We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at thus hotel over the period 17-19 August. Pew got off to a shaky start as a result of being assigned a room on the ground floor which was rather dated and noisy. I went back to reception to request a room change and was very impressed by the helpfulness of the 2 ladies who were on reception duty that evening. We were assigned a different room on the 2nd floor, which was clean and quiet.

Also good strategic location- appx 100 m from Exeter St David's Stn with great links to the rest of Devon and Cornwall; also a nice 15min walk into Exeter a City Centre itself.

On the whole, a decent budget hotel and I'd definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms if possible. Sound proofing is not the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Comfortable stay in a modern building with good facilities. Ate in the restaurant, which was better than expected. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only downside is having to park in the station across the road, but not too expensive at £5 for 24 hours

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Premier Inn is my first choice of budget hotel because of the comfort of the rooms and the level of service offered by the staff. We chose this hotel because we were travelling by public transport and it was close to the station. Unfortunately when we left the station the rain came down in torrents and within minutes we were soaked. It was 3 hours before we were due to check- in,but the helpful receptionist found us a prepared room so that we could get warm and dry before starting our sight-seeing in the city. The kindness with which we were treated means that Premier will continue to be my preferred option when looking for a hotel for a short stay.
The hotel was quiet with all the facilities we required and we both had an excellent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaletSchoolFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location is pretty good and we had two interconnecting rooms so it was ideal for a family. The breakfast was good each morning, no variation but the standard was good. Parking is in the train station car park across the road and costs a bit. However, we knew this booking the hotel and had factored it in. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were very good. It's about a 15 minute walk to the city centre which was a lot more appealing than moving the car each time. We slept well all three nights so we certainly didn't experience any of the noise some other reviewers have mentioned.

The only real negative was that the reception staff aren't very knowledgeable about the area. While very nice to deal with, the girls at reception were only really there to check you in and out. The self check-in idea is really removing the traditional receptionist from the hotel. We had questions about the leisure centre (about a mile away) and the girls on reception didn't even know it was there. It's not a major thing but you need to have your own homework done before you get there. Overall, it was good value and worked well for us as a family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very good hotel with lovely staff and excellent service. Rooms were very spacious and very comfortable. Could not fault anything and would definitely stay there again. Had a great nights sleep and did not wake once. Overall very impressed and the breakfast was delicious and well worth the money. Very good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindacanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby. The hotel was lovely and clean and room was great. Staff were very professional and friendly. Breakfast was fab! Would definitely recommend. Only downside was that the Premier Inn didn'thave its own car park, howerer there was one across the road.




  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Couldn't sleep at night the room above kept thumping around like elephants. At 6.58 in the morning was woken up to a member of staff crashing laundry bins around outside. You would expect some sort of parking, I know it is stated but to have to pay 9.90 a day is ridiculous. The tv in the room doesn't keep signal so on every channel there is interference. We spent most of the following day from the 1st nights stay catching up on sleep we were so tired. And due to a second night of bad sleep we are going home early. Upon arriving at the hotel me and my newlywed wife wanted a drink and after standing there for 5 mins and no one being there we then had to go and find a member of staff that would actually get us a drink. There is also no lunch time facility as we found out. After breakfast serving there is no food available until 6 in the evening. I have stayed in quite a few premiere inns and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.

Room Tip: Go to a different premiere inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,852 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel

Address: Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 102 bedrooms and is situated just 100 metres from Exeter St David’s train station, there is no parking available but chargeable parking is located nearby. Our Hotel has everything you’d expect - comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. We provide for our guests:· Clean and comfortable rooms · Warm welcome · Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast (£8.25, £5.25)· Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Thyme Restaurant, our restaurant, is located within the hotel, which provides all guests and the community with good food and drink at reasonable prices. Opening Times · Restaurant open 6pm-10pm · With nearly 600 hotels, Premier Inn is the UK’s largest hotel Chain. Premier Inn features: Our Rooms · En-suite bathrooms· · Remote control TV with Freeview· Fogarty pillows and Hypnos mattresses · Air conditioning · Tea and coffee facilities · Heat control · Hairdryers · Spacious desk area. Our Hotel · 102 bedrooms · 24hour reception · Restaurant (Hot breakfast and dinner)· Straightforward pricing (price per room not per person)· WiFi access (charges apply)· Self check in kiosks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing