We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Park Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have stayed at Alpine Cottages many times and have always had a great time. The cottages are really clean and modern and the kids like to go out to play on the green plus they like playing the crazy golf! There is always a really friendly atmosphere and Curtis and Sally the owners are always kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAM-IGCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about Alpine Park Cottages; we really do appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you and your family again later in the year.

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

We (family of four with children aged 8 and 6) stayed in a three-bedroom Premier cottage during an unseasonably wet and cold April week!

The photos on their website are an exact reflection of Alpine Park; it really is a green, rural, quiet, spacious and attractive place with far-reaching views from the hill it is on over the valley. There is nothing to see or hear anywhere which detracts from the tranquillity of the place.

It is well-signposted off a main road that runs near it; however despite the proximity of the road there seemed hardly any traffic noise at all and it wasn't noticeable. The road is screened by lots of trees so you don't even see it.

The site, which I believe has eleven cottages, is big with lots of green space. It is perfect for primary school age children due to the large grassy area which the cottages all surround, on which there is play equipment for under 12s. You can easily see your children play there from your cottage. Even sitting on the sofa in ours I could still see them, and if you were there in better weather you would of course be out on the patio area. There is a gravel road that runs round it but this isn't a problem as realistically the few cars that go round it belong to fellow guests so all go very slowly and would see a child running out, and it is all one-way so you know which way cars are coming from. The gravel also ensures you can hear cars coming very easily. Obviously with younger children you would want to be out there to supervise more closely and there are plenty of tables and benches to sit on.

Also great is the crazy golf area up on a hill. This is a short walk away up some steep steps, and you would want to go with your children for this unless they are older than ours, as it is out of sight. The crazy golf is extremely good; far better than many I saw during this trip that you have to pay to use! Nice original ideas for the designs. We would have been up here far more often if not for the weather. There are also football goals up there.

The cottage site makes a great base for visiting many attractions and areas, as due to it being next to a main road, there is easy access Sidmouth way going one way, and Exmouth way going the other. The places we visited that we would recommend are Escot Gardens, Bicton Park Gardens, and the Donkey Sanctuary (reviewed separately). All these were no more than 15 minutes away.

The cottage itself was spotlessly clean, I mean REALLY spotlessly! Everything was fresh and new. Ours was one of the two largest cottages, number 7. When I asked when I phoned to book which of the two we should go for, Curtis advised that if we wanted the clearest view over to the play area, to go for this one, as there is a rhododendron bush blocking the view somewhat from the other. This was great advice. If seeing the play area isn't a priority for you the other would be good too as it stands on the edge of another green area overlooking the valley, so only overlooked on one side.

With regard to being overlooked, certainly in our cottage this wasn't an issue. The cottages are well-spaced from each other and in our case the only overlooking possibility was that if you were washing-up you could vaguely see into one of the twin rooms (only the door, not the beds), and vice versa. However, this simply wasn't remotely a problem.

The amount of wardrobe/chest of drawer space in each room was ideal; the best we have come across in this type of accommodation. There was still room to put away suitcases and bags. Impressive. Six coathangers are allocated per person - however if staying as four you can 'steal' hangers from your children's rooms!

Our row of cottages backed onto a pine wood which I can only describe as being like the illustrations in 'The Gruffalo'! It was lovely. It did make the two back bedrooms dark but this was made up for by the novelty of looking out onto the wood and seeing all the woodland birds and animals. I saw rabbits every day, wrens, firecrests (or were they goldcrests?!) and so on. The cottages at the top seem to back onto a grassy bank, while those at the bottom edge overlook the valley.

Although there are no washing machines in the cottages, I'm proud to say we lasted the week without needing to use the one in the laundry area. At time of writing it costs £3 for a wash and £1 for a 25-min tumble-dry, payable in pound coins, so if you are planning on using this take some with you.

The laundry building doubles-up as an information leaflet point. There were plenty of leaflets, all arranged neatly on the wall, on every attraction in the area you could ever think of visiting, which was really useful. Here too are menus for local eateries to give you an idea.

There is also a very comprehensive information folder in the cottage giving all the details you could need.

In terms of getting food in, this was an area we didn't find so easy, probably because we are 'townsfolk' (spoilt softies!) with an abundance of shops around us at home! The cottage site isn't actually in a proper village, so going to get food does involve an element of planning. There are farm shops in around a five to ten minute drive, but the nearest supermarket seemed to be Waitrose at the top of Sidmouth, which was about 15 minutes away. We are Waitrose fans anyway so this was ideal, but if you want Tesco, Sainsbury's, Lidl or Aldi these would be possible but seemed further away. You can get a delivery of course, but I don't think this would have worked for us as you always need a minimum order price, and we felt the fridge/freezer was actually quite small to stock anywhere near more than a day or two's worth of food so we wouldn't reach that price. So we made daily trips to Waitrose or the farm shop to stock up as we went along. If you are a family who eat out most of the time then it wouldn't be a problem, but we had all our evening meals in. Anyway, the Waitrose itself was in an easy to reach location with lots of parking, and was as good as Waitroses always are!

It is reassuring that Curtis and Sally live on site so are available if you have any queries, though we didn't. It is all so well laid-out and organised. When we handed our key in to leave we gave it to Curtis who was cleaning a cottage further up, and you can see what pride in the place they have as all I could see was cleaning equipment and cloths everywhere!

We also stupidly left a bag behind on our last day - we had literally only just bought some gifts at the Donkey Sanctuary and come home to pack up some final items, and hadn't thought we'd taken the bag out of the car - but we had and had left it outside the cottage. Curtis spotted it as soon as we'd left but it appears we hadn't ever given our mobile number (tip - do this!) We found out when we'd got home when we got his answerphone message. We had also fitted some favourite cuddly toys in the bag so it was essential we received them back! They kindly packaged it all up for us and posted it (for which we reimbursed them and gave them extra of course, though they never asked for it), but this is just an example of the excellent customer care they provide.

Were there any other negatives apart from this? Yes, but they are very minor in the grand scheme of things, and are outweighed by all the positives I have described. Our negatives are: fridge/freezer on the small side, as described above; it would have been very small for six people to keep food in (it would be better to do away with the freezer compartment design and just have a bigger fridge). Our bed in our double room creaked if you so much as sat down on it to get in! The dining table is perched between the kitchen area and the living room area and if you had six staying there would have been a bit crowded, even if you pulled it out. However, if staying during good weather you probably wouldn't even use it as the patio area outside is so nice. Also a shower screen rather than a shower curtain in the bath would have stopped the daily fights with the curtain while we showered!!! (Not sure who won - maybe the curtain.......)

However, I would thoroughly recommend Alpine Park for all the overwhelming positives listed above. If you have younger children - go there! It is a fantastic, calm, safe site and they will meet other children to play with, plus it is so easy to get to all sorts of places to go. It worked for us during a cold, rainy holiday, so would work even better for a sunny warm one!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As stated above - number 7 (premier 6 person) good for seeing the play area, backs onto woods. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoDividedByZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Wow - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your recent stay at Alpine Park Cottages.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay despite the unseasonable weather.

We shall take on your comments on board and try to rectify the negative points. Unfortunately with reference to the fridge/freezer these are the largest available to fit in the space we had in the kitchen due to the position of the boiler. When building the Premier | 4 person cottage the kitchen design was changed to rectify this problem and allowed us to provide a larger fridge/freezer. Again with the dining table we could only work with the space available. We shall look at the squeaky bed at the earliest opportunity and thank you for making us aware of this.

We are pleased that these slight negatives didn't detract from your holiday and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Have stayed there twice now and will definitely go again, which is something we never do. Fantastic cottages, modern and well equipped in a lovely small park. Very friendly hosts with lots of local knowledge. Our two boys (8 & 10) loved it. Tempted to do a Spring or Autumn break next time. Have recommended to friends who have also stayed there now and had an equally enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and also for recommending Alpine Park to your family and friends.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our large extended family and daft dog Ozzie returned to Alpine Park Cottages during Easter week for our second stay. It was just as wonderful as the first time. We booked two cottages which are extremely well equipped, pristine and comfortable. The site itself is immaculate with lots of space for children to play. It is a great place to just relax but has the added advantage of being close to so many lovely places to visit. Sally and Curtis are very friendly, thoughtful and helpful and always on hand if needed. Everyone had a great time - so much so that we have already booked for Easter 2014!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review; we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to seeing you all next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nice,clean,well equipped cottage and very warm and comfortable.
Lovely friendly owners who had even installed a Christmas tree with fairy lights and a box of chocolates to make us feel welcome not to mention the supply of tea bags,biscuits etc. so we could have some refreshment on arrival before doing our own shopping.
A holiday to be remembered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

We appreciate your comments and so pleased that you and your family enjoyed their with us Christmas.

Happy New Year to you and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Regards

Sally Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was my second stay at Alpine Park Cottages and I was a little worried that it wouldn't live up to our first great holiday there. I don't usually go back to places but this is such a fabulous place to holiday that I really wanted to return. I wasn't disappointed at all, Sally and Curtis are great hosts, very helpful recommending places to go, supplying a phone charger when we'd forgotten ours, helping close the roof box when we couldn't... And do it in such a nice way that they do not impose on your holiday.
The cottages are very well equipped, comfortable, clean and are extremely child friendly. You can park right outside which is very handy and there are comfortable patio areas where you can relax and watch the children enjoy themselves in the play area.
A local fish and chip shop, which also does Chinese, will deliver which is great for nights you don't want to eat out or cook.
There are fabulous beaches nearby, we loved Exmouth, Lyme Regis and Jacob's Ladder Beach at Sidmouth.
For young children I'd recommend Pecorama at Beer and Bicton Gardens for great days out.
All in all this is a fantastic place to stay in a beautiful part of the country, we will be back....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheProctors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottagesinexeter, Owner at Alpine Park Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

It was very kind of you to write yet again a great review about your recent stay. It always a pleasure to have you stay and of course Willow too.

Look forward to seeing you again.

With warm regards

Curtis, Sally & Helen Mynard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently stayed for two weeks at Alpine Park Cottages, we could not have been more comfortable.We were welcomed by Curtis and Sally who work very hard to keep their lovely chalets very clean and well-equipped, white bedlinen and lovely fluffy white towels, also a nice touch was a supply of tea/coffee/milk/washing up liquid etc.It is so easy to see Devon from this location also you can catch a bus into Exeter from just outside the park, We had a lovely holiday and would recommend this to any age group. We will certainly be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1xmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
8 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
547 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Park Cottages

Address: Exmouth Road | Nr Aylesbeare, Exeter EX5 2LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Park Cottages is a complex of 11 self catering 'lodge style' brick built holiday cottages set in 5 acres of lightly wooded parkland on the edge of an area of outstanding natural beauty. Situated around delightful grounds with a children's play area, each holiday cottage combines a stylish look with centrally heated comfort to ensure a snug stay, whatever the weather! Ideally located close to city, coast & country. Exeter, Sidmouth & Exmouth are all a 7 mile drive away. Owned and run by the Mynard Family, you are guaranteed of warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Park Cottages Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing