We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Park View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for just 1 night, owners very welcoming on arrival. Although a little dated, very clean, and beds very comfy, although our room quite small, and no plug socket near mirror, so awkward to dry hair, small point, but important to some of us ladies. Breakfast was very good, and plentiful. Very good location, 10-15 min walk into city center. Overall Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
40
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference recently. This is a 3 star rated guesthouse close to Exeter St David's Station and the University. Here's what you can expect:

Facilities: I had a personal bathroom for use just outside my room which was clean and enough for my requirements. There was also a sink in my bedroom. There is a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities which are replenished daily. Shampoo is available on request but shower gels and bars of soap are provided. Irons are available on request. There is no hairdryer provided. There is a communal sitting room for all guests with a few magazines, board games and books to browse. Lots of literature about trips and tours available was available in the main lobby.

Good points:
VERY good value for money.
Good breakfast choice with speedy service (there was no skimmed milk available but soya milk is provided).
Friendly and efficient checking in and out service.
Only 5 minutes to the town centre and St David's Station (although it is quite a steep walk from the station).
Quiet and I had a lovely view from my room. The room was a good size and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean.

Limitations:
The bedroom got quite cold overnight.
The bed was quite short-taller people would find difficulty with it.
I needed to run the hot water tap for some time in the morning before it heated.
I personally did not have a bath but this is not a problem for me. You would need to check what facility is specifically available for your bathroom. I believe some bathrooms are en suite and some are shared between guests.
My bedroom was at the top of the building with very steep stairs to climb. This would not suit someone with mobility issues. There is no lift or stairlift.

Overall: I had a really relaxed stay here and would definitely book again for future Exeter trips. It is cheap, functional and fulfills the basic requirements of a B&B. At 3* it may not be the swankiest B&B around but this is to be expected and the great service, cosy atmosphere as well as the price more than makes up for it. I would only say that for those with restricted mobility to discuss the room and access with the owners properly before deciding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nymah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Park View Hotel, Exeter
Travelling by train from London to Cornwall, we broke our journey at Exeter for one night. Therefore we wanted a nice B&B a short walk from the railway station and into town for a feed. The Park View deserves every bit of its high rating with Tripadvisor. The rooms were stylish, clean and spacious with good natural light. The hosts provide a great breakfast and were very friendly including suggesting a very good and affordable place to eat. The Park View is less than 10 minutes walk from the railway station and from the town centre. As the name suggests, it faces a lovely park so it is a beautiful and quiet spot. Their website has walking directions from the train – its very easy to find. It is also worthwhile visiting the magnificent Exeter Cathedral, just a short walk downtown and trying a delicious Devonshire tea from one of the nearby cafes.

Stewart & Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A warm welcome, spotlessly clean room and bathroom...comfy bed...superb location. gawjus dining room and delicious piping hot fresh breakfast.
At £42 per night its a no brainer. A lovely large lounge which has a big TV so you can sit and relax in the evening if you so wish. The guys that run it work hard...and it shows....BOOK NOW

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Basic but tastefully done B&B in the heart of Exeter, 10 mins walk and your in the city. Breakfast is fantastic and the service warm and welcoming. Ideal location for visiting Sandy Park rugby ground to as the bus stops close by. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top rooms mean a climb but great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

An excellent weeks accommodation in a very friendly and spotlessly clean room.
Excellent bathroom with shower - good hot water supply and new sanitary ware.
Tea / coffee facilities in room.
Breakfasts were excellent with a good choice and very efficiently and cheerfully served. Even made special arrangements to serve breakfast early for us on the Sunday which was much appreciated.
We were made very welcome and would not hesitate to use this establishment again if in the City.
Thank you very much for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Spent 2 nights at Park View B&B and were very pleased with our accommodation. We had Room 8 at the top of the house (be warned if you can't manage stairs - there are 3 flights!) The room was clean, with a large double bed, plenty of wardrobe space, bedside tables & a dressing table, good lighting and an excellent en suite bathroom. A large tv was provided & also 2 armchairs.
Hairdryer was available from reception. Excellent wifi connection too for our tablets. It was very warm in the room and it would have been useful to be able to secure the two large windows open as they had a tendency to swing shut! An electric fan would also have been good as it was very humid on the days we stayed.
Breakfast was good - although I don't eat wheat or sugar so was limited to a cooked breakfast. This was freshly cooked although I suspect bacon had been cooked in advance & kept warm, as it was rather dry. Mushrooms were tinned ones which had been fried and had an unpleasant tang to them.
Unfortunately when several guests arrived at once, 15 minutes before the end of breakfast service there was a considerable wait for cooked breakfasts but I guess this will happen in any establishment.
We were able to leave our case in the lounge whilst we met a friend for lunch and return later to collect it prior to catching our train back to London.
Overall park View is a good place to stay convenient to central Exeter, very close to Exeter central rail station and at £70 a night for a large double room with breakfast is brilliant value. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room number 8 is a large ensuite room at the top of the house with views over the park. Excellent wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View

Property: Park View
Address: 8 Howell Road, Exeter EX4 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed & breakfast, in a Grade II listed Georgian building,noted for its peace and quiet, overlooking BuryMeadow Park. 5 mins walk to Exeter city centre,University, bus and train stations. All rooms have TV,tea & coffee, most en-suite. Free breakfastis taken in a bright dining room overlookingthe garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing