We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Globe Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Hampton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$105
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
24
20
15
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
20
15
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet showersbed dormcommunity feelrest your headstayed for two nightsenjoyed my stayshort staytown centreaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Staff were rude, petulant and even potentially violent. Refused to return all of our deposit because we were 'loud' and even threatened to call the police, despite not being violent in the slightest. Moreover, the beds are teeming with bedbugs. I would highly recommend not staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raph89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hostel is tired and dirty, with an odd musty smell which reminded me of student digs many years ago whose occupants had never bothered with anything more than a perfunctory spray of air freshener by way of cleaning. Rickety bunk beds provoke intense uneasiness as you try to sleep with rough, gritty sheets, worrying that a slight breeze from an open window may pull the loose hinges apart. There is an oppressive amount of peculiar notices seemingly on all available wall space, which leads one to suspect that a person on the autistic-scale has been given access to a word processor and a slab of blu-tack. All this could be forgiven however if there was even a hint of affability from the staff, sadly they are cantankerous misfits whose surly manner and extreme helpfulness is evident as soon as you peer through the reception window. This is a truly terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OJM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is one of the best backpackers hostels I've stayed at. The location is perfect for either spending time in Exeter city centre, hanging around at the riverside or venturing further into Devon.
The hostel is spacious & well presented and has the best shower & toilet facilities you could find in a backpackers. I enjoyed being able to just chill-out with the free wifi., there's a comfortable tv room with dvd & videos available to borrow., the kitchen is well set-up and had everything I needed to cook with. I was staying in one of the dorm rooms which I found quite spacious, but I managed to catch a sneek peek at one of their private bedrooms and would be happy to pay the extra (I don't think there's anywhere else in Exeter where prices are so low).
Overall I had a great time here, met some excellent people and would definately stay again. Can't recommend it enough.
Staff were on duty and seemed happy to help when needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stay in this hostel from time to time and recommend it to anyone travelling or requiring
short-term accommodation in Devon.

The Globe backpackers Exeter has been recently refurbished and is a warm friendly
place to stay close to the city centre and its attractions.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the owners have made a genuine effort to ensure
that the accommodation is clean and comfortable and you will definitely enjoy your stay.

The backpackers has nightly and weekly rates and is a great place to stay whether you are travelling or working or just want a place to come and have a good relaxing holiday
and experience the devon way of life and its beaches, parks and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Room inspection is welcome and the hostel has separate female and male dormatories as well as separate double rooms for singles or couples available.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Odd place. Well familiar with YHA hostels. This does not compare. Tiered, thin mattresses, stained and burnt, ThIn sheets and bedding and solid foam pillow. Cold and single light in dormitory left on all night. There residents more interested in night life. I was quite out of place for weekend exploring. Dormitories never locked so open to all. Checkout late for any person wanting to get on with the day. Cheap though so uncomfortable not worth the value.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews