We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here on a Friday night in February. My first visit to Exeter and to this hotel. Staff were very, very friendly and most helpful. Room was airy and very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Kathy

Thank you for you comment regarding your recent stay with us, It is also nice to receive comments regarding my friendly staff and rooms

We hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We are regular users of Premier Inn, we like their modern, clean and comfortable hotels and the link they have either to their own restaurant or a next door pub. This weekend we decided to take an extended family group of 13 to Exeter to watch the Portsmouth v Exeter football match.

On arrival we were greeted by a young lady who had a huge smile and quite simply could not have been more helpful during our checking in process, even managing to have a bed immediately made up for a late entrant to our booking. After our long journey a drink was in order and the restaurant and bar was being manned by Simon, who is a very impressive young man who was not only helpful when asked but also proactively helpful. Having spent time explaining our best options for a pre-match drink the following day, he returned with a map that he had printed and showed us where we might go. For the next few hours he fully engaged with all members of our group, and made us feel so welcome that we stayed for the rest of the evening, enjoying good food, including a 16oz burger and chocolate brownie which was absolutely devoured by one of our group.

On Saturday am, we arrived at breakfast to find that a table had been laid for us to sit together and that once again Simon was there to look after us, making sure that everything was to our liking. But it wasn't just us, Simon was all over the restaurant making sure all the guests were enjoying their breakfast.

After the match, mostly due to our experience the previous evening, we decided to return straight to the hotel and spend the evening there. Another extremely pleasant young man named Patrick was now working and again made us feel so relaxed, comfortable and valued as customers, that puts hotels that we have stayed in, many times more expensive, in the shadows. At this point I would like to say that I hope his house move goes well next weekend!

In another example of the proactive helpfulness of the staff, we asked if they had any playing cards, which unfortunately they didn't, but 20mins later the female duty manager (whose name I have unfortunately forgotten) returned with a number of packs of cards and some sweets for the children that were with us. It later transpired that she had gone to 5 shops looking for the playing cards!

Check out this morning was typical painless and the girls on reception dealt with us quickly and efficiently before wishing us all a safe journey home. Our stay was memorable for lots of reasons but will mostly be remember for the professional, friendly and charming people that looked after us! We are already planning a return visit, but in the meantime wish everyone at the hotel all the very best, thank them for our perfect stay, and suggest the Premier Inn Group should short list them for "the Most Friendly Hotel" award.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Steve

Wow! What a fantastic review, I personally remember you all as I was the one who purchased the playing cards and sweets, I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us, its so nice to hear that all my staff where friendly, proactive and helpful especially Simon and Patrick that really looked after your party so well and my lovely reception team.

We are so happy that you are already planning your return visit with us and we all look forward in welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having stayed three nights at Exeter St Davids (4,5,6 Feb 2014) I would reccommend this Premiere Inn to enyone visiting Exeter . The staff awere so helpfull and pleasent - allways chating to youy and but not in an intrusive way .
Also noticed that seating arrangements were carefully selected in the restaurant for families , women (or men ) by themselves and business groups .

well done everyone

C and MJ Jones , Beddgelert North Wales

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your super review - and I’m delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Premier Inn Exeter St Davids, It is such a pleasure to hear my staff where helpfull and pleasent

We'd love to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had a very good night at the Premier Inn. I used the dining room which lacked professionalism and attention to detail. Other wise it was very good. The staff were generally eager to ensure the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to post, We are delighted you had a great night sleep here with us, also like to thank you for the feedback about the restaurant, I will be looking in to this regarding the attention to detail and professionalism and feedback to the Food and Beverage Manager to look at some improvements

I look forward in welcoming you back in the near future with a more Professional touch

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

service from staff was excellent, we were attending my dads funeral. staff were friendly and understanding, went out of their way to make things as easy as possible for us. we chose this hotel as it was close to funeral .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Janice

We remember you! Thank you for your super review, - and I’m delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Premier Inn Exeter St Davids, Even though it was for such a sad occasion

It is such a pleasure to hear my staff where excellent; we hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed last Saturday and arrived quite late. Sat down in the restaurant just after 9.00pm
Started well with good service from the waitress who seemed to be the only person doing anything, other staff were looking to her for guidance.
I know the restaurant closes at 10.00pm but usually that means you don't take any new customers. On this occasion the deadline arrived while we were eating our main course. We found ourselves sat with the dirty plates and completely ignored for quite some time. I eventually went to the bar and after a long wait spoke to the only person serving who informed me that the waitress's shift finished at 10.00pm and she had been allowed to go. So that was it end of service for its remaining customers, no explanation, nothing. Service to rival a fictional establishment in Torquay.
I think the management need to be reminded that they are in a service industry. it felt like minimum service to satisfy a balance sheet at the expense of the customer. I was a bit surprised as I would normally pick a Premier Inn and normally enjoy great service but not on this occasion

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This Premier Inn was great. Their English breakfast is great value for money and delicious. We stayed in a double ensuite room. The location was ok, but you have to walk a fair way to reach central Exeter. The bed was warm and comfy and facilities were excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrissieMitzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Chrissie

Thank you for your review and taking time to post. It's always good to have feedback from our guest’s experience, from all my team we look forward welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
4.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
547 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £43 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing