We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Demolition required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Demolition required”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Dirty floors towels smell of curry staff can't be bothered breakfast disgusting have to pay £10 to park your car local loud drunks in bar area junkies in the side alley. Stinking kebab van within 50 yards. Looks like the red light district. Never booking this one again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    378
    108
    26
    14
See reviews for
315
325
110
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room for four and had dinner and breakfast here. Food good but staff exceptional. Not often you stay in a chain hotel and find attentive staff to both my husband and I and our children... Had a great time, unexpectedly good!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First ever time using a Premier Inn, won't be my last!!!!! Checked in here after a night in a very poor hotel not expecting much (it was 1/4 the price of the previous nights one!!!) and must admit I was astounded. The girl at reception was great, told me where best to park my car etc., sorted out my early wake up call for next day then it was off to the room......boy oh boy, was I delighted!!!!! It was HUGE, it was a family room for myself and two teens and we had so much space we could wander about quite happily. It was so clean and welcoming, what a treat. Would have easily stayed longer here, fab!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here on route to Cornwall. I drove down with our children and met my wife who travelled by train.
\the hotel is directly opposite Exeter St Davids station which is great if you arrive late at night. Driving is ok , but the only car parking is the station car park which is open and costs nearly £10 for 24 hours which is not ideal.
The hotel is as you would expect for a Premier Inn . Check in was fine, the staff were friendly and helpful . I had pre booked and paid . It was done on my wife;s business account and normally when she travels the hotels have been good at acknowledging she is a corporate client.
Family room was fine, a little hot but that is normal with 4 people and no air con.
Restraunt was fine, reasonable choice. We eat early , however service did seem to go downhill later

Overall fine for an odd night at the right price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisparker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Cleaning in Premeir was poor I had glass in my foot in bathroom and pubic hairs in bath. The hotel itself is handy for the Exeter rail station and few minutes walk and in general is fine. Centre is a 10 min walk. Car parking is not available and parking charges apply and are expensive. Breakfast is good and varied at around £9 per person, but do you really need to eat so much each morning? Reception often unmanned and sign put up

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grazer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed 27th July for a one nights stay. Can't fault the stay. However, after checking bank details two days later, realised that they had charged twice for breakfast! We had already paid two months earlier inclusive of breakfast. Oh well, these things happen? Unfortunately still waiting for money to be returned after phoning Exeter and expecting them to pay back within a few days.
Tried the complaints section on the Premier home page where they state a response within 5 days. After 6 days received a call asking for the last 4 digits of the payment card. Guess what, still waiting for some reason? If you stay here, make sure they don't charge you twice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff efficient and helpful, rooms as always clean and cleaned everyday.
Food in restaurant for breakfast and evening meal very good quality.
Only thing to question is having to use railway station car park over the road.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing