We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cathedral”
Review of Exeter Cathedral

Exeter Cathedral
Ranked #2 of 92 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exeter Cathedral is one of the oldest and most beautiful Cathedrals in England. Located in the centre of the city, there has been a Cathedral on the present site for nearly one thousand years.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This is a lovely cathedral and well worth a look.
We did think the £5 admission a bit much for a church, but you can get a leaflet from the tourist info centre which will give you 2 for 1 entry, plus 10% discount in the church shop.
It was very hard on the ears when we were there, because they were tuning the organ.
Exeter Cathedral is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful building"
in 122 reviews
"astronomical clock"
in 47 reviews
"gothic architecture"
in 23 reviews
"guided tour"
in 134 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 108 reviews
"christmas market"
in 34 reviews
"stained glass"
in 33 reviews
"steeped in history"
in 24 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 87 reviews
"lots of history"
in 26 reviews
"choir"
in 134 reviews
"ceiling"
in 141 reviews
"worship"
in 77 reviews
"evensong"
in 40 reviews
"nave"
in 45 reviews
"bosses"
in 29 reviews
"prayer"
in 35 reviews
Filter

87 - 91 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Cathedral is now looking really good it’s been all cleaned up on the outside and looks brighter than before. Inside is also very well maintained and feels really grand. This place has character and is worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank angelinat202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We took advantage of a stopover in Exeter to visit the cathedral for the first time. A very impressive building with loads of history as you would expect. We took advantage of the free guided tour which takes about an hour, on the hour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and explained things clearly with some amusing anecdotes.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank skynet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

It was a Sunday morning so we knew we couldn’t sight see round the Cathedral, but when we heard the beautiful singing coming from within we decided it would be lovely to sit at the back and listen to the service .

We crept in the little side door so we could sit unobtrusively at the back when I very officious woman marched up and told us to come back to look around in an hour. I told her we weren’t there to sightsee but to listen to the service .

“Well you can’t stand there!” She snapped. “You’ll have to come back later”.

We didn’t.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

On holiday in Devon and promised myself a visit to the cathedral. Was not put off by entry fee as we are seniors, which meant we had a discount also had a buy one get one free voucher, so only cost us 5.00. Went on a guided tour and the guide certainly knew her stuff, but the tour went on far too long, it was interesting, but she was overly enthusiatic and waffily. A couple of us got fed up and we wandered off and looked around ourselves.Cathedral very impressive and lots to see, definitely worth a visit, Gift shop is well worth a visit, ladies in there were very helpful and friendly, definitely would visit again but without the tour.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank _lspacagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exeter Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Exeter Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing