We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Park View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Friendly welcome, a decent sized room and a good breakfast. Everything clean and in good condition. On quiet road, convenient for Exeter Central station and city centre, and a pleasant wooded walk to the main University campus. Decor and service could be a bit fussy for some if you're the sort that worries about that sort of thing (as some reviewers apparently are!).

Room Tip: Some rooms up a lot of stairs, so do check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew-Uxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here in Nov, 2013, while visiting daughter at Exeter Uni. Chose to stay there again June, 2014. Well located on quiet street across from park, but in easy walk of both Exeter train stations,, downtown and the uni. Lovely old Georgian [?] building,, clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent full English breakfast. Lovely gardens. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value when I compare to other places I stayed in England. All in all a great place to stay and I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Could you squeeze anymore bedrooms into this building? I don't think so!
The decor is absolutely hideous. The room was pokey and the bathroom felt like it was ( no bath just a shower ) squeezed into the cupboard! It was clean and tidy but totally lacked character. The pictures on the website are totally misrepresentative.
Over priced.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

So agree with a previous reviewer who praised the sausages - they were lovely, as was the rest of our breakfast. A generous portion of well-cooked everything with plenty of toast. Room had a very pleasant aspect, was clean and well-equipped. The owners were polite - loved the waistcoat and tie at breakfast. Very conveniently situated for a function we were attending at the university. Good value and in a quiet road.

Room Tip: Room 10 (Nicola) had a pleasant view of the garden at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

For the second year running Park View has turned up trumps! A welcoming atmosphere,clean,well appointed bedroom and bathroom.The breakfast was first class with very generous portions and plenty of choice.Mine hosts were friendly and accommodating. My daughter and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a very nice, clean, quiet guest house, which is always my first choice when I stay in Exeter (which is quite often, as I work there but live elsewhere). The single rooms are very good value and the breakfast is always speedy and generous. The owner recently went to great lengths to help me when I mislaid something valuable (only to me), even going so far as to look through (and, I believe, empty out!) the very full recycling bin for me. The breakfast room looks out onto a very pretty garden. I would warmly recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaninavanini2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Another excellent stay in this clean,friendly and well situated Hotel.
The owners have it spot on....no complaints at all.
Just one suggestion though....sugar shakers instead of the little tear open packs at the breakfast tables....?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
668 reviews
4.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View

Address: 8 Howell Road, Exeter EX4 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed & breakfast, in a Grade II listed Georgian building, noted for its peace and quiet, overlooking Bury Meadow Park. 5 Min walk to Exeter city centre, University, bus and train stations. All rooms have TV, tea & coffee, most en-suite. Free breakfast is taken in a bright dining room overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing