We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stay at Premier Inns a lot. Some find the corporate image of the rooms and the lack of what some people would consider the personal touch off putting, we find it reassuring, particularly when you have children in tow. You get a guaranteed standard always at a good price. I was unable to get a breakfast included rate here which we usually go for - I am not sure if this is specific to this hotel or just wasn't available on the night we stayed.

We stayed for one night whilst in Devon. The hotel is situation opposite St Davids railway station, about a 20 minute walk from the city centre. The hotel was comfortable to the usual Premier Inn standard. Rooms were well maintained. We had a family room, which we have found in the chain can mean a nice large room with 2 extra beds, or a standard double with 2 extra beds squeezed in - this was the latter but suitable for our needs, although if we'd been staying for more than 1 night things would have been tight. View was of the neighbouring building but despite being near the train station and on a reasonably busy road there was no noise disturbance.

Service was pleasant and professional if lacking the warmth of other hotels we've stayed in. Breakfast was to the usual high standard.

As other people have commented the biggest draw back to the hotel is the lack of car parking. They provide good advance information of where you can park locally but all of this is payable so you should be aware of this. We parked directly opposite the hotel in the train station car park which, during the weekend, was a reasonable £6.90 but free parking would obviously be a better bet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majorstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    347
    102
    22
    14
See reviews for
294
293
99
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Could not fault our overnight stay in this hotel. Room clean, contemporary and fresh. Amazingly quiet seeing it was a Saturday night and the hotel was full! Staff all friendly and helpful, Kim especially a delight on the desk. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and also in the morning. Food reasonably priced, and what a wonderful breakfast including beautiful bowls of berries, and another homemade fruit salad, plus coffee options of latte/cappaccino/americano and the usual cooked breakfast options. We really were delighted with this hotel, which was very reasonable considering the quality of what we had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to here that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids.

We hope to be welcoming you back soon

Many thanks

Ben and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have come to expect a good standard for the price from Premier Inns and this did not disappoint. Service, room, comfort all good. I had booked the package which included evening meal and breakfast which is good value and although breakfast was again the ample fare expected of the Premier Inns formula the evening meal was adequate but the menu a bit limited. Location is opposite the main railway station from where an hourly bus service serves Exeter airport so no problems with my luggage but it's a 15 minute mainly uphill walk into the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids.
It is always good to know that we are doing a good job and our guests have enjoyed their stay.
We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Ben and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for one night and my room was very clean and spacious, when i checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful including the night staff. Even though the hotel is right next to a busy train station there were no noise disturbances and my room was overlooking the road so i was pleasantly surprised by this. The sheets were clean, bed was comfy with plenty of pillows and the room was lovely and warm. I wasn't expecting much as i only paid £29 for the room so i was very impressed. And more importantly i slept really well! As i was a lone female checking in the staff were very discreet when giving me my room number as the reception was quite busy with lots of other people checking in. Overall i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSEANNE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids.
Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and its good to see that we are doing a good job. All the team really appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Many thanks

Ben and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn St. David's in Exeter, right across from the train station. Very comfortable and good value. Excellent breakfast but not included in overnight price. Rooms and baths were clean and location was within easy walking distance - 10 min. - of the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello,

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We do try and operate at a high standard here at Premier Inn and it is good to see that we are achieving it. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness of your room and bathroom.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Many thanks,

Ben and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was there in Devon only for 2 days and i booked the hotel which was closest to the St. Davis Station. I reached Exeter at 6:30 and checked -in my Room number 309 was allocated to me and the moment i opened the room i immediately realized this night i am going to remember for rest of my life. I settled myself in the allocated room and at 7:30 PM when i heard the sound of Footsteps in my room first time, initially i ignored it and thought someone would be in the corridor as hotel was completely occupied.

Again at 9:30 i heard the same sound this time with the sound of door handle, i was really scared.The sound was so loud and felt that someone has just crossed my room because if someone would have been in the corridor the sound would not have been so loud and some other sounds made my doubt more clear.

I woke up at 2:30 as i could catch a sleep for good 5 hours but the thought of spooky sound in my room was not letting me get a nice sleep. So i turned the TV on but after an hour near about 3:30 AM i heard the same sound again but this time my AC turned on automatically and temperature started to rise. I couldn't sleep thereafter and very first thing in a morning was to change the hotel room.

Staff was quite supporting and smiling on my last night experience as they have never had heard the complain before.. Finally i managed to get the new room which was on ground floor and that night finally had a good sleep.

you all might be thinking its a story but it is not.. :) enjoy the devon and be safe

Room Tip: Avoid Room number 309 ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Only stayed here to get some kip, as me and a mate went to see a gig at Exeter University. Got back a little bit tipsy and realised my quilt cover had dried blood stains (and other stains) on it. Didn't complain, just turned it around so it was near my feet rather than my head. Left it a couple of days to sober up and complain. I took some photo's as evidence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing