single napkin. My wife chose the fish pie that was mostly tasteless mashed potato,and the cheese topping was barely noticeable. She drew the waiters attention to her dissatisfaction with the dish and he thanked her for her comments and said that he would advise the chef. In spite of the fact that she left the major part of the meal she was not offered a reduction in price or free sweet as compensation.
A further disappointment for us was that we had expected to order the Seafood Platter but was told that it had to be pre ordered, we were not advised our long in advance of the visit a pre order was required.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calidad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for writing a review and we apologise for the bad experience you had visiting The Halfway Inn. The red wine Jus served with the Rossini is usually full of flavour and compliments the dish very well, we can only apologise that this wasn't up to our usual standard. With regards to the whitebait this is a top seller and we never have a problem, again we can only apologise. With regards to the Seafood Platter it does clearly state on the menu that this is a pre-order dish as we don't hold lobster etc in stock.

I hope that you will visit again so that we can prove that we do serve good food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for The Halfway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great food and very friendly and attentive staff. We have had lunch and dinner there, both menus excellent. We shall definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed both your lunch and evening meals and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Four of us visited this restaurant to-day, 4th August 2014 for lunch. What a surprise when we entered, not what we expected from the outside, beautifully decorated and furnished. We were very warmly welcomed and shown to our table. The menu was quite extensive and when the food arrived it was beautiful. A most pleasant time was had by everybody

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ashlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for all your positive comments and hope that you will join us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My girlfriend and I have been here numerous times over the last couple years, both of us are local to the area. In short, we've noticed a gradual decline in standards and cleanliness to the extent where we no longer bother, so as to avoid disappointment. A shame as we used to enjoy the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 696stephenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really disappointed to read your view towards our cleanliness. Our kitchen has a rating of 5 and can be seen through a viewing window with nothing to hide. Our front of house cleaner has not changed in 3 years and always gives 100% every time. With no mention of service or the food and the fact you have been regular to us over the years we can only see this as a positive. We have redecorated the bar and installed a wood burning stove in the last 6 months. We have redecorated the restaurant and fitted new carpets in the last year. With on going works planned for the future we feel we are improving all the time. We have also recently been awarded a Taste of the West Bronze Award. This award looks at food, service, atmosphere and cleanliness. This review is not in keeping with all our previous reviews.

We do hope you can return one day. Please feel free to email us directly with any concerns. Behind every business there are people who care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We found this restaurant on our way home from Broadclyst in Devon. We needed to have dinner before the 5 hour drive home. We found the staff very, very welcoming. We sat in the bar and were quickly served. The food choice was good especially the kids menu. The food came quickly and was to a very high standard. I had the cod, chips and peas. The tartar sauce was homemade, and the chips very obviously not frozen,. My 5 year old daughter had the pasta which she loved. I tried this and the sauce appeared homemade too and was lovely. We all said as we left that we wished we'd found it earlier!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Halfway Inn and hope that we will see you next time you are in Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing