We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we stayed for 2 nights for a friends wedding in Exeter. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We ate in the hotel one evening and had a very nice meal. it's right by Central St.David's train station and a short (approx. 15 minute) walk in to town. There is no hotel parking but you can use the station long stay car park which is just a 5 minute walk away just off the roundabout (about 200yards from the hotel). Don't use the station car park right opposite the hotel as it is much more expensive.

Room Tip: we had a room on the front facing the road but were not disturbed by the road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc241103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids.

It is always great to know that we are doing a good job and your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope to see you again some time in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ben and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    365
    107
    23
    14
See reviews for
304
316
105
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and stayed in the Premier Inn, opposite Exeter St Davids station in September 2013.

The hotel is a very good example of Premier Inns, clean and quiet. The rooms are a good size, and very clean. Unlike some reviewers, I tend not to notice the corridors, but the bar is also clean, with plenty of seats. The restaurant is fine with a good menu and reasonable prices, although the chef did seem to have a problem deciding when a steak is rare, medium or well done. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

The location is excellent, right opposite the station. There are a couple of nearby bars, and the Great Western serves very good food, and several excellent real ales.
Trains are frequent to Exeter Central, 5 minute journey for £1 return. This gives you the good option of staying somewhere quieter, but only 10 minutes away from the attractions, cathedral and quayside bars etc.

Very good stay, and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived from the Premier Inn Hayle Cornwall after an excellent 5 night stay. Decided to break journey in Exeter with a one night stay. Very disappointing. Parking overnight opposite in the station area was £9.50. Room was smelled of stale urine from the toilet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for one night last week (sunday),,as a stopover on our way to cornwall. It was Cheap and we've stayed at many premier inns before. We were welcomed by a very friendly male receptionist who gave us the card to room 235.
ON entering this room the smell of urine made me shudder, but when I opened the bathroom door...OMG..was like being in a very old male urinal. Without actually being physically sick..I informed hubby that there was 'no-way' I could stop in this room. We went back down to the reception (as the phone in the room wasn't working,) to be met by a rather surly male staff member. We explained the problem and without so much of an apology...relocated us to another room at the front of the hotel. This room was acceptable but put a damper on the start to our holiday as we were both exhausted and could have done without it.
We did have a descent nights sleep as the road and the railway can't be heard from the room due to double glazing. We didn't have the breakfast as the wetherspoon's is round the corner and up the hill...quite an impressive wethers actually..average breakfast but you get what you pay for.
Have stayed at the Mercure on previous occasions and I wished we'd forked out that bit extra to be closer to the cathedral. and the nicer restaurants..ah well..Premier inn have got a gem in the first young man.(dark hair and glasses) and the second member of staff should learn to smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggiebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

They get even better, our one night stay at this fairly new Premier Inn, was as expected, faultless.
The rooms were spotless, and even had air conditioning. The beds probable the most comfortable on offer at any hotel regardless of price, ensure a most relaxing sleep. Car parking is a problem (£9.90 overnight at the station car park) but there are a few on road spaces which are free from 6pm to 9am, we were lucky and found a space. The restaurant is adequate, good hot food (my wife said the chicken curry was one of the best she had ever had). Overall great value and quality accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Took up offer of cheap stays by E-Mail and decided on 3 day break in Exeter by Rail.The Hotel is right opposite the Railway Station so within minutes of getting off the train we were in our room.The Staff were all very helpful and polite at all times. The room at the front overlooked the Station but was no problem at night as the Double glazing blocked all noise.The room was like all Premier Inns we have stayed in comfortable clean and every thing you need for a few days stay.Well done Exeter Premier you were Great!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint paul, minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Premier Hotel after an overnight flight from the U.S., followed by a train trip from London to Exeter. The hotel is conveniently located just across the street from St. Davids' RR Station. It's part of a large chain and could have been institutional and bleak but was quite pleasant: well designed and managed, comfortable room, decent restaurant on site, modestly priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansaintpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing