We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southernhay House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
ClarionHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
161
69
21
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
69
21
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselegant roomsbeautiful boutique hotelstand alone bathfresh milkgeorgian townhousexmas marketsmall hotelfull length mirrorfree standing bathlonger staybeautiful roomcomfortable bedcentral exetercathedral greenbreakfast was deliciouslimited parkingquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here a while ago now, but loved the experience. The Staff were brilliant (we did recognise a few from Burgh Island which helped) as they are at Burgh island. This hotel has a very different feel from its sister hotel but is well worth the visit. The room was perfect as were the pre-dinner cocktails and dinner itself. We will be back i am sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garethgreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your generous review and we all appreciate your comments about the staff - most have been trained at (and some still work part time/swap locations with) Burgh. We don't aspire to the Burgh black tie glamour but we do hope to achieve similar standards of customer service, quality and design. Let alone food and drink......we hope to welcome you many time in future for cocktails and that sneaky city break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I took my wife to this hotel as a birthday suprise and we were delighted with its location 2 or 3 minutes walk from the Princess Hay shopping. The service is second to none and cleanliness superb. Only slight criticism is the glass door on the toilet in the room which I thought was a step too far. Apart from that,o complaints. Did not try the restaurant as there is a brilliant italian restaurant 5 minutes walk away. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryAnneMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Glass door .... don't get me started on this one ;). It was our pleasure to welcome you to central Exeter and Southernhay. Please do try our risotto on your next stay; it might even beat Carluccio's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my wife were on our way to the exeter food festival when we popped in for a drink. We Felt very welcomed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. So instead of eating at the food festival we came back and they managed to find us a table. It's a great menu which has been carefully thought out. It is not so large that you don't know what to choose. The food was presented superbly and tasted as good as it looked. The strawberries and cream are something of a masterpiece for something which sounds so simple to being served in only what can be described as a goldfish bowl the flavours are out of this world . The chef popped out throughout the meal to make sure all was good. We left there feeling thoroughly looked after and will definitely return again. Thanks for a great evening

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for stopping by....and for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to serve you (and more so in that we had just changed to our summer menu, so we were all quite excited by the new dishes on offer). Our strawberries and cream is a major success - and I'm pleased you were able to meet Chef Rob1 (we have 2 Robs in the kitchen, thus....). While Exeter Food Festival is a fabulous showcase for our local producers, customers often miss the fact that we use them all year round so it's really gratifying to read your kind comments and understanding of our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went for a valentines treat and we're not disappointed. Our room was lovely although there was nowhere to store clothes - for a longer stay this would be a real issue. Also not so keen on the toilet with no door scenario but the roll top bath was amazing. Bed comfy and general facilities good. We had a meal and the food was lovely, staff attentive and overall it felt special. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: You need to book dinner ASAP as they get fully booked very quickly
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments. Couple of things: we do have antique clothes rails, in addition to the hangers, in two of our rooms - Sugar and Tulip - which can easily be moved to other rooms for longer stays or people with a lot of social engagements. Do just ask us if you need extra space for clothes. You'll know my views on the "loo with no door" thing - arrrgh; all of our showers and loos have full length glass doors! (I'm beginning to feel a bit "out there" on this one but will persist!). But, most sincerely, I appreciate and we all value your generous comments and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - do come back and let us look after you for many happy escapes in Exeter in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were enticed to Southernhay Hotel because it claims to be the sister hotel to the wonderful Burgh Island Hotel. We were expecting style, good food and excellent service to match its sister. Unfortunately it failed on all three counts. These sisters do not talk to each other.

Our room, Wilberforce, was unusually designed. The toilet was actually in the bedroom, housed behind a wall with a see through glass door at one end with a large gap above the door to the ceiling. One could feel constipation coming on immediately. At the other end of this wall was the shower, also housed behind a clear glass door. The bed was very comfortable, but there was very little room between it and the TV wall. There was no wardrobe or shelving to store clothes.

Dinner was average in standard, but small in quantity. The beetroot starter was more like art on a plate with less than half a beetroot distributed around the plate. The bread basket eventually arrived with two tiny rolls far too small for the basket.

Breakfast was particularly disappointing. The buffet was exceptionally poor, with only one choice of cereal and a selection of dried fruit and nuts. Fresh fruit was brought on request, but you had to be quick, because it vanished after a few minutes! Pancakes ordered with fresh fruit topping arrived with bacon, not very good for a vegetarian. The porridge ordered to be made half milk and water, came with cream!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikingbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I am truly sorry that your stay in our Wilberforce Room induced constipation; a most uncomfortable state to be in although I am not clear whether you mean this literally or metaphorically. I'm now really going to go for it on the loo/shower front and say, "if you are worried about your partner craning his/her neck around 90 degrees into the gap between a blank wall and the (full length) closed door of our loo or shower to watch you at your ablutions, please don't book in Ambergris, Opium, Wilberforce or Chai." I have said before in this forum and will say again, for the record, this is a Grade II* building and we worked with the Planners internally and externally to achieve design solutions appropriate to and sympathic with the building. A lego box in the corner of a Georgian room was never going to be the answer to en suite, although we have several different bathroom configurations. If you had mentioned this on check in, you would have had the option to upgrade to a different room.
I apologise, also, in advance for my next comment but what, exactly, do you mean by "claims to be the sister hotel of Burgh Island"? We are two hotels in the same ownership and we are passionate and personal about our levels of service, which are appropriate in each location. I am surprised after that that you didn't enjoy the breakfast as you did eat two of them, including the porridge which had a small dollop of cream to finish - Chef's habit - and which we would happily have re-made for you if asked. In all, I am really sorry that we couldn't be made aware of your concerns at the start of your stay (including the fact you are vegetarian) and addressed them there and then or and referred to you one of Exeter's other excellent establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews