We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed one night to attend an event with a friend who also stayed at this hotel. I'd chosen this hotel because of previous good experience with Premier Inn elsewhere and the fact that, as we were travelling by train, this hotel is very close to Exeter St Davids station. We'd opted for the "meal deal" for dinner and breakfast at the time of making the booking. Room quality was excellent bearing in mind the price. The meal deal proved to be great value. The service was excellent, with staff leaving one feeling that they cared about their guests and were happy to do that little bit more. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMCHarrow_Middlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear GMC Harrow

Thank you for your suberb review on your experience with us here Premier Inn St Davids, We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic vaule meal deal and felt the service was excellent,

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near furture

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have resisted giving a review for this Premier Inn as I don't want everyone to find it but it is great. Excellent value, really nice staff and good location. Once had a problem with noise but was transferred to another room immediately.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireyummyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review ".First Class" It was a pleasure I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our facilities to the full Guaranteed relaxation. We'd love to welcome you back on many escapes in future

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A good, clean hotel with a nice restaurant. The 'meal deal' dinner and breakfast was superb and great value.

This hotel does not have car park, so one has to park in the one of the railway station car parks which can add to the cost - the outermost of the three is the cheapest.

Rooms are nice (would personally like slightly more give in the mattress, but this is personal), everywhere is clean and staff take the trouble to be really helpful, in particular regarding left luggage when the check-in time was not convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Gabrielle

Thank you for your review and taking time to post. It's always good to have feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us a felt our great Mel deal offer was value for money.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here on a Friday night in February. My first visit to Exeter and to this hotel. Staff were very, very friendly and most helpful. Room was airy and very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Kathy

Thank you for you comment regarding your recent stay with us, It is also nice to receive comments regarding my friendly staff and rooms

We hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We are regular users of Premier Inn, we like their modern, clean and comfortable hotels and the link they have either to their own restaurant or a next door pub. This weekend we decided to take an extended family group of 13 to Exeter to watch the Portsmouth v Exeter football match.

On arrival we were greeted by a young lady who had a huge smile and quite simply could not have been more helpful during our checking in process, even managing to have a bed immediately made up for a late entrant to our booking. After our long journey a drink was in order and the restaurant and bar was being manned by Simon, who is a very impressive young man who was not only helpful when asked but also proactively helpful. Having spent time explaining our best options for a pre-match drink the following day, he returned with a map that he had printed and showed us where we might go. For the next few hours he fully engaged with all members of our group, and made us feel so welcome that we stayed for the rest of the evening, enjoying good food, including a 16oz burger and chocolate brownie which was absolutely devoured by one of our group.

On Saturday am, we arrived at breakfast to find that a table had been laid for us to sit together and that once again Simon was there to look after us, making sure that everything was to our liking. But it wasn't just us, Simon was all over the restaurant making sure all the guests were enjoying their breakfast.

After the match, mostly due to our experience the previous evening, we decided to return straight to the hotel and spend the evening there. Another extremely pleasant young man named Patrick was now working and again made us feel so relaxed, comfortable and valued as customers, that puts hotels that we have stayed in, many times more expensive, in the shadows. At this point I would like to say that I hope his house move goes well next weekend!

In another example of the proactive helpfulness of the staff, we asked if they had any playing cards, which unfortunately they didn't, but 20mins later the female duty manager (whose name I have unfortunately forgotten) returned with a number of packs of cards and some sweets for the children that were with us. It later transpired that she had gone to 5 shops looking for the playing cards!

Check out this morning was typical painless and the girls on reception dealt with us quickly and efficiently before wishing us all a safe journey home. Our stay was memorable for lots of reasons but will mostly be remember for the professional, friendly and charming people that looked after us! We are already planning a return visit, but in the meantime wish everyone at the hotel all the very best, thank them for our perfect stay, and suggest the Premier Inn Group should short list them for "the Most Friendly Hotel" award.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Steve

Wow! What a fantastic review, I personally remember you all as I was the one who purchased the playing cards and sweets, I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us, its so nice to hear that all my staff where friendly, proactive and helpful especially Simon and Patrick that really looked after your party so well and my lovely reception team.

We are so happy that you are already planning your return visit with us and we all look forward in welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having stayed three nights at Exeter St Davids (4,5,6 Feb 2014) I would reccommend this Premiere Inn to enyone visiting Exeter . The staff awere so helpfull and pleasent - allways chating to youy and but not in an intrusive way .
Also noticed that seating arrangements were carefully selected in the restaurant for families , women (or men ) by themselves and business groups .

well done everyone

C and MJ Jones , Beddgelert North Wales

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your super review - and I’m delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Premier Inn Exeter St Davids, It is such a pleasure to hear my staff where helpfull and pleasent

We'd love to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had a very good night at the Premier Inn. I used the dining room which lacked professionalism and attention to detail. Other wise it was very good. The staff were generally eager to ensure the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterCentral, General Manager at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to post, We are delighted you had a great night sleep here with us, also like to thank you for the feedback about the restaurant, I will be looking in to this regarding the attention to detail and professionalism and feedback to the Food and Beverage Manager to look at some improvements

I look forward in welcoming you back in the near future with a more Professional touch

Kind Regards

Kylie Monsees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,842 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing