We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Exeter Cathedral

Exeter Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$347.50*
and up
3-Day Highlights of Southwest England Small-Group Tour from London
More Info
US$649.10*
and up
5-Day Devon and Cornwall Small-Group Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 123 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exeter Cathedral is one of the oldest and most beautiful Cathedrals in England. Located in the centre of the city, there has been a Cathedral on the present site for nearly one thousand years.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Tis is a great place to go and very interesting. Couldn't fault a thing, around exeter cathedral there's lots of other fun things to do. Great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffyflamingos12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    556
    115
    23
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was impressed by the architecture of the building, not one of the biggest cathedrals that I have visited but a nice quiet place. Whilst I was in there the organ was being played so as an organist myself I enjoyed hearing it. There is a wealth of history here and the cathedral is well worth a visit, I shall no doubt go back when I am next in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not an exciting place to visit obviously, but an extremely beautiful and peaceful place. The scale of the building is awe inspiring, with beautiful details such as the ceiling and the windows. Full of history and splendour, but compact as well, an easy place to explore and spend an hour or two taking in the history and atmosphere of this awesome building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“People watch”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I liked sitting in a street café across from the cathedral. There are several places to sit and eat and visit with friends near the cathedral. You can tour it too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical palace”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've always loved the worn carvings on the front of the cathedral, but this time saw the amazing arches inside, and read the memorial stones with their touching stories...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J_Melville2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exeter Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Exeter Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing