We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a visitor's centre.”

Custom House Visitor Centre
Ranked #44 of 120 things to do in Exeter
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Quay House was re-built in 1680-1 at the height of Exeter's woollen cloth industry. The building was used to store cloth and other goods before they were loaded and transported down the canal. It also had an overhanging roof, which enabled cargos to load and unload out of the rain.Today the history and development of Exeter's Quayside is brought to life with lively displays, illustrations and artefacts. There is also the opportunity to see "Exeter - 2,000 years of history," an exciting audio-visual presentation highlighting Exeter's history from Roman times to the present day.The Quay House Visitor Centre provides tourist information, Quayside treasure hunts, an accommodation booking service and a gift shop selling local pottery, replica maps and a wide range of local interest books.The Quay House Visitor Centre is the first attraction in Devon to be awarded VisitEngland's PIQAS Award (Place of Interest Quality Assurance Scheme).
Busselton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is a visitor's centre.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What do you say about it? Good service. I am surprised that the list doesn't include one of the best services I have ever found. The Red Coat Guided Tours were amazingly good. We did two of them and they were the best value for information, history and interest that we found anywhere, and were free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayT452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tourist Info Centre”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Friendly and very informative, in a beautiful old building, do visit this area if you are a tourist it is the historic port area with a little exhibition from when ships used to be able to navigate up the river. The old Custom House next door is beautiful too, with its canons. There's an Antique Centre /Tea Room in front, lots to do and see on a budget.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank elliechoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Picked up useful leaflets”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Plenty of leaflets and booklets here, also books for sale. We found what we were looking for without needing to ask for assistance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great DAY very helpful”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We heard from family about a free river trip with the Exeter Redcoats.Unfortunatly due to parking probs arrived a bit late and boat was full and no tickets left but the lady phoned the boat and got us 3 seats at last minute!The guide was great & kids loved the pub at the end with tree swings Can I just say well done Exeter and staff for a great quayand great service

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marc50092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Visited here on our Wedding Anniversary on May Bank Holiday Monday. It was a lovely sunny day and the quayside was busy with music along the quay and ice creams being sold next door. The little visitor center is full of history and displays in a lovely old building. Intersting film to see all about the history of the river. The lady in charge was really friendly and helped us to find a good fish restaurant for an evening meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mecca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Custom House Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Custom House Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing