We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love gardens .. but not this one” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicton Park Botanical Gardens

Bicton Park Botanical Gardens
Ranked #9 of 120 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 64 acres to explore "A delight for gardeners" Spanning nearly 300years of gardening history, the park is home to many rare and beautiful species, collected from around the world. The Palm House is made from over 18,000 panes of glass (built 20yrs before The Kew Gardens Palm House) hosting many Palms. Tropical House, Arid House, Temperate house. Enjoy your coffee / lunch overlooking the Italian Garden. Explore the arboretum and while away time in the bird hide Ride the Bicton Woodland railway for an oversight of the park (suitable for wheelchairs) The countryside museum containing a huge collection of bygone days.... And for the children indoor and outdoor play areas, crazy golf, Astro turf football pitch, ride the pedal tractors all to add to the fun (Please note play areas are only open to children between the ages of o to 12 yrs)
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“I love gardens .. but not this one”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

In my opinion this is one of Devon's poorest gardens .. just a personal view.

It seems to need a bit of TLC and money spending on it.

I rate places like Killerton far far higher and wouldn't pay the fee to come here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    186
    49
    24
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Beautiful parkland with wonderful specimen trees. Worth going there for a walk alone. My Grandchildren enjoyed the train trip and the indoor play areas. Shame they have ruined the old play house cottages - years ago when my own children were young the cottages were beautifully maintained with lovely thatched roofs and were painted black and white. Now they are extremely garish colours and run down. Cafe is dull and food very boring. Not worth eating there. High score for the parkland rather than the amenities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for a family day out, dogs included”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We only had to go to Bicton once before signing up for their annual pass.

It's a great day out every time - the food at the cafe is good, there are indoor and outdoor play areas for the children and good circular walks for the dogs too.

The children will spend hours in the indoor play area which is great on a cold or rainy day. They also like the golf and the train. They also enjoy the shop on the way out...

I take a mobility scooter there which just about copes with the slopes, there are markers pointing out less steep routes. So it is accessible but a manual wheelchair user might have to have a reasonable level of fitness or otherwise a willing helper at certain points.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You don't always need the children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Having been to Bicton Park Botanical Gardens many times over the years with the children, it had fallen off our radar once they had outgrown the play facilities. We temporarily forgot about Bicton. We then re-discovered it in the Spring, are glad we did and have been back half a dozen times during the summer. Rather than focussing on the play areas, the train and the party room, we suddenly discovered how much enjoyment adults could have on their own in these gardens. So forget the swings and the demands of children and spoil yourself again. Take a few hours out for a leisurely walk among the Champion trees, the formal flower beds, the greenhouses, the lake and the fountain. There is even a Museum of Country Life and a Vintage Car Collection, so what more do you need? Enjoy taking time over a cream tea with a sumptuous view, in what are after all, Botanical Gardens. You don't need the children in order to be happy in such a place as this on an English summers day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Health and safety mad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perhaps late October is not the best time to visit. There are some good specimen trees, but the overall impact of the gardens is limited. The glasshouses are small (don't be deceived by the publicity). There's a great soft play area in which our granddaughters had great fun. Outdoor play areas, ok but nothing special. There is an interesting looking maze but it seems to be permanently closed. Train ride is extra and was curtailed on the day we visited due to maintenance.

And everywhere there are notices, forbidding this, insisting on that and generally making you feel fairly unwelcome

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bicton Park Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bicton Park Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing