We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Exeter M5
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms have been upgraded and this does improve the feel of the place and the rooms feel more comfortable. However, despite being some way from the city I had another disturbed night but loud guests banging and shouting in corridors until about 5am.

In fairness in the morning when I told staff they were very apologetic but I wonder two things; is there a better way of allocating rooms - groups one part, singles another, I don't kbow and secony perhaps asking staff to wander the the corridors every hour or so would pick this up.

A pity as it ruined the enjoyment of much improved room.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review AdeWotton. We ask our customers to respect their noise levels when they are around the hotel so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests in the early hours of the morning during your stay. In an attempt to reduce disturbances we do ensure larger groups are allocated rooms away from other guests, we do also expect our night staff to patrol the building regularly so that they can be aware of any guests who are being noisy and disturbing other customers so it is regrettable to learn this was not the case on this occasion. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel manager so this can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

the upgraded rooms make this Travelodge a cut above the average, thoughtful improvements such as a very powerful shower with a bath .but most of all the new luxury dreamer bed with 4 pillows as standard and pocket sprung mattress. The staff here are polite friendly and well trained. I stay at least 50 days a year at travelodges and this is by far the best. Hope the upgrade roll out is implemented quickly to the rest of their hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank bob from poole e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at the travelodge Exeter M5, the hotel had had a refurb so is 100% better then it was last time we stayed there. The room was clean and fresh as was the bathroom, bed was comfortable but pillows let it down. We were in 148 and there was a lot of motorway noise, seemed like the window was open but it wasn't, the curtains also moved when the wind blew. But on the whole 100% better then before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrssalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Often stay here when travelling long distance. Can usually get a reasonable rate. It is also 3 miles from Airport. Hotel has been refurbished, the new double beds are very good, BUT beware if you want to use the ancillary children's/ small adult bed...it is rock hard, and your kids will complain bitterly, as will you if you try to sleep on it! So this is a good choice if you just want a basic stopover, and only need the main bed but avoid if you need to use the spare bed. The adjacent restaurant has also been refreshed and is much better than it used to be. very welcome on a cold winter's evening when we stayed there after a flight.

Room Tip: Ask to be near reception, as they do have some rooms down very long corridors,- a pain if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

we use this Travelodge when we visit our daughter in Exeter it is a little further away than Hotels central to Exeter but much better value (Exeter is expensive) This was our third stay here and much better because they have refurbished. We stayed in room 205 it was a clean pleasant room, and had a brand new comfortable!!! bed and nice linen. The bathroom was fine and the water hot . M5 can be a little noisy but not enough to bother us in this particular room. There is a restaurant on site but we didn't use it... we did have a drink at the bar and the service was quick and friendly. If you are looking for luxurious roms this will not suit but if you are happy with clean and comfortable and very good value then go for it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for one night after travelling down south. Good location just off the motorway, with the services just next door. The rooms were fine & clean, the staff were friendly.We went down for breakfast the next morning, the food was good. Only thing is if you have a family room, make sure you pull the bed away from the window as my son woke up with his quilt wet from the condensation off the wall/window. Good budget hotel, for the money you can't complain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very basic room and we needed to obtain an extra towel and tea bags. No shampoo and the smallest of soaps. Room spacious and warm but why do they insist on charging £5 for 1 he's wifi.
A little bit out of the way but services 5 min walk for the basics

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogwindymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review rogwindymiller. We do expect our guest’s rooms to be set up with the correct amount of linens and towels so it is regrettable to learn you had to ask for extras on your arrival. As a brand standard we do not offer toiletries; however our guests can purchase any forgotten items in the vending machine at reception, this allows us to continue to offer competitive rates. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
6.0 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,816 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#25 of 31 in Exeter
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Exeter M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Exeter M5

Address: Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £45 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Exeter M5 2.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Exeter M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Exeter m5 Hotel Exeter
Travel Lodge Exeter
Forte Exeter
Exeter Forte
Exeter Travel Lodge
Exeter Travelodge
Travelodge Exeter M5 Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing