We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of The Port Royal

The Port Royal
Ranked #184 of 534 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We decided to have lunch here on Sunday after a walk along the quay and canal with our dog. We have never been before and were pleasantly surprised. The pub was clean and light with great views of the river. We had the Sunday roast which was good and well priced. I don't know how often they have live music but we were treated to an accomplished group of musicians playing folk/pop. Altogether our decision to stop for lunch was a good one - and the dog was welcome too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mazygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    31
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, slightly expensive”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Sunday lunchtime. Wasn't as busy as we though but service and food was good. Slightly expensive. Good views and clean pub. Will defo return again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markallen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Charming Riverside Pub”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Its was recommended to us by the tourist information in Quey, Exeter for a good traditional sunday roast. It didn't fail to deliver, food is good and in big portions aswell and reasonable priced.The location is just perfect for a nice sunday meal after a stroll by riverside. My only complain is that the fish and chips i had, found a few bones in the fish. But overall its all good. The interior isgood and clean. They even have sitting decks outside perfect for sunny days.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimimilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rude, unfriendly staff. Horrible little place, had a drink and left vowing never to return. Better places are a short stroll along to the real Quayside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moai-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“My Birthday.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A fantastic summer evening in July and time to celebrate my brthday. The Port was buzzing with like minded people out to enjoy the perfect weather and the ambience of this lovely riverside pub. Many chose to eat outside but some of us chose the upper deck of the restaurant with white tablecloths, roses and shining glassware. we had a table by the large windows, open to terrace and river view. I had intended to have steak but on seeing a Beef Madras with everything was persuaded otherwise. Wow! So pleased I did. 12 out of 10 Catford. It was fantastic. We finished with Catford's Vanilla Creme Brulee. OMG. On every level its fantastic. A great evening, fab food and super ambience. Thanks guys.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Royal also viewed

 

Been to The Port Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing