We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
177
74
23
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
74
23
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tulip room private dining room beautiful boutique hotel free standing bath fabulous stay exeter cathedral minutes walk away comfortable bed quiet at night lovely room little touches pudding shower room short stay breakfast was excellent stayed here for one night yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I picked this hotel because of its location. It is only a five minute walk to the Cathedral. The hotel has the perfect combination of being a historical building but with wonderful new bedroom/bathrooms. Very comfortable. I am not a breakfast person but the breakfast here was I think the best that I have ever seen. Beautifully presented and lots of choice and a good price. If visiting Exeter this is well worth a look.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you Susie, we’re very happy that you noted the historical and functional mix. I’m not a breakfast person either but sometimes.....I’m tempted. Your time in posting and your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Please do not bother eating here, there are far better places to eat in Exeter, that offer better quality food, better service, better value and management that are interested in feedback.. it has sadly seen better days

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Gavin, Gavin, please can you move on from this? We get it; you didn’t like your celebration meal with us. We have also got all six of your posts on public forums (from FB to TA to booking.com) about your dissatisfaction. We’re truly, madly, sorry that your birthday meal wasn’t as anticipated and have tried to respond to your complaints. But please, breathe deeply and let it go now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This review is on behalf of my very well travelled parents in law , to whom I had recommended this hotel . They wanted me to write a review for them as they had such a wonderful time. The service and staff on property were so welcoming and friendly and they were made to feel very at home when they arrived. The room, especially the bed and furniture were excellent and complimented the well cared for feeling in the whole hotel. Above all, their highest compliments went to the team that looked after them, who were all attentive without being intrusive and made their stay a real pleasure.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah c, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Kathrin, you have also contacted us direct with these comments and so I sincerely appreciate your also taking the time to post in this forum. It was an absolute delight to welcome your parents in law here. Sally (who was the key Manager on duty during their stay) is especially happy and says that this is what makes her job so fab. A “well cared for feeling” is spot on what we are aiming to deliver. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We were two couples staying 2 nights and we found all the staff (front desk, bar, dining room, cleaning) very helpful and pleasant. The decor is interesting and makes for good conversation. The "open plan" bathroom concept took a bit of getting used to and the hooks on the wall rather than a wardrobe means I would not stay for more than 2 nights. Parking was a bit of a pain. However, all in all, it was a unique stay that we enjoyed and we would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LucyK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah c, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks Lucy, we enjoyed welcoming you all to the hotel. It’s absolutely true that we have hooks for hanging clothes rather than wardrobes (space being a premium, as well as listed building considerations). I’d suggest for longer stays taking a larger room, where we can supply a clothes rail. Bathrooms are all different, as several reviewers have mentioned. Please always ask us on booking if this is a concern or consideration; we’ll match you up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We were visiting friends in nearby Cullompton and the missus decided it would be a good idea to stop over in Exeter the night before and have a look around.

I had only stayed once before some years ago whilst on business at the Mercure, which i instantly recognised as we drove in to Southernhay, as I had booked the nearby Southernhay House Hotel.

Before going any further, as you enter Southernhay on the West side, drive about half way along and you will see Southernhay House on the opposite side. There is an inter-connecting road which comes out virtually opposite the hotel, which you can enter by way of their private drive. Parking in an NCP is just around the corner. £42 for the night.

We found the hotel to be a once glorious, period private home with just ten bedrooms. We were greeted by the lovely Lily who checked us in and took us to our room on the first floor, named 'Spice', which overlooked the rear of the property. A very nice sized room with all amenities. A very big, comfortable bed and a good quality bathroom.

Downstairs to the left of the entrance hall is the reception area with a couple of comfortable armchairs and beyond that an extremely nice bar area with an outside raised deck. To the rear of the entrance hall is the dining room, where breakfast is also served. To the right of the entrance is a private dining room, plus toilet amenities.

Decor, slightly quirky but tasteful and in tune with the building.

We didn't eat in, which we should have, but that's another story.

Southernay square is just yards from the magnificent Exeter cathedral and the shopping centre, so it is extremely well placed.

All in all a very pleasant and satisfactory find. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah c, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you Trevor; that’s a comprehensive review and your kind comments are appreciated. I’d love to hear your eating out story ;) it’s sadly quite difficult to find decent independent eateries in Exeter so we always encourage our residents to eat with us - either from our casual all day menu or from the evening guests seasonal one, or a bit of both, if the fancy takes you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews