We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernhay House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I decided to treat my London based family to my favourite restaurant in Exeter, which is Southernhay House. The whole party were really impressed by the stylish interiors, ambiance and the delicious creative menu served by charming staff. We look forward to our return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I give this a 3 because the place looks and feels amazing. If only the food and service lived up to this it could be a 4 or 5. Frequent visitor at first I gave it a few chances but always something wrong, overcooked snails (like rubber) overcooked bland pigeon, lacking in flavour, over priced for the area quality and service. Thought the bar might replace the wine bar as the locals bar but massively overpriced, lacking in atmosphere and inexperienced bar staff (eg best part of £10 for a bloody Mary). Very good olives though, a real shame this one...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Earlier this week I had dinner with a party of friends at Southernhay House. Our experience was wonderful from start to finish. The building has been refurbished exquisitely and it is a pleasure to experience such a beautiful and stylish venue. The bar staff mixed a superb dry martini and all the staff were attentive and knowledgable. Our meal included a starter of a delicious ham hock terrine, accompanied by a perfectly poached egg (often a test for even the best of restaurants) and asparagus. The Gnocchi a la Parisienne was also sublime. A main course of cod verdure with chervil butter sauce and new potatoes was imaginative and excellently balanced. The smoked fish platter (to share) with spring pickles and young vegetables was nothing short of a work of art on the plate - with the perfect balance of rich smokiness and beautiful zesty sharpness. For pudding - the iced berries and white chocolate sauce was easily as good as The Ivy! All in all an excellent meal, well presented, and astonishingly good value for money. We will certainly return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchwayLurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I so wanted to love this place – superficially it’s beautiful and elegant, very well situated and the staff friendly and helpful - but it fell short of expectations on a few fronts. Some of the very basics just aren’t right – the room was so female unfriendly! Couldn’t blow dry my hair properly as the mirror was so high that I couldn’t see the lower half of my head (I’m 5ft 2” so fairly average for a woman) and it’s difficult balancing on tip-toe brush in one hand and hairdryer in the other. Amazingly for a ‘luxury’ hotel there is no full length mirror, and to put my make-up on (bearing in mind the mirror in the bedroom effectively was unusable), I had to hitch myself up and sit on the arm of the marble washstand in the bathroom (potentially a health and safety issue) – so getting ready was precarious and like something out of a comedy sketch! My cocktail took an age to arrive - I was embarrassed for a couple that arrived after us as they waited getting on for 20 mins for their drinks and then one of them was wrong and I can’t say mine was particularly good either and came totally ungarnished – oh please! THAT is the whole point of cocktails they need to be attractively presented!! The bolster from the bed when it was turned back shouldn’t be left on the sofa –I wanted to sit on it for a nightcap and with so little hanging space in the room, lay clothes for next day out on it -take the bolster away or put in under the bed. An elegant room deserves sophisticated chocolate – not a tube of incongruous Smarties - so bizarre! Dinner was 'OK to above average' but again waited an age for breakfast (though the Eggs Benedict were superb). If this hotel is to succeed then the owners need to stand back and give themselves a very critical review, see things from the guests’ side and recognise that they are in a VERY competitive market. In Guildford I could fill the rooms for them every night of the week at their prices, but in Exeter???? (A boutique hotel needs a market and I’m not sure there is one here 365 days a year). If they were realistic, wise and had financial acumen they would swallow their pride and put some of the rooms through laterooms.com (at least in the short term) and get some revenue instead of holding out for way over the top prices and lots of empty rooms: the fundamental rule of economics is that the market dictates the price. That way they could employ more morning staff, train the cocktail waitress, cut the waiting times AND put up a full length mirror! It’s their call of course but the marketing definitely needs sorting out and the basics and slow service addressed PDQ if they want repeat business.

Room Tip: Women need to check the mirror situation - from my experience it was dire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Not sure where some of the people have been to who have wrote the great reviews but I don't think it was the same place we went to it has gone downhill from when we went when it first opened. Didn't recognise hardly any of the staff and we didn't get the same warm welcome as we did when we came before. The food matched the service and wasn't as good as our first meals there. The hotel is beautiful but the atmosphere service and food isn't up to what it once was. We were very disapointed as our meal wasn't worth what we paid most definitely won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GingEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My partner and my daughter gave me this lovely surprise for my 75th birthday, knowing i am a big big fan of their sister hotel the marvellous "burgh Island".All the family there, a private dining room, everything seemed great, but the experience was spoilt by the following things Some of the staff, when they occasionally popped in were unwelcoming uninterested and unsmiling.The food when it finally came was overpriced (£18 for roast beef) served cold, and the Yorkshire pudding which was so huge it took up virtually all the plate was inedible.None of our party had the wish to prolong the agony by having dessert, but there was a marvellous birthday cake made by local confectioner Jonis dreams cakes {check the pictures on facebook} which raised everybodys spirits until the hotel wanted £2.50 per head to supply a fork and a plate.We did get an apology from the senior waitress, there appeared to be no manager around, blaming staff problems, and we did get a reduction,but this is not the point and all i can do is to warn people of our experience and hope it doesn't happen to them.I eat out a great deal,but i have never been ripped off so badly before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Alastair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and we have discussed this in person with you and also by email. Now you have decided to publish your complaint in public forum, we think it is fair for us to comment on inaccuracies: our "full roast" Sunday lunch is excellent value at £15, not £18 as you seem to think. Further, we think that - if you bring your own pudding to a restaurant - it is not unreasonable to make a small charge for use of our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Amazing food and great wine list. Menu needs a little more explaining (eg Whst Exeter pudding is).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camjito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay House Hotel

Address: 36 Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £82 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Southernhay House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique townhouse hotel with 10 individual bedrooms, chic cocktail bar, private dining room for parties and informal Club Room for casual dining and meeting. Al fresco eating and drinking on our terraces and secluded garden. Food is modern, local and highly seasonal with daily changing menus. Southernhay House is located in the centre of Exeter just yards from the Cathedral and within easy reach of the University and Quayside. Staff are long-term, friendly and live locally so are able to recommend seasonal and regional activities during your stay. Languages spoken: English, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Hebrew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Southernhay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernhay House Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing