We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernhay House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southernhay House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cala Ratjada, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nearly there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a fashionably restored town house hotel just off the city centre. The parking is almost OK, but please offer to get your guests the 8am ticket from the machine just outside; the decor is elegant and the 3D TV impressive. Breakfast was everything you could want; maybe the dinner menu was a tad too eclectic?

A bathroom which cannot be wholly "sealed" from the bedroom is an interesting concept, but the monsoon shower was wonderful. There is no apparent relationship to its sister - the wonderfully themed Burgh Island Hotel - and I think that has missed a considerable trick.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your suggestion re parking tickets - it had honestly not occurred to us and is a very nice touch whcih we will put into action from now on. On the "Burgh connection" we are obviously in the shadow of our famous sister but architecturally as well as in terms of city-center location, we do have out own identity so we aspire to share values (and staff) but not to try and copy a style which is unique to Burgh Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    65
    20
    15
    11
See reviews for
33
146
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We drove for 4 hours to be greeted w the most terrible welcome; their faces dropped when they saw our two young kids. At 11:30pm they ignored our reservation and refused to let us spend the night...worst thing though, they didn't even offer any help to find a different accommodation for us.

Only thanks to the wonderful help of the concierge at the Southgate hotel just down the block, we found the greatest solution: Abode Exeter, Royal Clarence- Amazing hotel, wonderful crew!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MissMorganS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I am sorry but this is just inaccurate: first, your family had no reservation with us; you called en route to reserve 2 rooms that evening and gave the impression that you were parents with teens. When your party arrived at the hotel you had two small children with you as well as the teens and our Manager, Bruno, offered 3 rooms. You seemed to think it appropriate to sleep three in a bed with your younger children. We are not geared for that kind of use. Bruno did, in fact, refer you to the Southgate Mercure, which is perfectly set up for young families and which would recommend in this case - he also rang ahead to let them know of your arrival. Please, as you did not even stay with us, do not be rude about the best efforts of our Manager to find suitable accomodation for your family of 6 on arriving in town late at night after what we appreciate was a long jounrney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We loved the Ivory bedroom, very modern, clean and beautifully decorated. We were very much looking forward to fine dining in the restaurant only to be told that they had closed the restaurant on Sundays. They had neglected to pass that information on. Disappointing.
More attention should be paid to the little things e.g. refilling tea caddy, emptying bin from previous occupants, Not storing replacement bed linen outside your bedroom door!
The hotel, although lovely lacks a bit of soul.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thank you for writing in. I was shocked to read about the apparent oversights in our housekeeping; we pride ourselves on our individual attention to detail - or indeed, just to good professional standards. All I can do is apologise after the event and assure you that we are really into "the swing of it" now and you will find housekeeping service discrete and attentive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The service levels were a little scatty but everyone was well meaning and helpful. I do get slightly miffed when they leave you Smarties in your room on your first night and then nothing on our second night. They gave our room a very basic clean on the second night and didn't bother to empty our rubbish basket or replenish our toiletries. Basic stuff that could be a little irritating. We stayed in the Ivory Room and thought it was lovely. Beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed and a great roll top bath in a luxurious bathroom. Overall I can forgive the lack of Smarties on the second night and think this is just a great place to stay in Exeter with a great atmosphere and priced about right. My only other gripe was that for breakfast they plant you on a communal table. This might suite people used to Boarding School etiquette but we hated it. The last think on our minds first thing is to try and make stilted conversation with other guests. Perhaps we are just a little unsocial first thing but we hated it. On the second morning we requested a table on our own and could sit back and enjoy the very good quality breakfast. We particularly liked the marmalade and their home made bake beans. I would also say that they have a great Cocktail Bar and we enjoyed a number of great Coctails during our stay. Overall we would definitely make Southernhay House our choice of hotel in Exeter and it was so much better than the Abode.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitymetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thank you for your generous and friendly review. Obviously, there was something amise in housekeeping in the week you stayed (I have just responded to a similar issue on 29th July) and I can only apologise sincerely after the event; as you surmise, this isn't our style at all. Can I now assure you that smarties are a nightly occurence at Southernhay House (although we ring the changes occasionally with home made petit fours or biscuits) and we very much hope this is now your home from home when in Exeter. You will also be reassured to know that both the dining room and the private dining room are set for breakfast each day, so guests have a choice as to whether to mumble to others or not (I am also "non communicado" first thing!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Probably had too high expectations having stayed in Burgh Island (their sister hotel) on the way here. Service was not of the same standard but the food was of an equally high quality. Stayed in Ivory room which is of a good size with large bathroom and walk in shower - good central location.

Room Tip: If you like a good shower then you should go for Ivory!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
You are quite right! Come on Exeter; we are supposed to be the regional capital! However, you will be pleased to know that - 18 months after opening - there is a real buzz about Southernhay House. I think that, outside large cities, there is hesitation about straying off the high street - and the discount vouchers at major national brands don't help those of us wanting to offer genuine, local and fine food at realistic prices. It's nice that you and your family - obviously used to good eating and drinking experiences - gave us a go and, hopefully, will be back for other great nights out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had been looking forward to celebrating my birthday there this week. I had heard mixed reviews about the place so was interested to try it.
The Hotel itself is a mix of boutique / shabby chic which I rather liked. A lovely building with plenty of character though it was a shame that the whole evening lacked atmosphere. My family and I made up for it though, we chose champagne and cocktails on arrival which we took our time over. The choices on the menu were excellent and when we eventually sat at the table - the food and service was excellent.
Would certainly return but only if we knew it was going to busier!
For a City the size of Exeter it seemed quite sad that the place was so empty.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExeterArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My meal wasn't fantastic and the service wasn't great either. Very stunning building though.just a shame that the experience wasn't good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chase401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay House Hotel

Property: Southernhay House Hotel
Address: 36 Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernhay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique townhouse hotel with 10 individual bedrooms, chic cocktail bar, private dining room for parties and informal Club Room for casual dining and meeting. Al fresco eating and drinking on our terraces and secluded garden. Food is modern, local and highly seasonal with daily changing menus. Southernhay House is located in the centre of Exeter just yards from the Cathedral and within easy reach of the University and Quayside. Staff are long-term, friendly and live locally so are able to recommend seasonal and regional activities during your stay. Languages spoken: English, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Hebrew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southernhay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernhay House Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing