We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value diner”

Haldon Forest Diner
Ranked #41 of 530 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value diner”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We now always make a point of stopping here for a meal (normally breakfast). Staff friendly all the time food is of good quality and for the price probably one of the best value providers. Always clean,bright and comfortable. Looking forward to our next visit next Sunday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    61
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Always make a point of visiting when in the area. Exceptionally good value, good selection, quick service, well presented, very helpful staff. Clean and well maintained inside and out. Toilet facilities very good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WA6076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A very satisfactory lunch break”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being retired old folk we travel around a bit to pass the time and often stop at roadside cafes and diners, usually so that we can use the toilets. Of course we have a meal as well and this cafe is well above average. Little Chef should take note on how it should be done. A very satisfactory lunch and we would certainly recommend this to anyone travelling along the A38 for a meal break.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch before Easter 2014”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited this restaurant on the way down to South Hams. We ordered our meal, as Fish and Chips and two Steak and Chips, which one was medium and the other medium rare. Compliments to the chef, as all the meals were cooked to order and brought to the table and were delicious. The cooking of each meal was perfectly timed. Also, we had three mugs of hot tea and it really helped us appreciate the meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The service is first class, the food piping hot and delicious and the premises are clean. The all day breakfast is recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haldon Forest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Haldon Forest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing