We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Comfortable, affordable and clean. Limited free wifi. Extra cost for parking may be incurred. Friendly, helpful staff. Tried staying in another hotel in Exeter, closer to town. What a mistake! Never again will we stay in another hotel than this one in Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    366
    107
    23
    14
See reviews for
305
318
105
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

In town for a family wedding, we stayed here and later at a B&B. Although the B&B was more aesthetically pleasing, the Premier Inn was much more comfortable, quiet & clean (big plusses for a pregnant lady!). It was conveniently located right across the street from the train station, and the walk into town was pleasant and easy (perhaps a little steep at parts for some) – about 15-20 min. max. No frills, of course, but met our basic needs and I would stay definitely here again. Right now they only offer a half hour of wifi for free, which is a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As always the room and hotel was clean and well designed/stocked. Staff very helpful and informative. Just a note to management- please advertise for special dietary needs, I am gluten free and your staff were great but if I wasn't staying there I wouldnt eat there as you do not state on your menu what is gluten free (and you had more than I thought!).

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gemkev78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

2 night stay. We were given exactly what we had requested: an end of corridor room, at the back, on the top floor. Thank you! We got what it says on the tin: excellent nights' sleeps, at a budget price with a buffet breakfast. 2 very satisfied customers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed a Saturday night with 3 children - family room quiet and clean. Reception staff very friendly and helpful on arrival, and breakfast team similarly very helpful and accommodating. Hotel is conveniently located and there is free on street parking opposite hotel (overnight and until 11am Sunday). Excellent breakfast buffet caters for all tastes and appetites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Exeter St Davids Premier Inn a couple of weeks ago whilst attending a university Open Day with my son. The hotel is immediately opposite Central St Davids train station. Check in was smooth and the receptionist friendly. At check in we were advised, as the hotel was full, to book a table in the restaurant if we wanted to eat dinner there. We asked for a table at 6.30pm. However, when we went to the restaurant in the evening for our meal, they had no record of our reservation. Apparently the receptionist had not passed the information on. Fortunately we arrived early at the restaurant and they were able to fit us in. The food and service in the restaurant was very good. My son had a curry dish and I had a veggie burger. All very fresh and tasty. We had a drink in the bar afterwards. The drink prices are reasonable and the bartender (I believe he was called Chris) was very efficient and friendly.

Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable as usual. It was made up as a twin, this being one double bed and a sofa/single bed. I took the smaller bed and it was extremely comfortable. We had a very good nights sleep experiencing no noise. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style, with lots of choice and of good quality.

The hotel is well situated for visits to the university. It is a very steep walk up to the university however so some may prefer to take a taxi.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely. A comfortable, safe, reasonably priced hotel. The glitch with the dinner reservation was purely and oversight, let's face it, we all forget things sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is very handily situated directly opposite st David's station.
Very popular with business people and it was totally full when I stayed. Rooms, service, value were all good and of the usual high quality I have now come to expect from the premier inn brand.
If I was staying more than 2 nights I would probably not choose this hotel, but for a 1 or 2 nighter this is perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side rooms as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing