We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Park Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Park Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire UK
2 reviews
“Excellent and highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I visited Alpine Park Cottages during August 2011 with my 4 year old daughter. The site is well laid out with 11 or 12 cottages around a square lawn area that contains a small park area for young children. For younger kids like my daughter it was ideal and just seconds from the front door. Children can play here in safe well ordered surroundings and can be seen from your front window.

There are no issues with traffic, this is an off road site with a one way system so cars never pass each other. Given the nature and size of the site actual car traffic is simply not a concern.

The site is incredibly well maintained and pleasing to the eye. Dotted around the lawn area are outside wooden tables and benches as well. In addition to the children's play area there is a further area containing crazy golf and some small football nets. The site has a calm ambience and is very quiet and peaceful.

I was met on arrival by Curtis Mynard who was friendly, informative and knows the local area very well and was a great source of information. The owners have also ensured they are always contactable should you need them for anything.

The accommodation I had was the standard cottage with 3 bedrooms and was spotless on arrival, nicely furnished light and airy. It had a modern feel about it and was well equipped. Everything worked as expected. There is digital free to air TV and gas central heating should the great British weather conspire against you. Outside the patio is equipped with furniture for sitting/eating outside. There is a very informative folder pack giving all the information you are likely to need and some other nice touches were the complimentary shopping bag and the tray of milk, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. Towels and linen are provided as well, and there is good storage space for clothes in the bedrooms.

There is a dedicated laundry room as well with washing machines you can use for a small charge and powder is supplied by the site. I didn't use this facility myself but I imagine is up to the excellent standard of the rest of the site. There is also a small recycling area for cans/bottles etc.

All in all I find it difficult to fault, the whole standard of the site really feels top notch and welcoming. My daughter absolutely loved staying here and she made a lot of friends. I would not hesitate to book Alpine Cottages again and hopefully can return there in 2012.

Room Tip: There are different configurations on some of the cottages, so check on your needs before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our second year in a row for visiting Alpine Park. Great friendly owners on site. Fantastic lay-out with all the lodges surrounding the green playing area and park. Can safely watch the children play from the lodge. All children made friends with each other very quickly. Also added bonus of being extremely near to Crealey.
We will most certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our family (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage. We went with friends with 2 kids and who stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage. had Both cottages lots of space and everything we needed. The whole place is perfect for young kids (ours are 9, 6 and 1) and they quickly made lots of new friends. The grounds are really well kept and has a brilliant, big grass play area. They are in a great location only 5 minutes from M5 and only a 10-15 minute drive from lots of great days out and beaches. We've already booked to go back next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAGGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

2 adults, a toddler and a baby stayed in a 6 person premier lodge. it was modern and clean with everything you need to stay self catering. The laundry on site if a decimate bonus! The biggest attraction for us was the play area... Our 3 year old loved getting up and going straight outside to play as you can see it from every lodge! Everywhere we wanted to go was 10-15 mins away... The location is great!! This holiday competes with our usual centre parcs holiday on value, location, convenience and was far more relaxing :-) can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckrodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends & family for a week. Cottage is of a very high standard, comfortably furnished, very clean & has all you need for a weeks self catering. The grounds are gorgeous & it was very safe to let children explore. Would highly recomend & will be going back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyd2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in October 2010 in a 3-bedroomed cottage and had a great holiday. The cottages are very comfortable and well-presented, owners are very helpful, facilities good, safe play for children and all in an excellent location. We were 4 adults a toddler and a baby and although we had enough space when we return in September 2011 we're renting two cottages. Having an extra bathroom will make it perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bathgatebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The cottage was very comfortable. Our cottage had 3 bedrooms an a very nice living area. It was very clean and had a lot of space. Car parking ist in front of the cottage and there is a big play area for children overviewing from oll cottages. Towels and Linen are all included and the kitchen ist well equipted.
We have fun on the beaches of exmouth and sidmouth and in Crealy Park. We also liked Bicton Park, Pecorama and Castle Drogo and Exeter was very fine for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pezepez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
6.5 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Park Cottages

Property: Alpine Park Cottages
Address: Exmouth Road | Nr Aylesbeare, Exeter EX5 2LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Park Cottages is a complex of 11 self catering 'lodge style' brick built holiday cottages set in 5 acres of lightly wooded parkland on the edge of an area of outstanding natural beauty. Situated around delightful grounds with a children's play area, each holiday cottage combines a stylish look with centrally heated comfort to ensure a snug stay, whatever the weather! Ideally located close to city, coast & country. Exeter, Sidmouth & Exmouth are all a 7 mile drive away. Owned and run by the Mynard Family, you are guaranteed of warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Park Cottages Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing